We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, Good Value, Comfortable and Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Fiordaliso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fiordaliso
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsclere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Good Value, Comfortable and Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

JUst had my third stay at the Fiordaliso and it seems to get better every time. Warm welcome, friendly staff, spacious room, excellent food and a mini-bus that takes you to the ski lift in the morning then picks you up in the evening.

Suffice to say I have rebooked to go there again next month!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkifanKingsclere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbrai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

On arrival our room was not ready, but we were soone moved to one which was. The hotel location is a little out of the village, but that is the only bad point. The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms were fab (tissues, soap/bubbles on arrival). Perfect. The food choices were tipically Italian, whcih is why we go to Italy, great food. Cold buffet breakfast, but if you asked for boiled eggs/omlette it was know problem. The owners were lovely, even knocked on our door on the last evening to wish us well. Esta the waitress was very friendly and a loveley girl, Mary who worked in the bar, at breakfast and did the rooms was fabulous, spoke great English but if you like to practice your Italian you pleased everyone. All told a great week, would we stay again yes, all i would say is on arrival give them a chance and try to speak a little italian and you will be looked after very well! Nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galaxycumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Fiordaliso is a beautifully kept hotel providing a high standard of accommodation and cleanliness. Its size means that the feel of the place is more personal than you might find in a larger establishment, and the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. While we were there, most of the other guests were Italian, although there were also other nationalities, and we met a group of Germans who go there every year. Don't imagine you would be joining an ex-pat outpost:: although you will be understood in English, it is not their first or even second language. The food was excellent throughout our stay: each night there was a choice of local dishes, with good variety.

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the main ski-lift but there is a shuttle service from the hotel to the lift in the mornings and afternoons: although the driver's English was limited, he was always friendly and accommodating. It was a great boon for us to come off the slopes at the end of the day and pick up the shuttle, rather than having to lug our skis back to the hotel.

Canazei is quite a busy village, and there's a stream of traffic late in the afternoon, when the slopes are emptying. We stayed in Selva, over the other side of the mountain, a year ago but Canazei is rather less expensive/exclusive than its neighbour, so shopping was rather more affordable.

We'd be very happy to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italophile084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

When we first arrived at the Hotel Fiordaliso the welcome was very efficient, but slightly stern. But as we progressed through our week at the hotel we realised that this wasn't a true indication of the friendliness of the owner and the rest of the hotel staff.

This is a great hotel with lovely rooms, a really friendly bar, and great food. But you should expect a real Italian food experience otherwise this won't be for you. Meals started with a good salad buffet which varied every evening, followed by a Pasta or Soup. Main courses sometimes suffered from mis-translation into English. 'English Roast beef' turned out to be carpaccio, fantastic, just not what we were expecting.

The hotel is located midway between the Competello and Canazei lifts,with the hotel minibus shuttling to the latter,or the local free skibus, which stops right outside the hotel. We found the service in the morning was great, but as the last minibus back to the hotel is at 5.00pm we tended to use the ski bus to come back. The buses only run every half hour in the evening, so make sure you download the bus timetable from the Val de Fassa website.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRGLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Hotel Fiordaliso courtesy of First Choice. Arriving at 2045 hrs exhausted, we were told in pigeon German/English that dinner was at 1930 only and our food was in our room, great we thought... to be greeted by 2 ham rolls, a can of drink an apple, satsuma and an orange between us. We did ask for more and the manageress gave us 2 nice bowls of salad.
The hotel is run by an Austrian German family and is run regimentally, on the plus side it is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable. However, it is fair to say that of all hotels we have stayed in worldwide, it is the most unfriendly and soul-less place we have stayed to date. That is to say that there is no interaction between the couple running the hotel and guests, they couldn't even muster a smile or hello as you passed them day or night, and the only person we interacted with was our overworked waitress, managing the whole restaurant by herself morning and night and who was polite but did not have time to talk.
It is fair to say that the kitchen is run with Germanic precision, dinner is at 1930 hrs only, and you are served your courses as the kitchen deems it ready, rather than when you have finished the last course. Also the food is not great, obscure meat dishes and definitely no veggie options. On the plus side, there is a salad bar and a free caraffe of wine on the table.
It is worth noting also that during our week 6 persons were struck down by sickness and diarrhoea, one person spending 3 days vomiting, cause unknown.
The location is a 10 minute walk out of town along a very busy main road and the crossing point is on a blind bend and very dangerous, thus making it difficult for those wishing to visit town after 1700 hrs when the courtesy bus finishes.
On the plus side the boot room is very warm with nice boot warmers on the radiator and secure storage of ski equipment and the courtesy ski bus runs to and from the hotel/gondola morning and afternoon every 15 minutes and is very useful.
All in all the hotel is not for those seeking a traditional friendly Italian experience with great food and atmosphere, but may suit those wanting to keep themselves to themselves and be in a clean and beautifully decorated traditional alpine hotel.
We will not, however, be returning and feel that the management/owners need to seriously need to improve their 'people skills' in order to do the hotel justice.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canazei
0.1 mi away
Albergo Irma
Albergo Irma
#31 of 51 in Canazei
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cesa Tyrol
Hotel Cesa Tyrol
#9 of 51 in Canazei
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rododendro
Hotel Rododendro
#25 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Azola
Hotel Azola
#44 of 51 in Canazei
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#21 of 51 in Canazei
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fiordaliso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fiordaliso

Property: Hotel Fiordaliso
Address: Via Dolomiti 4, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fiordaliso 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fiordaliso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing