We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski holiday Canazei”
Review of Hotel Cesa Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cesa Tyrol
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Cesa Tyrol and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely and friendly family run hotel. Family Soraruf and their team are extremely friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms (we stayed in standard rooms)were spacious and very comfortable and were cleaned on a daily basis. The food in the hotel was excellent. A good choice at breakfast and also for evening meals. The waiters provide a wonderful service and an excellent choice of drinks/wines. The hotel also has 2 lane ten pin bowling alley which was really good. Hotel also offers a mini bus service to and from the main Canazei lift (Belvedere) and is a great service.
The meal provided at the Gala dinner on 31 December was amazing. So many courses and each one delicious. I really want to book another ski trip to Canazei as the area to ski is vast and if I go back I will certainly be booking Hotel Cesa Tyrol again. I could not find fault with anything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergus942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

It depends on what you expect. This is a family runned hotel,so the service is great. We had a warm welcome and help with the installation of the free wifi.easy parking. We had a splendid view of the Mountains from the window of oud room. The breakfast buffet was OK.
Canazei is a good base for discovering the region. Driving up the Sellapass is the most spectacular in the area.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel was very nice! Service very friendly. All the things you need for maintaining your bike are provided. The food is good. The 2 person room was really spacy.
Michele himself, one of the managers, was really into mountainbiking. So that helped! He had good tips and advices on trails we could do.
The hotel has this traditional Alpine look but inside it meets the modern standards

Room Tip: The curches (more than one) had really nice bells which toll, LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank averst69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Having looked at trip advisor, picked this hotel and booked our ski trip independently. A group of 16, mixture of adults, kids and different dietry needs. Booking was easy using email. The hotel staff were extrememly helpful and accommodating.
Hotel is located on the outer edge of the resort, so a ten minute walk into the centre, however there is a ski bus stop nearby the hotel. Hotel minibus service to and from the gondala from 8.15am and then from 3pm. Only negative, if you used the ski bus to return, then there is a short deep walk up to the hotel itself from the main road.
The rooms were a decent size, warm and had balconies. The basic room only had showers but the superior had baths.
The restaurant food was superb. Breakfast was a good continental selection and you could ask for eggs. The evening menu was on the breakfast table so you could choose your dinner from 3 choices. Dinner was a 3 course meal with additional unlimited salad bar and bread. The choice and amount was plentiful. All the food and service was superb.
The hotel had a lovely big heated ski boot room, spa area, kids games room and bar.
The spa was lovely however was not open until 3.30pm each day. A small charge for a towling robe and use of the jucuzzi, but the sauna and steam room were free. Age limit on using the spa was 12 years.
The games room was limited, located in the basement and could be improved with sofas, a bigger tv / dvd / music player and other equipment, but the kids enjoyed the tabletennis.
The bar was very comfortable and the drinks were reasonably priced.
Overall, baring in mind the cost per person, I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: superior rooms are definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The staff is brillant. the shuttle service to the Belvedere Lift is impeccable. The driver is always been available, embarrassingly polite and available.
The hotel itself it's slightly dated but spotless clean and efficient.
The wellness centre offers everything you need after a tough day on the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gistro73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Cesa Tyrol is perfect for what it is.

We stayed here with a decent-sized family group for a relaxing ski trip. The hotel is conveniently located (though not right in the center of things like some other Canazei options), taking just a couple minutes to walk to the center/funivia. The walk is beautiful, so no complaints with that.

From beginning to end, the staff were incredible. The man who built the hotel decades ago still tends the bar on occasion and gives food/drink suggestions at dinner, which I think is saying enough. It was very evident that the people who work there are all doing it because they love the work. While still remaining 110% professional, there was real personality coming from everyone we encountered.

People congregate in the sitting area/bar in the evenings, possibly a result of that being the only place with internet available (one minor negative). Plenty of space to get a card game going, or even just relax and chat.

The hotel runs a shuttle to the ski lift until it closes at 5pm. As it is just an 8-person van, you occasionally have to wait a round or two if you are with a group. Otherwise the walk is perfectly manageable. The ski room is also a nice feature if you bring your own skis and do not want to pay for the storage by the lift.

They also have "activity" options such as a game room, bowling alley, and spa. While not able to try them all, we did notice extra fees for some of these amenities (for example the bathrobe fee, jacuzzi, and arcade games).

The rooms are quite nice, particularly when you factor in the view. The singles are tiny, but fine for those who don't plan on sitting in a hotel room when in a place as beautiful as Canazei. Mattresses were a bit too soft, but a long day of skiing can easily negate that.

The food is also wonderful, with many local options and fusions. Breakfast was perfect before hitting the slopes, with fruit, meats, cereal, jams, and anything else you could want (but the coffee is sub-par, another minor negative).

All in all, this is the type of place we will certainly return to when we find ourselves back in the area.

Room Tip: If you can sleep through church bells, ask for a room with a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Located at the beginning of the small town of Canazei, the hotel offers an excellent cuisine (as demonstrated by the delicious Christmas Dinner we had there), and a hotel staff extremely corteous and always available to help. We tried to notice if there was any misalignment between our requests and the staff and we never found any.
The hotel has also a spa (turkish bath + sauna + kneipp + relax area) which is not extremely elegant (white coloured ceiling, no low lights etc.) but very functional. Remember to bring your own bathrobe if you want to avoid to pay 5€ for rental ! Also the Jacuzzi is coin operated.
The hotel has also a tennis court for the summer and a bowling center (20€ to play).
I would definitely come back again if I chose the destination.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarbleOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
1.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Lupo Bianco
1.5 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#15 of 51 in Canazei
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla Wellness & Beauty
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alla Rosa
Hotel Alla Rosa
#2 of 51 in Canazei
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#12 of 51 in Canazei
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cesa Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cesa Tyrol

Address: Strada della Cascata, 2, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range: £133 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cesa Tyrol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cesa Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing