We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Caminetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Il Caminetto
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel has seen his best days already but renovation has started on some floors. Don't take the rooms in the roof: The bathroom was so low you could not stand straight at the toilette. . Gym, sauna and pool are ok although there the standard cannot be compared with the one used in comparable hotels in Austria. Busiest disco in town in the hotel but you don't hear any noise at night. Food was ok, wine selection was the best - especially prices were reasonable. The staff was not fully motivated but was generally ok. The bill at the end was not correct but adjusted without resistance. Canazei downtown are 10 minutes away per foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kroprol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    103
    32
    21
    16
See reviews for
137
41
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We travelled with our friends (14 peoples) on a skiing holiday. Our troubles started on our arrival, when we were allocated to dark rooms on the sixth floor below the roof. Height between the bed and the ceiling in these rooms is only about 100 cm. Also the other rooms were dark and small. All rooms we changed three times. Rooms was tired and small, beds uncomfortable. The biggest disappointment was the food, which was very poor. We were on half board and dinner was consistently very poor with low quality of the food. On the breakfast also served rests from last dinner. The pool and wellnes centre were good equiped, with large sauna and pool. Staff was unprofessional and unwilling (especially the main receptionist and also the minibus driver who refused to return to Canazei for teenagers who may not enter into the full minibus).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank crtPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here with a big group, the management were really helpful in getting us all settled in and sorting out some booking issues (not their fault) very quickly.
My room was a bit old, but perfectly comfortable and at a good temperature. I booked a single but got a double bed, would have been a squeeze for 2. Balcony was good for the view.
Food was great, breakfast was scrambled eggs, do it yourself boiled eggs, cold meat, cheese, breads, croissants, yoghurts , cereals, cake with good coffee from two machines and orange juice, a choice of 2 types.
Dinner was a 'vegetable' buffet which always included a good spread of cold meats, salads, vegetables, pizza and breads and then a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses on a theme, one night was Trentino favourites for example, followed by a desert buffet. The 4 starter choices would include pasta, vegetarian and meat usually fish and there were always 6 fixed choices as well in case you didn't like these including pasta in garlic and chillie, pasta with tomato sauce, pasta with bolognaise sauce and vegetable soup. Mains had 4 choices usually including fish and vegetarian, the 6 alternatives always available included pork steak and chips, escalope milanese and chips, eggs any way you like, a plate of ham, a plate of mixed meats. Once a week there was a gala buffet, perhaps main courses were not as good but a great dessert buffet. This was local Italian food, no doubt, and quite different from the Brit version of Italian, but all of our group loved it .
There was a regular mini bus service to and from Canazei and the buses stopped outside, to Canazei , Alba and Campitello. They were every 10-15 minutes and a much better service than I remember 3 years ago when we stayed at another hotel in the area.
The hotel offered free evening entertainment, usually in the bar but occasionally in the theatre below. Drinks - beer was 3.70 euros for 400ml, wine about 3 euros a glass, there were many bottles at dinner from 12.50 upwards. If a part bottle is left on the table then it's put away and served again the next day.
All in all a great hotel. Canazei probably isn't the best entry point to the Sella Ronda, but next year I will take my family to this hotel, it really will suit the whole family well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Travelled on a skiing holiday. Hotel is outside the town, a 10 minute walk to the centre of Canezei. Its a large hotel with lots of guests - I'd estimate over 200.
Rooms tired and small but clean, beds uncomfortable. Heating uncontrollable other than opening windows.
The biggest disappointment was the food which was very poor. At breakfast coffee was self service from a machine with a large queue, orange juice was cordial. We were on half board and dinner was consistently very poor with a guest rush for the buffet deserts. Despite having paid we ate out on 3 nights.
On the plus side it is cheap - I wish we'd paid more.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bannatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

The double room didn't have a double bed but a bed built against the wall which one person would have to climb over to get to the other. The next room were were given did have twin beds but was still so small the wardrobed doors wouldn't open.
My teenage daughters room was dark and dingy.
In all rooms the fixtures and fittings were tired and old. We had a toilet seat that was cracked all the way through.
The pool and wellnes centre were far too small for the numbe or people.
Carpets and fixtures in the restaurant were again old and worn.
There was no warm comfortable lounge area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank windrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canazei
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#23 of 51 in Canazei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#29 of 51 in Canazei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Club Gran Chalet Soreghes
Hotel & Club Gran Chalet Soreghe...
#6 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#7 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Club Diamant
Park Hotel & Club Diamant
#9 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Caminetto

Property: Hotel Il Caminetto
Address: Strada Dolomites 3, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Caminetto 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Il Caminetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing