We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Break Pe”
Review of Dolomites Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolomites Inn
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“September Break Pe”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent few days and, as always, we experienced a warm, friendly and hospitable welcome from Bob and Lucia. The room was very comfortable and well equipped, and the food was plentiful, tasty and of a very high standard. They are great and sympathetic mountain guides. We hope to return soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    25
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at this lovely well equipped hotel for over a week whilst trekking in the Dolomites. The owners Bob and Lucia couldn't have been more helpful with great hospitality. The hotel is pleasantly situated above and back from the main road with a relaxing outside terrace and ample parking. Our en suite room was large and clean with views down the valley. Canazei is only 20 minutes walk along the secluded riverside trail. Lucia's meals were delicious and fresh and the breakfast choice and quantity would satisfy even the biggest appetite. What's more the bar is whisky lovers dream with a great selection of malts. Bob was always on hand to give a mine of knowledge and detailed descriptions of climbing routes, travel pass and places of interest. He even came along with us on one day as a guide on a climb up Piz Boe accessed from the cable car at Pas Pordoi. The hotel also has a jacuzzi, squash court and gym. After a hard day on the hill a relaxing hot tub was sooo refreshing. An excellent friendly hotel with good service and warm hospitable hosts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonCrawford_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a week at the Dolomites Inn at the Beginning of September. The hotel is in a lovely location in penia and only a quick drive or a very pleasant 30 min walk to Canazei along the river path. Bob and Lucia provide a warm welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean in both the rooms and communal areas. The rooms are very nicely furnished with a double bed, lots of storage space in a huge wardrobe and a large cupboard. The bed was extremely comfy and it was nice to have a Duvet and not sheets and blankets. The bathroom is very clean with plenty of towels provided. They also provide, soap, shower gel, sewing kit, shower cap and vanity pack. Rooms have a large TV with a selelction of channels in several languages. We had a lovely large Balcony with a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains. There are 2 very comfy lounger chairs and a table on the balcony. The only thing the room was lacking was a mini fridge which would have been great to keep some drinks in but this didn't distract from the room. We were on a half board basis and this was great value. The food is all cooked by Lucia and is excellent. You help yourself to a continental breakfast which was a large selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread, rolls, cakes, preserves, cold meats, cheese, juice, tea and coffee. The evening meal is 3 courses and a salad buffet. Each meal we had was superb, the gourmet and laddinish nights were especially good. The hotel has a ski and boot room that can be used for bike storage in the summer which is a great bonus.I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms provide a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed just for 1 night after a day walking in the sella mountain group. The room was comfortable and clean and the owner was friendly and offered some good advice on walks as well as information on returning to ski.
The evening meal was very good and filling after a hard day's activity and was good value for money.
Would be pleased to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davofrombr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Offering excellent value for money this hotel provides a perfect base for hikers visiting the Val de Fassa in the Dolomites. Robert and his wife Lucia are the hard working hosts. Robert in particular can offer some excellent advice on hiking trips and via-ferrata routes having spent many hours walking in the local mountains.

The rooms are spacious, very clean and well appointed. Meals are good and offer ecxcellent value for money.

Comments have been made about Robert being rather grumpy - in our experience this was far from the truth as he was always ready to help and make sure his guests were happy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Clean rooms. Very average food. I totally agree with the previous guest about the customer service beeing the weekest link. While our stay at the hotel we coul not help but to feel like the owners where doing us a big favour by letting us stay at their hotel. They just do not make you feel welcomed at all, and with small coments and atitude make you feel somewhat uneasy.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValidArsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I spent two weeks in Dolomites Inn with a sizeable group of friends (families with young children) in February 2011. I have mixed feelings. Here are my major observations:
1. Location
First of all – Dolomites Inn is not in Canazei as such, but in Penia di Canazei, a small village probably about 5km from Canazei downtown. The place is very peaceful, but the opportunities to go out in the evening are limited. From skier perspective the location of the hotel isn’t perfect – the distance to the ski-bus is probably something like 500 meters. On the other hand the ski-bus system works nice – regular and frequent service from 8am to 7pm. By car you can reach Ciampac and Belvedere Ski-Arenas within 10 minutes.
2. Rooms
Very clean, average size and standard equipment. No complaints about it.
3. Restaurant and bar
The breakfast selection is quite limited and has practically not changed during our whole 2 weeks stay. No warm food apart from boiled eggs. For me not enough ahead of a full-skiing day.
Dinners were sometimes quite good (especially the local food evening) but sometimes below average. Repeatable – if you are not a great fan of veal (served almost every night) you might be disappointed.
Bar is a strong side of the hotel. Spacious and nicely finished, with an impressive selection of single malt whiskies, is a place to spend an evening.
4. Customer service
The weakest side of the stay is the customer approach by the owners (especially Robert). Unfortunately, he sometimes gives an impression of a rude arrogant guy who hates his guests. Especially the children are not warmly welcomed. We had some good moments with Robert (a few evenings in the bar) but general impression during a stay was – the sooner we leave the happier the owners will be.
Brief conclusion of Dolomites Inn from my side: slightly below average. Next time in Val di Fassa I will try a different place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek_Polska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
0.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Wellness
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Welln...
#10 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Azola
Hotel Azola
#45 of 51 in Canazei
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#1 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villetta Maria Ristorante-Albergo
1.8 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolomites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomites Inn

Property: Dolomites Inn
Address: Via Antersies 3, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolomites Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dolomites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomites Hotel Moena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing