We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun week of skiing”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fun week of skiing”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We took half-board. The rooms were very comfortable, the spa was superb, pool, jacuzzi, steam bath and saunas, really got rid of the aches. The treatments were also very good and performed by a well qualified and attentive staff. The food was good and varied, the pasta dish being home-made was really good every evening. Without any overt presence, the family who own and run the hotel managed to maintain a friendly, helpful and efficient staff. We will be going again.

Room Tip: South facing rooms (looking out to the front) are good, the view from the north side is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traiteurdelonnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacanazei, Proprietario at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your nice words. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday here in Canazei and that you appreciated our Hotel, Staff and Family.
We hope to see you again
Ciao
Linda, Family Debertol and Staff Hotel Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    85
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
99
91
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Well appointed hotel, friendly helpful staff and located in a great location for skiing the Sella Ronda circuit. We plan on coming back in the summer to walk the Dolomites. Hotel run minibus always seemed to be waiting just for us, whisked us up to the lift station in 2 minutes (you can walk it in 10 minuts but why bother!) and was waiting for us again at the end of the day. Food excellent, skiers afternon buffet waiting on our return but don't eat too much or you won't be able to do justice to the multi course dinner! Comfortable lounge area with fabulous log fire, pool and sauna we didn't try but looked good. Snow was very good, scenery stunning, possibly the best skiing holiday in over 30 years.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the rooms at the front have a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Had a fairly last minute ski holiday here, booked via Crystal. Travelled with hubby and five year old daughter. This is a family run hotel well situated a couple of minutes from the centre of Canazei. The ski bus stops right outside and the hotel also puts on a minibus to and from the Belvedere gondola at the start and end of each day. There is a ski and boot room in the basement so no need to rent a locker elsewhere. Breakfast was buffet style, a fairly extensive range of cereals, breads, scrambled egg and hot and cold meats, cheeses.... The evening meal is a four course extravaganza with lots of local specialities on the menu - served from 7pm each evening which was a bit late for my exhausted daughter. The food was varied but maybe a bit too diverse for some palates (octopus salad and rabbit stew for example) the very obliging kitchen served up chicken and chips for my daughter and veggie pasta dishes for me. There was also a skiers buffet in the bar area each day from 3.30 for a couple of hours, cakes, sandwiches.... There is a free kids club with arts and crafts, a DVD stock (all in Italian but Cinderella is universal and what do you expect in Italy?) which my daughter loved going to for an hour before dinner. There is a lovely pool area although the water in the main pool was a little on the cool side, also a large hot tub and childrens pool. There is a spa area too but as the information said swim wear and all other clothing was strictly forbidden and all the sessions were mixed I decided to give it a miss, call me a prude but I didn't fancy a naked sauna with 8 Russian blokes! The spa offered a good range of treatments and all seemed reasonably priced. The bar was also great value for money, at three euros for a glass of wine I had no complaints, nice wine available by the bottle in the restaurant too (around 15 euros for a nice Pinot). The room was a bit odd, bathroom was lovely and very modern but the main room was dated - by odd, there was a double bed and a living area with a sofa which converted into a narrow single bed. The living area was crammed with furniture - two tables, sofa, two chairs, a dresser and a wardrobe - made it a bit of an obstacle course. If the room had been better laid out and updated this would have got five stars from me. Overall a lovely hotel, public areas very sleek and modern, competitively priced, friendly and helpful staff and feels like a bit of the real Italy. Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacanazei, Proprietario at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Lauren W,
thank you very much for your beautiful review! We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay at our hotel. Regarding the temperature in the swimming pool: the temperature is 29.9 degrees so it shold not be felt like cold - maybe you fist got into the jacuzzi (which has a very high temperature - 38 degrees) or the kids pool (which is about 35 degrees) and so felt the difference between them. We are sorry that you did not like the room - you actually got the last room available which wasn't the best choice for a family. If you'll visit us again we will book for you one of our family rooms or suites, you will sure enjoy them.
We hope to have you once more as our dear guest
Best regards
Linda, Family Debertol and Staff Hotel Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed as two couples at the end of February for a week. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk up a slight hill to the main town and the majority of the bars. Good thing is that when you've had a few, its easy to get back....

The rooms are kept very clean and are spacious, warm and very, very comfortable. Really comfy beds.

Great 'Wellness' centre. Pool planned for 2013 which will be nice.Heated bootroom and ski maintenance area. Could do with providing a waxing iron!

Daily minibus service to the lifts is excellent, driver is extremely helpful, even dropping us off at the bars in town. Very frequent, never had to wait more than a few minutes.

Food. Wow. Choice each day, extremely well cooked and presented. So spoilt for choice. Great wine list.

Coffee and cakes at teatime were welcome and very nice.

Staff. The star of the show is Paul - the pleasant, professional, helpful chap who served our food and generally looked after us. Saying that - all the staff are great, but because he looked after us he gets a gold star! Can only heap praise on him. Great service, always smiling and extremely thoughtful and helpful. Even tolerated our atrocious singing in the restaurant after one particularly boozy night......

Two minor issues:
1. We left at about 5 in the morning and had expected a small breakfast parcel to take with us (orange and a sandwich?). All we had was a coffee and some not very nice cakes.
2. Girl on reception not the happiest person you would ever meet. Helpful, but not a smiley lady....

However - I'm sure they'll learn from 1., and as for 2.... well its just an observation and doesn't detract from the great time we had in Canazei and the Hotel Astoria!

Many thanks for looking after us.

Canazei apres is excellent btw - Apres ski bar Paradis......

Room Tip: All nice. Ask for front of hotel - nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Two young children and two tired parents enjoyed an excellent stay in this hotel. We made the reservation due mainly to the encouraging reviews. The hotel is well appointed and well maintained, yet has an unassuming, relaxed atmosphere, where the staff do not go out of their way to meet and greet, but will always return a smile and leave the impression that nothing is too much trouble.
This hotel is (in my view) how a hotel should be managed - the staff are there if you need them and are extremely helpful when called upon. If not, they just let you enjoy the place,, knowing it will impress. The recovery area, with sauna and steam rooms, showers and an area to sit and take tea was great; the childrens' room was run by a young girl who was great with kids and the food was fresh, tasty and the restaurant was without fault. Well done and thank you.
The Boyle Family

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacanazei, Proprietario at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Family Boyle,
thank you very much for your nice review! We are very happy to read that everything was ok and that your stay in Canazei was a wonderful experience. You were very nice and friendly, so it was a pleaseure to have you here for us too.
We hope to see you again in Canazei,
Nice regards
Ciao :-)
Linda, Family Debertol and Staff Hotel Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel staff were great and the quality of food was fantastic. We had a great stay at this hotel and have no complaints. We had our 3 year old little girl with us and all the staff were so friendly towards her. The porter/bus driver was really helpfull and friendly, i felt during my stay everyone went out of there way to help us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clair26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacanazei, Proprietario at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Clair26,
thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear we met your expectations and that you and your family had a nice holisay in Canazei.
We hope to see you again
Kind regards
Linda, family Debertol and Astoria's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

When we decided to return to the Dolomites we wanted to start in Canazei in order to be close to both the Sella Ronda for bicycling and to start our trek across the Dolomites. My wife found the Hotel Astoria via reviews on this site and we started the process of booking a room. We did so just in time, as there was only 1 room available for the 3 days of our stay. Linda was helpful in making the reservation and providing information on the area including on bicycle rentals.

The room was more than we needed, but gave us time to acclimate and wind down as we did our bike ride then prepared for our trek. It was clean, well kept, and there was even turn-down service every evening while we were at dinner.

The staff was superb. And the food in the restaurant the best of our trip. Definitely a place to which we will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclistRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoriacanazei, Proprietario at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear CyclistRick,
we are very happy to read your review. For the past 50 years our goal has been our guest's satisfacion. Our territory, so rich in nature together with our local tourism board, which organizes such a great choice of sports, activities and entetainments, makes Val di Fassa the destination every one would want to visit. With such a great background, we can only add a little: our personal touch.
Every year we try to improve our facilities and services; next summer in fact, our guests will enjoy our new swimming pool, a bigger wellness area, new lounge areas and of course, our traditional familiar welcome!
We hope to see you again here in Canazei
Ciao!
Linda and family + Hotel Astoria Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Lupo Bianco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alla Rosa
Hotel Alla Rosa
#2 of 51 in Canazei
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#12 of 51 in Canazei
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla Wellness & Beauty
0.4 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
1.3 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Streda Roma 95, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canazei
#4 Family Hotel in Canazei
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Canazei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing