We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garni Stella Alpina
Ranked #13 of 40 Canazei B&B and Inns
Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely little B&B”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our second stay in Garni Stella Alpina, which is a small (7 rooms) B&B in Canazei, and according to the lady manager, one of the oldest. Here you meet great friendliness and a relaxing atmosphere. Last time we had room on first floor, this time our room (a combination room consisting of one bedroom and a small living room with sofa-bed) was on second floor with lower ceiling (next to attic) and smaller windows. I think first floor rooms are a little better. Bathroom ventilation did not work, resulting in an unpleasant smell in the bathroom. Bathroom door could not be locked. But these were minor problems. In general cleanliness is this hotel is exceptional . Breakfast is very good and sauna was a pleasant surprise, as good or even better than average saunas in Finland. jacuzzi was nice but it ran only about 10 min for a cost of 8€.
Location is very good, a few minutes walk to the centre of Canazei.
The hotel has a lovely balcony on first floor, where you can sit and read, watch TV, have a cup of tea or coffee (made by yourself in your room) or just relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room in first floor if you wish to have more space and a sitting area. Superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had travelled for 5 weeks and this was our favourite hotel and location. The hotel was beautiful, spotlessly clean, owner and manager very nice. Exceptional value for money and even offered a laundry service for 8 euros which was very nice after many weeks of travelling . Definitely on our list to return one day.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which seemed to be larger than some on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked the junior suite based on Trip Advisor reviews but were very disappointed when we saw the room. It was basically part of the attic roof line so it felt very cave-like. We asked if there was something else available and with no fuss we were changed to the superior deluxe room which was much better. It felt light and bright and was quite spacious. The place is spotless. Not a speck of dust in sight. It has been in their family for a very long time so that 's a nice story and perhaps why they are so proud of it. The breakfast is simple yet delicious and served in a beautiful breakfast room with the other guests. There is a selection of cereals, bakery items, hard boiled eggs, meat and cheese, tea and coffee, yoghurt, fruit, and orange juice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Garni Stella Alpina in 2000, had a great time, and promised myself to visit again. We visited again and the place stood once again to our expectations.

The atmosphere was great, the rooms were nice and clean. The location was great. The family was very nice to us, the buffet breakfast was rich and tasty.

We will certainally visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We visited this great place as a family of four in July, 2012. Edith was very helpful from the time we made our reservation and throughout our visit. The staff pay great attention to detail, and made us feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast was really great with a choice of fruits, meats, breads, and drinks.

Oh yeah, the Dolomites are absolutely spectacular. I have been to other parts of the Alps, and I found this area to be the best I had experienced. It is a hiker's paradise, and I can only imagine what the skiing must be like.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights mid January 2012. There were 3 of us and we booked 2 rooms. Our teenage daughter was thrilled by her enormous four poster bed - claiming it to be the most comfortable she had ever slept on. I am well over 6' tall" and so having a large bed is an important feature in choosing our accommodation.We also found our bed to be wonderfully comfortable. I had never been so stuck by the cleanliness of any B&B style accommodation before our stay at the Stella Alpina. It was immaculate. I enjoyed the welcoming herbal tea offered on arrival and each evening on return from skiing. The proximity of the Stella Alpina to the end of the Canazei home ski run - in addition to being near the centre of town makes its location a big advantage. Sadly, after 3 nights, we needed to move on to an apartment also in Canazei where our self catered breakfasts could never match the wonderful variety and quality offered at the Stella Alpina. The proprietor was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi internet was not unreasonably priced. The apartment was also excellent but I'm not sure that it matched the value we obtained at the Stella Alpina.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baef47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is an excellent choice if you're staying in Canazei. We paid a bit extra for the junior suite which turned out to be a lovely big room with balcony and we were very comfortable. The owner and her staff couldn't have been more helpful and breakfast was great. We had a wonderful week walking in the Dolomites and our stay at the Garni Stella Alpine certainly contributed greatly to that! Would definitely stay there again - maybe next time in the winter...

Room Tip: The junior suite was a lovely big room and only 12 euros per night more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priceperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#1 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
MY Kosher Hotel Canazei
MY Kosher Hotel Canazei
#8 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Azola
Hotel Azola
#44 of 51 in Canazei
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#7 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alla Rosa
Hotel Alla Rosa
#2 of 51 in Canazei
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Stella Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Stella Alpina

Property: Garni Stella Alpina
Address: Strada do Ruf de Antermont 6, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Stella Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Garni Stella Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing