We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atmospheric taverna with fresh, local produce”

La Taverna dei Poeti
Ranked #2 of 111 Restaurants in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
arundel
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“atmospheric taverna with fresh, local produce”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Reservations are a must, if not you will be in for a long wait, if you manage to get in at all. Can't tell you how many people we saw turned away. Don't come here if you are in a rush. All the food is freshly prepared so you need to relax and enjoy the host's passion for the food he serves. He goes into incredible detail with all the dishes and so ordering can take some time! We had a great meal and it's a great restaurant to sit and watch people go by. There are two tables outside for 2 people each and another table for two just in the doorway. This is the one I'd ask for or one of the ones outside. There are about 3 tables in the first room and then a few more in the back. Worth going for the atmosphere alone. Our bill for two starters and two mains and a beer and some wine (the wine was 46 euros though cheaper bottles are available, as are more expensive ones), came to 120 euros. We didn't have dessert, but only because we were about to burst!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    232
    57
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Respect for the produce and a homely atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We have been guests at Taverna die Poeti for two days now, and we now understand why it was not possible to get a table by just walking in.
The name belies the true nature of the restaurant - this is not a tavern with paper napkins and no tablecloths. It is a full-service restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere. The service is impeccable, the wine list is extensive, but the main reason to come to Taverna die Poeti is the food. Every dish we have tried so far has contained ingredients of the highest quality, and the true nature of the ingredients always shine through.
On wednesdays, Taverna die Poeti does a cacciucco. This is a traditional livornese dish containing whatever is best that day of fish, shellfish and mussels. I am really picky when it comes to fish, but this was really well done. Try to have it if you can. It really is wonderful.
Excellent! We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A great place to eat if you have some time to enjoy it (and it's not exactly cheap, but not overly expensive either). We had a dinner there once. The food quality, including the vegetarian options (a wonderful cake of yellow zucchini for example) was excellent. There were also other veg options available. The fresh pasta was very good too. Recommended.
The restaurant fills in very quicly and most people have reservations already, so reserve if you can.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Priya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“would not rave about it”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

not value for money if you look theres better places without the big name

Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great fish, tune, perfect fettucine, excellent wine menu...
La Taverna dei Poeti have a great atmosphere, and pretty good food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna dei Poeti also viewed

Porto Azzurro, Elba Island
 
Capoliveri, Elba Island
 
Porto Azzurro, Elba Island
Portoferraio, Elba Island
 

Been to La Taverna dei Poeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing