We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old has-been with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elba International
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Hotels to choose from at Elba isn`t to spectacular, but the grand hotel Elba International had some promise. We booked online and was disappointed at the standard of the hotel. The room that they gave us was below ground level, and the hotel was not fully booked. The room was spacious, but old and run down. The thing about this hotel is the fact that it has great potential, but it does not follow trough. For instance, the reason we booked this hotel online was because of the photos showing what seemed to be a roof top bar and lounge area.........it isn`t. There is no bar or lounge. The roof is open if you want to go up there by your self, but there is nothing to do, so besides taking in the scenery for 5 minutes whats the point? The bathroom had only a shower curtain in a tiny bath. Not what you would expect form a 4 star hotel. The small mountain town of Capoliveri was a very pleasant experience. Would highly recommend. Also Porto azzurro. But there is a one way street up to the hotel and it takes you a good drive to get to porto azurro. You could take a taxi boat instead. Would not go back because I think I would get more value in Porto Azzuro

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Elba International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a pet friendly hotel, we stayed with our cat and golden retriever. The cleaning staff were very helpful and attentive to our pets, they offer a pet sitting service at the hotel which might be of interest to travelers. The hotel is very nice; it has a beach with sand and another area with decking. The bathrooms at the private beach area are surprisingly well kept as with the rest of the hotel. There are stairs going down to the beach and a glass enclosed lift for those who do not wish to climb up and down. We made friends with a very young and muscular tiger striped cat at the beach, he is very friendly but not imposing. Many children and adults showered him with attention. Bring your scuba gear as the water is crystal clear and filled with fish. The food in the cafe at the beach is healthy or not depending on your tastes. Try the Sicilian shrimp, very fresh. Unfortunately, I can only praise the cafe on the beach, the restaurant attached to the hotel is cafeteria food served by untrained waiters who are dressed the part of how a waiter should dress but the food is quantity not quality. Otherwise the hotel is very accommodating with the two pools. One Olympic sized for families and another large pool further up for adults. We had full view of the cove-harbor from our room with a balcony. The rooms are not sound proof and unfortunately we could hear the live music from the restaurant which was not our taste and it played until 10:30 at night. Then we heard some early morning 2am revelers loudly discussing their plans from the front courtyard lobby. It rained once all day while we were there and it gave us an opportunity to eat our favorite ice cream on the island. Please try Zero Gradi, all organic ice cream. Treat yourself and those you love, it is in almost every city on the island. July is not as crowded as August, and crowds are not a problem since this hotel has its own private beach. However, go check out some of the other beaches. We also went to Rio Marino which had mining. Outside of this mining town is a stream and bridge where you can find purple stones, and pyrite. As with most islands, you can get bored after 3 days, but we are quite adventuresome and we were only able to find time to explore half the island after 5 days. There is plenty to do in summer with the sun shining on Elba.

Room Tip: Must have oceanview from the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for four days at this excellent 4-star. Clean and comfortable room, superb breakfast, good parking facilities, great pool area. Nothing at all to complain about - quite the contrary. Special thanks to the gentleman at reception who offered us a seafront room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatCrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We are a norvegian couple who went to Elba for a week in the beginning of June, to get married on this beautiful Island. Grand Hotel Elba Int. helped us with all the practical work and bookings for our wedding from 5 months before our arrival. We arrive on Elba, and is blown away by its beauty, great service, calm people and a very nice hotel overlooking the ocean, and the small town Porto Azzurro. The hotel gave us their full attention throughout our stay, they created a fantastic wedding day for us, they have great food, beautiful surroundings, nice rooms, and last but not least GREAT SERVICE! Elba is a true fairytale to visit, eventhough you are not getting married, we love to get back to this holiday-pearl, with all its charm and beauty!! - Christine and Jon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10Dmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Lovely setting in a quiet corner of the green island.
Gorgeous food and stilish service. Warm and professional service.
Don't look for better bargain; You simply will not find any. A modern lift will take You directly to a private beach with sand or rocks as You like, and a valuable restaurant for snacks and light lunch.
Only backdraw (very common on Elba Island) any time You need to move prepare to drive on narrow streets for hal an hour at least. Stay away on Mid July- Mid August for overcrowding. Enjoy the rest of the year

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cetto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My boyfriend and I came here in August 2010 and have just booked out second trip for August 2011. The Grand Hotel Elba International was everything we had expected and more, a lovely position on top of the hill over-looking the sea (but with it's only private funicular to take you to the beach on hot days, perfect!).

Our room was on the back of the hotel without much of a view, but not that this mattered as we spent most of the days at the beach or the pool (both of which were never overcrowded). Food in the hotel is spectacular with a wide choice at the breakfast buffet and a daily set evening menu.

The staff were friendly and helpful (and incredibly patient with our poor Italian!). The hotel is a little remote and a taxi to the nearest town might set you back $15/20. Although with a car most places are in easy reach. Although if, like us, you are from London and want to escape to a quiet and pretty location then this hotel would be spot on.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Good hotel with a splendid view. The beach was very good and the service on the beach was also very good. We had a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jklok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capoliveri
5.0 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
8.1 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
444 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
291 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elba International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elba International

Address: Localita Naregno | Baia Della Fontanella 1, 57031, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 Family Hotel in Capoliveri
Price Range: £74 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elba International 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed on arrival by the harmony of nature. The Grand Hotel Elba International is surrounded by lush Mediterranean maquis as a tiny jewel overlooking the Bay of Naregno. The light and perfumes of the island will immediately capture you and your children - who will also enjoy our special attention with all kinds of entertaining activities. Just a few steps from the sea, the embracing atmosphere, elegant details and qualified service will make your stay unforgettable. The Grand Hotel Elba International has 131 rooms furnished with natural, eco-compatible materials and enhanced by elegant technological services. Relaxation continues in our Fitness Centre, fully dedicated to body care to help you rediscover your psycho-physical equilibrium. A regenerative environment where the bouquet of essential oils, herbs and the steam of the sauna and Turkish bath work together to ensure true moments of harmony. Our cuisine combines Mediterranean flavours and Tuscan genuineness in a blend of pairings and tastes that will certainly meet all your expectations. The keyword is quality - in the selection of produce and presentations - to offer you a huge choice of menus every day, even for special diets. Our restaurants "Le Agavi", "Il Pirata" and "Peter Pan" (specially for our young guests) ensure supreme cuisine for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Elba International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Capoliveri
Best Western Capoliveri
Capoliveri Best Western
Grand Hotel Elba International Elba Island/Capoliveri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing