We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second-class clients” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Elba International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elba International
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence
Temse, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“second-class clients”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel has a great view, the location is perfect, overlooking the Porto Azzurro bay. The swimming-pools are OK, as is the private-beach, which can be reached with an elevator. The lifeguard at the hotelpool was very unfriendly and looked like he had the worst job on the island. If you don't book halfboard you are treated as second-class clients. At breakfast you're not permitted to sit at the best tables overlooking the bay and we were put far way back in the diningroom, even when there was practically nobody sitting at all ! The headwaiter was arrogant and didn't seem to care. He told me not to make such a fuzz. The beach-bar is frightfully expensive. I think I ad the most expensive beer of all Tuscany. Overall, a top-location, but a bit overpriced and not really customer-friendly.

Room Tip: Front rooms with the bay-view are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    194
    80
    26
    11
See reviews for
253
280
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We choose this hotel based on a good opinions here and on other portals. Plus it looked decent and offered a HB option and a private beach and pools. The feeling was that it's modern and luxury.

It's not.

Ok, pools are there (sea water), the beach is there (actually it's a paved terrace with very tough water entrance; there is an elevator from the hotel to the beach, but to reach it you have a lot of stairs; not cool), there is a tennis court even. But that's it for the bright sides.

The hotel is ugly. The corridors are ugly, the carpet is stained, the rooms are small and, well, ugly (with the exception of the view - it's SPECTACULAR). The service is very slow (again, with the exception of the owner, who was handling our reservation before we've arrived - he was absolutely super nice).

The HB option was a disaster. Every day you have 3 different dishes to choose from. The thing is that's it's always the same dish, only named different. There is always some pasta with more or less the same topping. And there is always beef with potatos. Always. But every time with a different name. The potatos even look the same. But the name has changed. There is a big table with starters, but to be honest - if you're not into seafood, there is not much for you. Oh, and they are making you pay even for the water. For such a super high price of the HB option they should at least give you the freakin' water for free!!!

The hotel is definitely prepared for German guests (sometimes the information is printed only in Italian and German), but I guess Elba is very popular in Germany (side note: if you plan to drive around Elba, give it extra 3-4 hours, as you will surely have the misfortune to drive behind an elderly couple from Germany, driving 5 km/h over a very curvy and narrow Elba roads; I could run faster). There were a lot of elderly German people in the hotel and they were very happy and cheerful and were speaking German to everybody, no matter what, which was sweet :)

This hotel tends to be luxurious and chic. It's not. It's worn out and dull and waiters wearing suits will not change that (especially when the suits are dirty and not changed for the whole season). And it's so super expansive, I still can't believe it. It's more expansive than ANA InterContinental in Tokyo! Or Movenpick in Beirut. It's more expensive than ultra luxury, state of the art, incredible Eden Rock Resort in Florence. Although I have to admit - all Elba hotels are expensive. But this one is not worth it.

Also - it's on the top of the hill and the nearest town is at least 10 minutes drive.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

When I booked this hotel it was the number 1 hotel in Elba on tripadvisor. I am pleased that it isn't anymore as I really don't think it deserves to be. In fairness, I haven't stayed in any other hotels, but they can't be this bad.

It's in a good location and I expect it was really great in 1970 but things have moved on since then. The decoration felt quite old fashioned, in both the communal areas and our room. The beach area is good for sunbathing and adult swimming. There's a beach bar but I really didn't fancy eating there. There's also a restaurant overlooking the sea, but I was put off by the lack of a clear menu with prices.

The restaurant is reasonable for breakfast although I was annoyed that they reserve tables for some guests. There seem to be a lot of staff doing not a lot. The experience at dinner is very Fawlty Towers. Bad food, bad wine, bad service but for quite a lot of money. It's not possible to have a smaller, cheaper meal. I'd definitely recommend leaving the hotel to eat if you can.

I was irritated that there wasn't any information in the room apart from a price list for the spa. I never went to the swimming pool because I didn't know where it was. I know I could have asked at reception but I don't think this should be necessary in a good hotel.

There is free wi-fi available which requires a login and password. It was slow and didn't work with kindle or HTC mobiles.

Elba is lovely, I wish I'd found a hotel to match.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morbio Inferiore, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Without any doubt I feel confident to suggest this excellent hotel not only for the wonderful position in front of Porto azzurro, but also for the kindness and availabilty of the staff. I have never heard 'this is not possible', 'for this you have to pay', and so on. Some forniture seems old, but I have heard that it is already planned the substitution and maintenance. Last, but not least, breakfast and dinner are very, very good. I'm ready for the next holidays!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We booked five nights at the hotel on the strength of the other reviews on TripAdvisor, but we were left feeling rather disappointed.

The hotel is in an excellent location, on a clifftop overlooking the bay towards Porto Azzurro. When we checked in, we were given a free upgrade to a sea-view room with a balcony. In common with the rest of the hotel, the decor was dated, but otherwise the room was clean and comfortable. The receptionist called the porter to help us with our bags, but was unable to contact him, explaining "he's rather lazy".

We were staying on a B&B basis, rather than half-board, but we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first evening as we didn't check in until 7pm. The cost of the meal was a fixed 30 Euros each, and consisted of a self-service buffet starter, two courses from the menu and a dessert from the buffet. A bottle of (pretty awful) wine cost a further 15 Euros, and water a further 3 Euros. The food was mediocre and the service slow. The restaurant itself was lit entirely by fluorescent lighting, making it feel much more like a cafeteria than the kind of place you'd spend the best part of 80 Euros to eat.

Thankfully, the included breakfast was much better: there was a very good selection of bread, meat, cheese, fruit, cereal and cakes available.

The hotel has its own private beach, which is reached by a lift. However, there are still around 20 stairs to negotiate, making it unsuitable for people with mobility problems. The beach area largely consists of wooden decking with loungers, with very little sand, so probably not great for young children, but a very pleasant place for adults to relax.

We didn't eat at the dingy beach restaurant, as it looked rather grubby and didn't smell too great either. Food at the hotel itself seemed limited to breakfast plus dinner from 6-9pm, with no sign of any bar snacks etc outside of these hours.

In summary, this just didn't feel like a modern four star hotel. The standard of service was varied, food options rather limited, and the bedrooms and communal areas need bringing up to date. Hotels have moved on a lot since the 1980s, but unfortunately The Grand Hotel Elba International seems to have been left behind.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank njpollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We chose this hotel because we wanted to give our 3 three year old son a nice experience with the pool as he loves water. However the pool water was so filled with chlorine that he couldn't enjoy it.
Wifi connection not strong enough to use in our room, only in the lobby. The staff in the restaurant had poor knowledge of simple food related terms. Otherwise a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Spent two nights at this fabulous hotel. It's location was breathtaking. The rooms were perhaps a bit small but otherwise everything was great. Breakfast buffet one of the best in Italy and dinner, included in our half board booking, was also great. Great service from all the staff too.

Room Tip: Don't reserve rooms in hotels right next to a main railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capoliveri
0.3 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
3.9 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elba International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elba International

Property: Grand Hotel Elba International
Address: Localita Naregno | Baia Della Fontanella 1, 57031, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 Family Hotel in Capoliveri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elba International 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed on arrival by the harmony of nature. The Grand Hotel Elba International is surrounded by lush Mediterranean maquis as a tiny jewel overlooking the Bay of Naregno. The light and perfumes of the island will immediately capture you and your children - who will also enjoy our special attention with all kinds of entertaining activities. Just a few steps from the sea, the embracing atmosphere, elegant details and qualified service will make your stay unforgettable. The Grand Hotel Elba International has 131 rooms furnished with natural, eco-compatible materials and enhanced by elegant technological services. Relaxation continues in our Fitness Centre, fully dedicated to body care to help you rediscover your psycho-physical equilibrium. A regenerative environment where the bouquet of essential oils, herbs and the steam of the sauna and Turkish bath work together to ensure true moments of harmony. Our cuisine combines Mediterranean flavours and Tuscan genuineness in a blend of pairings and tastes that will certainly meet all your expectations. The keyword is quality - in the selection of produce and presentations - to offer you a huge choice of menus every day, even for special diets. Our restaurants "Le Agavi", "Il Pirata" and "Peter Pan" (specially for our young guests) ensure supreme cuisine for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Elba International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Capoliveri
Best Western Capoliveri
Capoliveri Best Western
Grand Hotel Elba International Elba Island/Capoliveri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing