We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elba International
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

A large hotel complex with view overlooking a bay.
+ Breakfast. Friendly staff in the reception. Clean room. Nice view.
- Snoby restaurant staff. Salt water in pools. Far from other restaurants/stores.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NordKucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Excellent setting. The private platforms right on the water were superb. One can just lie down on one of the many lounge chairs and get down to a pristine clear water for a dip. The rooms in the hotel were clean and comfortable and the staff was nice and helpful. One can either eat in the hotel or, better still, go to Capoliveri for some fantastic meals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottesvilleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my family for one week in august. We are all regular travellers and were all completely shocked by the poor service at this hotel. Everyone working there had a massive attitude and consistently unhelpful. Maybe the problem rootes in their inferior English, compared to the rest of europeans, or maybe they just have a massive chip on their shoulder. The hotel decor is very 1990 and certainly not modern. The good thing was that there werent many people using the pools so no waiting for chairs. Ok breakfast. Beautiful location. Nice private beach. Still, the poor service over shaddowed this.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The best thing of this hotel is the view of the bay and the town of Porto Azzurro. The major problem is that they advertise as "junior suite" an average size room.

Breakfast is good and maitre d' and waiters are nice and professionals. Fresh squeezed orange juice instead of the totally artificial one they serve would be a nice addition.

WiFi works in the rooms and throughout the common areas of the hotel but the username/password has to be re-entered every time one turns off and on the device. Futhermore log-in info are given on a receipt-like piece of paper written in what seems disappearing ink and indeed disappear. They should get rid of this system altogether.

The best concierge person is actually Andrea, the life guard at the private beach (not really a beach actually but a very well kept boardwalk with an enchanting view). He gave us the best advice on what to do, where to go and eat on the island.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite with balcony and sea view but realize that it is NOT a suite, just a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at Grand Hotel Elba International for our family summer holiday. The decor is a bit dated however everything else met our expectations.
It is very clean, two nice big pools and 5 mins walk from
the pretty Naregno beach.
The family suite we had was very spacious and the view from its balcony is spectacular.

A particular thanks to all the waiters of the Hotel Restaurant who are very professional and friendly and last but NOT least thanks to the Maitre Gian Luigi extremely pleasant and charming with all his guests.

We would recommend this Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The location of the hotel is really nice with a good view over the bay.The hotel itself looks quite old, also the rooms, but everything was clean. The pool area and also the private beach access are nice. For a 4 star hotel there was actually no service. Paying 230 Euros per day, this is unacceptable. At the reception there was most of the time only someone at the desk with bad English and only able to handle the key disposal. For more tricky requests someone from the back office needed to be called. Suitcases were not brought to the room and there were no bellboys.The "waiter in chief" was unfriendly and arrogant. Breakfast met the miminum requirements of a 4 star hotel, but only until 30min before the end, then things were running out and were not replaced. Requests for more food were ignored. One day before we left we called the manager. She was quite nice and the next day there was enough food also 30min before breakfast ended.
We will not book this hotel again, the nice location can't compensate limited service and unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel has a great view, the location is perfect, overlooking the Porto Azzurro bay. The swimming-pools are OK, as is the private-beach, which can be reached with an elevator. The lifeguard at the hotelpool was very unfriendly and looked like he had the worst job on the island. If you don't book halfboard you are treated as second-class clients. At breakfast you're not permitted to sit at the best tables overlooking the bay and we were put far way back in the diningroom, even when there was practically nobody sitting at all ! The headwaiter was arrogant and didn't seem to care. He told me not to make such a fuzz. The beach-bar is frightfully expensive. I think I ad the most expensive beer of all Tuscany. Overall, a top-location, but a bit overpriced and not really customer-friendly.

Room Tip: Front rooms with the bay-view are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capoliveri
8.1 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
447 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
7.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
366 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
313 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elba International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elba International

Address: Localita Naregno | Baia Della Fontanella 1, 57031, Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 Family Hotel in Capoliveri
Price Range: £73 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elba International 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed on arrival by the harmony of nature. The Grand Hotel Elba International is surrounded by lush Mediterranean maquis as a tiny jewel overlooking the Bay of Naregno. The light and perfumes of the island will immediately capture you and your children - who will also enjoy our special attention with all kinds of entertaining activities. Just a few steps from the sea, the embracing atmosphere, elegant details and qualified service will make your stay unforgettable. The Grand Hotel Elba International has 131 rooms furnished with natural, eco-compatible materials and enhanced by elegant technological services. Relaxation continues in our Fitness Centre, fully dedicated to body care to help you rediscover your psycho-physical equilibrium. A regenerative environment where the bouquet of essential oils, herbs and the steam of the sauna and Turkish bath work together to ensure true moments of harmony. Our cuisine combines Mediterranean flavours and Tuscan genuineness in a blend of pairings and tastes that will certainly meet all your expectations. The keyword is quality - in the selection of produce and presentations - to offer you a huge choice of menus every day, even for special diets. Our restaurants "Le Agavi", "Il Pirata" and "Peter Pan" (specially for our young guests) ensure supreme cuisine for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Elba International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Capoliveri
Best Western Capoliveri
Capoliveri Best Western
Grand Hotel Elba International Elba Island/Capoliveri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing