We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasia and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lo Sgarbo

Lo Sgarbo
Ranked #8 of 110 Restaurants in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantasia and good food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We really liked this place during our visit in Capoliveri. It was a saturday but we managed to find a table, location is not the best you can find in Capoliveri but the food and the friendly service makes up for it.

We had some excellent bruschetta starter, mine especially was superb, with mozzarella, eggplants and bottarga, a fantastic combination.

Both our primi piatti were excellent, my girlfriend loved the bottarga pasta and i enjoyed a carbonara with artichokes.

I definitely recommend this place, very good food cooked with fantasy and ecellent service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank shimond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    162
    47
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Lo Sgarbo - Capoliveri”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The best and authentic place I have been eating and spending great time was in "Lo Sgarbo" restaurant in Capoliveri - Isola D'Elba - Italy

Eating fresh food: I've seen the staff asking to customers to choose from a wide selection of seafood, cut it and cook it freshly in a open kitchen, surrounded by an authentic furniture and antique decoration, with a great music and atmosphere provided by all the Staff... ... but the most particular thing is that this restaurant is specialized in "Spaghetti" !! Which I find it really original! So I've decided to try "Spaghetti alla Norma".
And also I had the chance to assist to a live acoustic blues show!

This place has character, I really suggest for those people that will may go to Capoliveri, to don't miss out "Lo Sgarbo", this place must be seen and try his fresh and authentic food!

See you next year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montepulciano, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good meal in a bad atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The octopus was excellent. I can really suggest it.

The Service is very attentive and friendly.

The restaurant has a few tables outside. The most part are inside. There it is very tight and noisy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucky_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Having had some disappointing meals while in Elba, we were delighted by Lo Scarbo's well cooked, fresh and simple fish. We ate here three times in our last week on the island, and were always impressed. We especially enjoyed the spicy squid, sea bass and the great service from the owners daughter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special restaurant”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have been coming to Elba for over a decade and this is our favourite place. Wonderful food in a homely relaxed atmosphere. You really cannot beat it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liltiger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lo Sgarbo also viewed

 
Capoliveri, Elba Island
 
Capoliveri, Elba Island
 

Been to Lo Sgarbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing