We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the place to stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Vanvitelli
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Caserta
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely the place to stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was lovely. We arrived here and were so very pleased with its beauty, the staff, our room and the food in the restaurant. Oh... and the waiter in the restaurant was also wonderful. REALLY a beautiful hotel. We didn't walk the grounds but even the parking lot had lovely statues and there was an outside pool area beyond that looked great too. If you need a jumping off point for this area or just a one night stay -this is the one!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinLifesJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    465
    149
    51
    36
See reviews for
260
279
20
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here one night on a tour and it is "Grand". The hotel seems mostly used as a Conference Centre and does not really cater for "Tourist" trade. Extremely well fitted with loads of money spent on it. There is a small shopping centre a 100mtrs away which has a medium sized supermarket with a wide range of goods and on one side is a McDonalds and the other an Italian restaurant which we had lunch in and found it quite good. Facilities were mainly closed at the time we visited but the fitness room was well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

15mins from Naples airport, it's very nice (classical furniture and huge rooms)
Bad point is the location: just under the bridge of the highway.
Another bad point: you can't control the room temperature.
Nice and friendly staff.
Marveillous and super rich breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel is outside Caserta, next to a main road into Caserta. Plenty of free parking all around.

Hotel looks grand on outside and inside (real classical feel with grand chandeliers etc). Staff was really friendly and wonderful. Family room was very big and wonderful beds. However, the airco did not work well and it was warm and stuffy in the room (even though outside it wasn't that warm, end of October).

The pool was icy cold (this was the end of the tourist season, not sure if they heat it up during the season). Small kids play area next to it.

Breakfast was amazing and included. All in all a good value stay.

PS. Easy drive from the hotel to the palace and town (although a bit of a nightmare to drive in the town at night). Seems like a so-so area with a guy asking me for money and a lot of young guys trying to wash the windows of our rental car (without asking).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is not Naples, it is a location outside Naples called Caserta.
My room was large and fantastic for the price paid. The reception and interior decor is beautiful.
Sadly, the hotel is in a location just off the highway, you CANNOT go for a walk anywhere!
Taxis are v. expensive and the most expensive I have come across, admittedly not the hotel's fault but a real nightmare! I was here for a week and travelling to the office and back daily cost an absolute bomb.
Tea (or coffee) making facilities are not provided in the room, so beware. Neither are hotel slippers. To be fair none of these are advertised as being provided, but sometimes people assume these to be standard inclusions, so just warning you.
The hotel Wifi is almost non-existent and almost impossible to connect to.
The AC does not work either, its a fan blowing warm air.
Restaurant is so so ….
Staff are polite and hard working.

Room Tip: Please read my comments, thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgurusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in September 2013 while at a function.
Hotel check in was easy, multilingual staff, buffet breakfast included in price, and early check in (2 hrs prior) was doable without extra fee. On website stated no pets, however after calling them via phone, they allowed me to bring my 60 lbs dog with me and stay in the room the entire time while away.
Parking is onsite, parking garage and outside with cameras. Hotel is larger than it looks on the outside. Room is spacious and pool is outside, not heated.
Staff was friendly, housekeeping was willing to bring extra items if needed to the room. Onsite artifacts (statues) were all over the place inside and outside for picture taking, or the feel of being in Italy.
Attractions near by: Royal Palace at Caserta. This is a tourist attraction, a few blocks away. If going to Naples, about 30 mins away by car. Unsure about public transportation.
If you wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle while entertaining at the hotel, this would be the place.

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe, which was very spacious (large) and door opened to the pool. For upper deck, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k9man2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I arrived quite late at the Vanvitelli - it's not far from Naples airport, about 15 minutes as your average Italian drives (that is, insanely) - and the check in process was quite straightforward. Had to leave my passport at reception until checkout, which I don't like doing. The room was fine - hot, but this is Southern Italy in September - and there was air conditioning. I didn't linger but went to the restaurant. This is a short walk outside from the main body of the hotel, but it was - then - a nice evening.
The food was reasonably good - grilled calamari and then a sea urchin risotto. The latter wasn't to my taste, but it seemed to be well prepared. All of the food looks good and there is a changing daily special menu: three courses for 28 Euro, I think. All of the waiters seem to speak at least some English, shamefully I speak little Italian.
There was a tremendous storm when we were eating but luckily it had stopped raining by the time we had to walk back to the main body of the hotel; there was still plenty of lightning though. And then it was time for bed.
Before that, though, I stood at the open window with a beer from the mini bar and watched the lightning. It was then I realised that the air conditioning, whilst making a racket, didn't actually seem to work. I couldn't re-set it from 28°C. So I slept on top of the bed covers.
This was a mistake. Perhaps when the window was open or perhaps before then a mosquito got into the room and by the time I woke sweaty and itchy at 4am, I had been bitten several times. Found him and killed him, fought vainly with the air con, had a couple of paracetamol and tried to go back to sleep. So not a great night's sleep. The main road is very close to the hotel and so I couldn't sleep with the window open as it was too noisy, I think that helped me only get bitten a few times. So be warned: if your window opens outside (others open into a central courtyard) beware of insects. The central courtyard serves as a bar area and is covered - the ceiling's beautiful - I don't know if the room glass is reflective or not. So beware of that, too (although there were none either drinking or serving both times I passed through).
Breakfast was fine, fruit juices were appalling considered where we were, the orange juice was sweetened and, I think, from concentrate. Not as good as in the UK which is an amazing thing to have to say about a hotel in Italy. Breakfast was rolls and coffee, cheese, ham, salami, jam and yoghurts - your classic 'continental'.
Checkout was reasonably straightforward. My trip was paid for by a supplier so I can't comment on the cost - I simply don't know. Can't say anything about the surrounding area, either, as we arrived about 9pm and left about 9am the next day.

Room Tip: If you have an outside-opening room, beware mosquitoes. If an inside room, look out for people in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caserta hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Caserta
Hotel Royal Caserta
#2 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plana Hotel
Plana Hotel
#1 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Plaza Caserta
0.3 mi away
Novotel Caserta Sud
Novotel Caserta Sud
#8 of 16 in Caserta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Europa Caserta
Hotel Europa Caserta
#9 of 16 in Caserta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vanvitelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Property: Grand Hotel Vanvitelli
Address: Viale Carlo III, 81020, Caserta, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Caserta > Caserta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caserta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caserta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caserta
#4 Business Hotel in Caserta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vanvitelli 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Vanvitelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Caserta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing