We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Caserta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK, but expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Reading all the positive reviews (not only on tripadvisor) I have picked this hotel to be our base for daytrips around Caserta, Naples, Capri and surroundings.

The hotel is OK, but I have expected more:

Hotel itself:
It's centrally located which is very convenient. The train station is about 10 minutes away (by foot). A supermarket (Carrefour) is about 5 minutes away. The room we had was facing the backside of the hotel so there was no noise from the sometimes busy street in front of the hotel.

Parking:
The (chargeable, 10€ per 24 hours) parking garage was 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Parking in front of the hotel is not possible.

Room:
The size was a bit small, compared to the size of the bathroom which was almost the same size as the bedroom. Thus, we had a little struggle to place our suitcases/luggage.
Although there was no noise from the street the air condition unit was quite noisy. Even when running on slowest speed, it was hard to sleep.

Breakfast:
Food quality was good and there was a decent choice of various fruits, juices and cake. Again, from the reviews I have read I expected more, so maybe don't get too excited :)

Staff:
They were always friendly and helpful. Very nice!

Don't get me wrong. The hotel is OK for the price, but it's better to know what to expect beforehand. We didn't and this certainly put us off a bit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasF_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    295
    74
    16
    7
See reviews for
149
252
18
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I picked this hotel based on what I could see on the internet. I also asked my relatives who live in the area if they thought this would be a nice place to stay. I was pleasantly surprised by everything. I didn't know we were getting breakfast in the morning which was such a plus! It's not a huge hot breakfast, but it was just enough. Scrambled eggs, toast, pastries, cereal, fruit, meats & cheeses, espresso, cappuccino & regular coffee/tea, yougarts & cereals too. This hotel is modern, with wifi which was big for my family of five. (3 teenagers!) They put us in rooms next door to one another. If we needed something, someone was there to answer our question immediately. The biggest thing was it was CLEAN! We had daily maid service and she does her job very well. I will definitely return to this hotel. I hope to go back in September! I to thank Vanna & Sabastian personally for their smiling faces & for all the staff for their warm hospitality. I hope to see you all soon! Grazie!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel has a very nice of almost anything you expect. Nice and clean rooms, very good breakfast and extremely friendly staff. The only thing I didn't like was the lack of free parking. They charge some 10Euros, to park your car overnight, which doesn't appear in their initial proposal and this is over 10% of the room cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed here for 3 weeks on business and have thoroughly enjoyed it. As a business traveller a hotel only really needs to meet 3 criteria: a comfortable bed, a clean bathroom and a shower with good water pressure. This hotel however not only met these requirements but exceeded on so many other levels. breakfasts were delicious (however don't expect a hot cooked breakfast) with great coffee, parking near the hotel in a safe spot is available, the location of the hotel is great and everything is well presented. However the most enjoyable part of my stay by a long way was the fact that I was greeted everytime with a smile by the hotel staff (from the receptionists to the cleaners) and was made to feel welcome!
they can provide great recommendations on where to eat and can give good advice on nearby (and not so nearby) attractions as well. Another great thing about this hotel is the price! it is definitely underpriced for what you get.
Good Points: Friendly staff and price
Bad Points: Internet was sometimes slow (not good for skype etc. but fine for work)
Other Comments: Don't spend more than 2 days in Caserta (not much to see). The Palace gardens are great, but spend the time travelling to places like Pompeii and Sorrento

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aakhyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel was great -- spacious, clean, friendly staff and cheap. Way underpriced.

Unfortunately, we booked through Gulliver Travel, London and when we had to cancel a room, they gave us a run around even though we cancelled over 24 hrs ahead of time.

VERY SLEAZY!! We called them three times and they pretended WE had to cancel online.
Not businesslike at all. Never again.

Next time we'll use Venere as we have been doing for years without hassles.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekosenseiRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edniburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here en route to Puglia and found it to be excellent value. Would describe it as a 'boutique' type hotel, very modern, clean and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were only a 5 minute walk away from the Royal Palace, which was absolutely stunning and also well worth the visit. Only a couple of minutes away from the town centre, which offered a great selection of shops, restaurants etc. We would have loved to have stayed longer but schedule didn't permit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishItalianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nearby
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Very central 4* hotel, recently renovated although showing already some sign of decay. The Royal Palace at walking distance and the inexpensiveness are about the only good things it has to offer but it might be already enough. The city of Caserta is very ugly and does not deserve a thorough visit. Affordable Junior Suites (just a slightly bigger than average room but with a big jacuzzi) are probably the best choice. The restaurant has a variety of food of average quality, breakfast is also unimpressive. Staff are very kind, offering to help and fix every problem you have, just don't expect them to actually do it. And hope you don't run into a group of school boys and girls (very common in Caserta, many schools organize one or two days trips to see the Royal Palace) or forget your sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waggadouggou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caserta hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Caserta
Hotel Royal Caserta
#1 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Vanvitelli
1.0 mi away
Plana Hotel
Plana Hotel
#2 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Caserta
Hotel Europa Caserta
#9 of 16 in Caserta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina
Villa Maria Cristina
#5 of 16 in Caserta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Plaza Caserta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta

Property: Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta
Address: Piazza Vanvitelli, 12, 81100, Caserta, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Caserta > Caserta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Caserta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dei Cavalieri is the only Hotel in Caserta's city centre, in the famous Vanvitelli Square. Placed at the beginning of the shopping area, few steps far from the Royal Palace of Vanvitelli, the structure is designed with elegance and details care. It is the perfect synthesis of style and modern comforts. Each room provides satellite TV, free Internet connection. Breackfast is included in the room rate. The Hotel has also a Restaurant, la Bouganville...a welcoming atmosphere, where careful attention to details meets an intimate and evocative atmosphere. The restaurant has 70 seats between dining room and what is our corner of magic moments ... the outside "chiostro". Our cuisine is simple, based on the use of ingredients of first choice and exaltation of flavors and natural scents of the daily catch or fine meats. Our goal is simple: the well-being of our guests through the quality of the food, the care of the atmosphere and attentive service all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dei Cavalieri Caserta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing