We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Week!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zi Martino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zi Martino
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Zi' Martino for the first week of July. It is a lovely hotel at the bottom of the hill just below the the town of Castagneto. Fausto, the owner, had been very helpful via email when planning the trip as we were to cycle in the local area, and continued to be helpful during our stay. Fausto had arranged bike rental through a local shop and the high quality bikes were waiting for us in reception on our arrival! The hotel is geared-up for cyclists with a secure garage and recommendations for routes too. The hotel itself is spacious, modern & clean, the rooms too are big and comfortable - our bathroom appeared to be brand new.
The hotel was quiet during our stay so we often had their lovely pool, in an olive grove behind the hotel, to ourselves - very nice indeed! The restaurant is good too and the staff were all lovely especially as our Italian is effectively non-existent! A great little find! ideal if your visiting the wine region, cycling the local hills or visiting the coast.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms would be good but a view over the garden at the back would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    33
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I just spent a week here with friends. We were cycling with Cinghiale Cycling Tours. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding and plentiful. The wifi access is limited and could benefit from updating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We would stay here again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMTallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week cycling in the area and Zi Martino was home base at the bottom of the hill. There was nothing more comforting than coming back down to a warm welcome, clean room, cool pool, and down home cooking. The family and their staff were as bright and warm as the Tuscan sun.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a delightful time at this hotel. It served as our home for 8 days of cycling in Tuscany. Wi-Fy needs a bit of work, but the staff was wonderful to us, the food was excellent and heaping, and the location was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here during a group cycling trip with Cinghiale Cycling Tours. The accommodations were great. The staff was friendly, the rooms kept clean, and each room has a clothes rack for drying clothing in the sun. The food was awesome. All local including seafood and a nice selection of wines. They are very kind to even run you to the train station if needed. It is a challenging, uphill walk to the lovely town of Castagnetto Carducci. And for cyclists, you can rent a bike from Ciclosport and keep it in the bike garage at the hotel. The pool is exceptionally clean, nice lounge chairs, and plenty of shade and sun around the pool to suit your poolside style.

Prices are very reasonable with options to include breakfast, lunch, dinner or all three. Highly recommended. It cannot be beat!!!! Fausto and crew will take good care of you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbonnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Tuscany by Vespa Scooter. It was in the style of a "Motel", but the facilities were more than adequate for our needs. Not luxurious, but the rooms have everything you want - comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and most with garden access. Some rooms can be a bit dark, but the owner was more than happy to move us when we asked for a lighter room. The main selling point of this hotel is the food which is glorious. Typical tuscan cuisine, with a great dinner menu. The village is about 1 mile away up a steep hill, but it is in a good location for touring the area. Another plus is that it is really peaceful - guaranteeing a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a "light" room with patio door access to gardens. We originally had room 300 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for 10 nights one October. The hotel is not fancy but is a very typical hotel for Italy. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed. We used the hotel as a basecamp as part of the Cinghiale bike tour with Andy Hampsten. We biked out everyday and returned hours later to a wonderful meal. The restaurant is the best part of the hotel. The food (we had breakfast there everyday and lunch and/or dinner there too)
was out of this world and I never grew tired of eating so many times in one place. Zi Martino is very centerally located so its perfect for sight seeing. Go, but dont expect luxury.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castagneto Carducci hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Le Luci Bed & Breakfast
Villa Le Luci Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 15 in Castagneto Carducci
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo
#6 of 15 in Castagneto Carducci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Alta la Vista
Hotel Alta la Vista
#4 of 4 in Marina di Castagneto Carducci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Campastrello Sport Residence Hotel
Campastrello Sport Residence Hot...
#8 of 15 in Castagneto Carducci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strada Giulia - 16
Strada Giulia - 16
#1 of 2 in Bolgheri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.2 mi away
I Ginepri
I Ginepri
#1 of 4 in Marina di Castagneto Carducci
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zi Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zi Martino

Property: Zi Martino
Address: Via San Giusto 262, 57022, Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Castagneto Carducci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Castagneto Carducci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zi Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zi Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing