We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tombolo Talasso Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Villa Tirreno(Marina di Castagneto Carducci)
US$100
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Le Luci Bed & Breakfast(Castagneto Carducci)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo(Castagneto Carducci)
US$97
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alta la Vista(Marina di Castagneto Carducci)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Canado Club Family Village(Donoratico)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zi Martino(Castagneto Carducci)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
I Ginepri(Marina di Castagneto Carducci)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Alle Dune(Marina di Castagneto Carducci)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
439
293
123
49
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
293
123
49
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachoff seasonbeautiful hotelspa treatmentscomfortable roomstherapypoolstuscanyterracebolgherishorecaveselba
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The General Manager, Fabio Guarducci, was the star of the show. Courteous and hospitable in a way that seasoned travellers see less and less these days.

I stayed for two nights and there is no getting away from the fact that this hotel is not for those seeking intimate and boutique. It is more corporate with prices to match. A very good bar staff who are eager to serve a good selection of local wines. The rack rate for our room was in excess of 400 euros which frankly is bonkers. Does anybody pay that price? The room was pleasant - full stop. It was worth 200 euros tops. It was a pain that you could not park your own car in the underground car park - you had to call to get it brought out - for insurance purposes apparently. It is worth noting that there is without doubt price fixing going on amongst the local taxi firms. We wanted to go 7 kms to a local restaurant which was to be 35 euros each way - in my book that is pretty steep. In summary overall ok but I did not leave with a strong urge to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-choosy-chappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Mr. Mark, it was indeed a pleasure to meet you during your short rainy period with us.
Many thanks for the kinds words that you have expressed and I assure you that all the Staff ejoyed serving you and trust you enjoyed the visit to our Top Wine Estate in the area.
Indeed we extend free car valet service as one of our many appreciated added values and our attention is always directed at extending the best personalized attention to all our clients.
i sincerly hope to be able to greet you again soon in sunny tuscany.
All the best from all the Staff at Tombolo Talasso resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

YOU WILL NEED A CAR !!!!!!

Visited here out of season so we must make that point clear (it will become obvious why)
Firstly, a superb place to stay, the staff were first class, nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately my girlfriend and I had little time to use the spa facilities as we were travelling and sight seeing every day. I did however, notice the *price* of the treatments and facilities and thought they were extortionate. But like i said, we didnt come here to use those facilities at all.
The room was a decent size, bed was very comfortable and capable of sleeping 50 Somalians if required (it was a bit oversized if your feeling romantic) :) All the linnen was crisp and perfect, cleaners were efficient and room service was great.
Nothing was too much trouble, I fancied a quiet romantic drink on the private beach with the girlfriend, the barman gave me advice on a good local white wine (it is Tuscany after all) and instantly produced a bag of ice, 2 plastic glasses and after corking the wine, put it in the bag of ice and off i went....brilliant service :)


However, The beach was dirty and not cleaned, i suspect it was because it was out of season, non the less it could have been better. That would be my only complaint on the hotel facilities.

The other thing to be mindful of is the absolute lack of shops that were open during the late morning all the way into the early evening....like need sun cream, GET IT EARLY, because no one works in Italy from 11-5 :D I tried to get some thing for the beach at midday...no chance.

Breakfast is the usual fare, dont expect a full English fry up.

Food in the hotel was good quality although we only ate in once in the 5 day visit, price was about right for the area.
The hotel is a bit out of the way from any attractions and cities, but thats why i chose it.

Thoroughly recommended in my view, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Driving info:
2 hours to Sienna (an absolute must)
1 1/2 to Voltarre (another must)
40 Minutes to Pisa
4 1/2 hours to Bologna

Room Tip: For peace and quiet ask for a court yard room...VERY QUIET indeed, and relaxing in the eve and mornings. The Sea view rooms face the main road, so be cautious in high season
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKAndyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Client, all the Staff at Tombolo is greatful for your comments and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our services and your stay with us. The beach was due for winter cleaning a few days after your departure and we hope to have you soon with us during the summer period. All the best from all the Tombolo staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A most relaxing week - fabulous treatments - terrific therapists - 5 magnificent pools.
Service is perfect. A real 5 star organization. Light cuisine is divine.
Hopefully some outdoor benches will be added. First 4 days were filled with beautiful
sunshine and no where to sit!
Vivian G..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Ms. Vivian,
it has been our pleasure to have you as a guest in our SpA Hotel and we thank you for the positive remarks on our services, staff and cuisine . You will be happy to know that since your stay and your request for outside sitting area, we have added three benches on the sea side garden and we thank you for bring this detail to our attention.
On behalf of all the Staff from Tombolo Talasso Resort, we look forward t6o welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

very good spa with talasso very good pools too.
Italian dishes at their best for breakfast and exclusive lunches and dinners.
Style, the elegance of the resort is unvanquishable, typical Tuscanyl andscape.
A very amazing experience, ideal for couples and wine lovers.
Bolgheri is very close do not forget a wine testing !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mr.Roman,
your satisfaction with your expeirence at Tombolo Talasso Resort is equal to ours and very rewarding to all our Staff members.
The autum and winter season , makes Tombolo an ideal location to find some quality time for wellness, relaxation and tasting the wines excellences that our territory produces.
Thank you very much for choosing Tombolo Talasso Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We happened upon Tombolo on our way back from Elba. Being spontaneous, freeing ourselves from our uptight, organized Toronto lifestyle, we did not book a single hotel in our 10 day Tuscan holiday. All hotels in the area were booked. The wonderful, kind hotel director squeezed us in. We would have slept anywhere that night but Tombolo was so much better. It turned out to be an oasis on the Meditteranian, 100% luxury, fine dining, primo customer service in a cute little village away from tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melmotheroftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
we remember very well your arrival at Tombolo and under no circumstances , we would have allowed any different attention and assitance . We are delighted that your experience with our cuisine and SPA services was to your satisfaction and look forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from all the Staff at Tombolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews