We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location / Old hotel rules”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tombolo Talasso Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was our second time that we stayed at this hotel because of the good and quiet location. There are not similare alternative hotels in the area. The rooms are in good shape and the beds are perfect for a good sleep. We stayed in room #206 with seaview. The wellness with sauna and steambath is big and free. For the thalasso pools you pay extra. There is no self parking inside the hotel area. It can take a long time till you get the car. Breakfast is a good standard. We did ask to sit outside in the fresh air. Everything was ready including the umbrellas. They did refuse to sit outside. The hotel is in general not very flexible and easy going, that's why we think they have old hotel rules. Overall, we like the location and the hotel infrastructure. We were missing modern and opportune services.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Client many thanks for your review and for letting us know about your opinions during your stay.
We were very please to see you again and that you decided to return and spend some relaxing time at Tombolo Talasso Resort.
Indeed , our rules have remained the same for certan aspects as during your last saty with us.
We offer a Valet Parking service at no charge for the service and for the parking of the car and we feel that we should provide this service on behalf of our guests and for security reasons of the cars that are parked in our garage.
As you know being a regular guest, our garage is adjacent to our hotel and takes aproximatly 5 minutes to pick up a car and deliver it to our guests....it would be advisable to let the front office know in advance in order to find your car ready at the time requested. It may sometimes happen that if we have several not scheduled requests, that it may take a few extra minutes.

As for having the breakfast terrace not accessable , believe me that it was not a refusal but simply motivated by the fact that the season was still not ideal to open it due to fresh temperature and early morning humidity.....in fact we did finally open the terrace shortly after your departure as the climate improved.

We are happy that overall your experience at Tombolo was to your satisfaction and we look forward to see you again soon.
The Staff from Tombolo sends our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Tombolo Talasso Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here with a business group in April, and it was a shame that it was a bit too cold to enjoy the beach or the pool as both looked great.
The rooms are a good standard (not 5star, but clean and neat and a scent size) but to make the most of the place you should get a sea view room.
Compliments to the barman and the piano player!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review nd sharing your experience at Tombolo with us and the comunity of TA.
It has been such a pleasure to host your lively and fun group from Australia and all the Staff was happy to have you and to be able to be of service during your stay.
We look forward to have you all back with us and send the best regards from all the Staff members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is perfectly located on the Tuscan coast with its own private beach which was superb. The hotel was very clean and well maintained with maid service provided twice daily. The rooms were of a good standard, light airy with good views of the surrounding areas.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and they parked our car for us. One of the big points of the hotel is the spa, which provides a good variety of treatments for both men and women which are reasonably priced.

Overall a very good experience perfectly nestled on the Tuscan coast, due to its location I would advise a car to get here. Whilst you are here it is worth taking a short trip to Bolgheri where the wine and food is to die for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Pot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Mr.mark, waht a pleasure to read your comments on Trip Advisor and totally agree with your suggestion to have a car to have a chance to visit our local excellent wine estates and surroundings medieval villages.
We are so glad that your stay was a real experience and that you discovered our Thalassso Center composed of five pools of heated sea water and all pools with a different temperature and different function.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Tuscany.
The enitre staff of Tombolo sends their best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Talasso resort is a very nice full service family oriented resort. The private beach is wonderful and well maintained. The resort itself seems rather new and well maintained. We had a two bedroom suite which was extremely comfortable. The restaurant was nice and had a lot of fresh seafood. Service was excellent. One constructive comment: the Wi-Fi was extremely slow and dodgy.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite on the main floor. It was spacious and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denning907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mr.Denning,
it has been a pleasure for us to serve your family and we are very happy that your overall experience has been positive. At Tombolo Talasso Resort, we strive every day to accomodate the needs of all our clients, individulas, couples and families. This last segment, is particularly challenging but we believe that our private beach, dedicated kids pool, special kids menues, mini club and the morning access to our Thalasso pools , makes Tombolo an ideal location to vacation for our family's Clients.
Since your stay we have added more powerfull access points for a better WIFI signal and will continue to do so in the entire hotel.
All the Staff from Tombolo sends our best regards and hope to see you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The General Manager, Fabio Guarducci, was the star of the show. Courteous and hospitable in a way that seasoned travellers see less and less these days.

I stayed for two nights and there is no getting away from the fact that this hotel is not for those seeking intimate and boutique. It is more corporate with prices to match. A very good bar staff who are eager to serve a good selection of local wines. The rack rate for our room was in excess of 400 euros which frankly is bonkers. Does anybody pay that price? The room was pleasant - full stop. It was worth 200 euros tops. It was a pain that you could not park your own car in the underground car park - you had to call to get it brought out - for insurance purposes apparently. It is worth noting that there is without doubt price fixing going on amongst the local taxi firms. We wanted to go 7 kms to a local restaurant which was to be 35 euros each way - in my book that is pretty steep. In summary overall ok but I did not leave with a strong urge to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-choosy-chappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Mr. Mark, it was indeed a pleasure to meet you during your short rainy period with us.
Many thanks for the kinds words that you have expressed and I assure you that all the Staff ejoyed serving you and trust you enjoyed the visit to our Top Wine Estate in the area.
Indeed we extend free car valet service as one of our many appreciated added values and our attention is always directed at extending the best personalized attention to all our clients.
i sincerly hope to be able to greet you again soon in sunny tuscany.
All the best from all the Staff at Tombolo Talasso resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

YOU WILL NEED A CAR !!!!!!

Visited here out of season so we must make that point clear (it will become obvious why)
Firstly, a superb place to stay, the staff were first class, nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately my girlfriend and I had little time to use the spa facilities as we were travelling and sight seeing every day. I did however, notice the *price* of the treatments and facilities and thought they were extortionate. But like i said, we didnt come here to use those facilities at all.
The room was a decent size, bed was very comfortable and capable of sleeping 50 Somalians if required (it was a bit oversized if your feeling romantic) :) All the linnen was crisp and perfect, cleaners were efficient and room service was great.
Nothing was too much trouble, I fancied a quiet romantic drink on the private beach with the girlfriend, the barman gave me advice on a good local white wine (it is Tuscany after all) and instantly produced a bag of ice, 2 plastic glasses and after corking the wine, put it in the bag of ice and off i went....brilliant service :)


However, The beach was dirty and not cleaned, i suspect it was because it was out of season, non the less it could have been better. That would be my only complaint on the hotel facilities.

The other thing to be mindful of is the absolute lack of shops that were open during the late morning all the way into the early evening....like need sun cream, GET IT EARLY, because no one works in Italy from 11-5 :D I tried to get some thing for the beach at midday...no chance.

Breakfast is the usual fare, dont expect a full English fry up.

Food in the hotel was good quality although we only ate in once in the 5 day visit, price was about right for the area.
The hotel is a bit out of the way from any attractions and cities, but thats why i chose it.

Thoroughly recommended in my view, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Driving info:
2 hours to Sienna (an absolute must)
1 1/2 to Voltarre (another must)
40 Minutes to Pisa
4 1/2 hours to Bologna

Room Tip: For peace and quiet ask for a court yard room...VERY QUIET indeed, and relaxing in the eve and morni...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKAndyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Client, all the Staff at Tombolo is greatful for your comments and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our services and your stay with us. The beach was due for winter cleaning a few days after your departure and we hope to have you soon with us during the summer period. All the best from all the Tombolo staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A most relaxing week - fabulous treatments - terrific therapists - 5 magnificent pools.
Service is perfect. A real 5 star organization. Light cuisine is divine.
Hopefully some outdoor benches will be added. First 4 days were filled with beautiful
sunshine and no where to sit!
Vivian G..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Ms. Vivian,
it has been our pleasure to have you as a guest in our SpA Hotel and we thank you for the positive remarks on our services, staff and cuisine . You will be happy to know that since your stay and your request for outside sitting area, we have added three benches on the sea side garden and we thank you for bring this detail to our attention.
On behalf of all the Staff from Tombolo Talasso Resort, we look forward t6o welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castagneto Carducci
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel Marinetta
Park Hotel Marinetta
#1 of 9 in Marina di Bibbona
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alta la Vista
Hotel Alta la Vista
#4 of 4 in Marina di Castagneto Carducci
126 reviews
5.3 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo
Hotel Residence Il Bambolo
#8 of 16 in Castagneto Carducci
205 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
I Ginepri
I Ginepri
#1 of 4 in Marina di Castagneto Carducci
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombolo Talasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombolo Talasso Resort

Address: Via del Corallo 3 | Marina Di Castagneto Carducci, 57024, Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Castagneto Carducci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
Price Range: £181 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tombolo Talasso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Spa Hotel with a thalasso terapy center with inside 5 heated sea water pools . Directly on the sea , the beaches and the vineyards of Bolgheri . Wellness and pure relax for all seasons . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tombolo Talasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombolo Talasso Hotel Castagneto Carducci
Grand Hotel Castagneto Carducci
Grand Resort Tombolo Talasso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing