We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills accommodation in need of TLC”

Residence Parco Bouganville
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Parco Bouganville
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“No frills accommodation in need of TLC”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

- The view from our balcony was nice – you could see Capri and Mount Vesuvius in the far distance. The other two blocks of apartments looked on to trees and/or bushes so I think we had the best deal.
- The gardens were pretty and well looked after and the large pool area kept clean – although there was a big cracked step leading into the pool which they really need to fix.
- the owners were friendly and approachable.
- Generally the apartment was clean. The air-conditioning kept the place nice and cool in the summer heat.
However,
- The interior of the apartment was dark and bare with only essential furniture and hospital-like lighting. There wasn’t a single picture on the walls or anything to make it feel cosy or welcoming.
- There were no comfortable chairs to sit on, only the wooden kitchen chairs and one 2-seater sofa with a cloth thrown over it which had seen better days. There were no cushions for any of the outside seats on the balcony.
- The mattress on the bed was hard and uncomfortable – it was a relief to get up in the morning and escape from it
- the only communal area is the small kitchen / diner which is a bit claustrophobic for 4 people living together but OK if you’re out sight-seeing every day or lying by the pool.
- The car park is narrow and on a steep hillside. When the car park is full only small cars can easily get in and out of the gated residence as there is not enough room for a 4-door saloon to turn around in the car park. Every day presented a new challenge in trying to reverse the car up the steep hill without burning the clutch out.
- There is a very busy main road at the bottom of the hill with constant traffic noise day and night, therefore not suitable for anyone looking for complete peace and tranquillity.

The owners obviously make an effort with the garden and pool area but the place is let down by the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scandigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2010

As a final statement I have to say that the Resindece Parco Bougainville did not satisfy us and we had to change it. The main reasons were the dismality (Lugubre/grigio/ /tetro/funesto) of the apartment and the passing road noice that you warned. It was something like in Russia during its Sovjet Union era: everything was ok in principle (all facts about garden, view, rooms etc were correct), but not in practice (rooms were dark and untidy and road really noisy).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraziePrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castellabate hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The views from the apartment balcony were really fantastic across the bay to Capri in the distance. The pool was really good with a pleasant area around it and plenty of sunbeds etc. Fairly basic accommodation but clean and adequate - we didn't go there to spend our days sitting inside! Beautiful places to visit in the area or have day trips to Amalfi and Pompei. Only a few minutes walk from the village and the seafront with plenty of good little local food shops. We would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

When I organised this holiday and arranged accommodation through the internet I was obviously a bit apprehensive especially as my mother and two sisters were coming along too and really had no idea where I was taking them.
When we arrived at Paro Bouganville, after a transfer from Naples Airport, Mr Santos was there to meet us and showed us to our apartment. It was ample for the five of us and comfortable. The apartment had all that we needed including the lovely swimming pool and garden. We had a very enjoyable time looking around the local area which has many historical sites within the Cilento National Park (go and visit the medevial town Castellabate (if you can do the steps!) above St Maria Castellabate. The restaurants/bars and very welcoming it was all well worth the visit and staying at Parco Bouganville.

Ann Savill

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Although the apartment was basic, and had to have th shutters closed in the bedroom as the entrance was on the walkway. The apartment was basic, and this is not a problem if the weather is good as you will be out side. Excellent views from the balcony, quirky rustic grounds which added to the charm. Excellent parking. Quite a walk to the town - tired legs. Didn't see the hosts very much and payment was cash only as soon as you arrived. Could do with a welcome pack, ie bread milk wine etc. The beaches in the town were filthy, and full of litter, as were most of the beaches in the area. The town was nice, especially in the evenings. Great restuarants and no trouble. Yes road was noisy but you got used to it. great sunsets over to capri. close to the port of San Marco, for a hydrofoil trip to capri - not good if you are motion sick! Pool was a welcome at the end of the day, however it could have been cleaned more, rather sandy at the bottom - i am fussy. The bathrooms could have been sprused up a bit, needs some updating. Apartments basic but serviceable. Disappointed that the complex 'restuarant' was not available, although we were told about it. Charming gardens around the pool. Definatley need a car

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janicehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Unfortunately, our apartment was quite dirty and in a somewhat run down state. The kitchen was poorly equipped, only the very basic items were available. The general location of the apartment was good, although we felt considerably bothered by the noise from a busy street a hundred meters underneath the apartment complex. However, the common area around the swimming pool was maintained, clean, and nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinencourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have been back from our trip to italy for more than ten days and the bitter experience of our short visit to this place is still with us.
The self catering apartment we were put in was poorly furnished, very run down, uncomfortable and we disliked the place from the get go. The site overall is tired and ill maintained. being on a steep slope (overlooking a busy road that is noisy noon and night), almost every staircase has dangerous steps missing or cracked. The pool deck is slipping down the hill, the staff seem to retreat into the central house and never seem to interact with the guests despite their claims on the website to be very family oriented. We were booked for a week and left within 48 hours of arrival. luckily, finding a excellent hotel in paestum (hotel Villarita) which we stayed in for the rest of out time in italy for less than the cost of parco bouganville. Dont book parco bouganville......stay safe

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellabate hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Il Colleverde
Hotel Ristorante Il Colleverde
#14 of 25 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Posidonia Santa Maria di Castellabate
B&B Posidonia Santa Maria di Cas...
#4 of 25 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Parco Bouganville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Parco Bouganville

Property: Residence Parco Bouganville
Address: Via Lamia s/n, 84048, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Parco Bouganville is located above Santa Maria di Castellabate, about 900 meters from the seaside, with a panoramic view of the sea. All apartments include a large living room with kitchenette and satellite TV, one or two bedrooms, a bathroom with shower and a large terrace or garden overlooking the sea. In addition, the residence offers a large swimming pool (16*7 meters), Internet access, automatic gate opener, parking within the complex, a common picnic area and a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence Parco Bouganville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing