We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable classics in a great spot”
Review of Divino

Divino
Ranked #27 of 119 Restaurants in Castellabate
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reliable classics in a great spot”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was one of the few places open when we visited Castellabate, but we enjoyed it every time.

When we travel we don't usually eat at the same place more than once if we can avoid it but it was a quiet time of year for the town and so it was one of the few available options within walking distance form the hotel.

The food was the kind of simple Italian fare that you can't really argue with. We worked our way through a good chunk of their pasta dishes and while some were better than others, they were all satisfying. My wife's vegetarian and there were a range of options for her as well, which isn't always the case in Italy.

Staff were great -friendly and extremely patient with our non-existant Italian. The owner is a character as well - speaks a bunch of different languages and knows how to pick a bottle of wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    65
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very long, very noisy and slow”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Located on a very nice plaza, the restaurant is very nice. But the service is too long (more than two hours), the quality of food is poor and it is very Noisy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ii I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent taste and location”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stumbled up on this restaurant wandering through the small alleys of Castellabate... Nice people, great tasting risotto and fish antipasti. A place to visit again if we have the time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koppd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Apparently the opinions about il Divino are quite divided. Contrary to the the negative evaluations, we can only report positively about our experience at this restaurant. In fact, we liked the food and the atmosphere so much that we ate here three times in a row.

We found the said handwritten menu to be the best option. There are two types of set menus, Mare and Terra. We opted for the Mare = fish menus which offered a selection of primi and secondi (we skipped the antipasto). The owner of the restaurant explained the daily selection of fresh fish and we chose our favourite "item" directly oursleves.
Noteworthy among the primi are the Risotto Punta Tresino (with zucchini, shrimps and lemon) and the fish-filled ravioli with a more than tasty sugo.
As for the secondi - both the fish (ricciola, orata) and the fritto misto were impeccably fresh and prepared very well.
The restaurant offers a stunning selection of wine. We opted, however, for the house wine as we suspected that as an expert in wine, the owner would choose his vino da tavola wisely - a very good decision this was, our white wine went perfectly with our sea dishes.
On Saturday night, there was a lovely selection of desserts available and we could not resist the temptation. A must: the ricotta and pear tartlet.

Contrary to what others noted, service was impeccable and entertaining (the owner and the waiter both saw to that) and the food arrived promptly. As it was a cold off-season weekend however, the restaurant was cold and we had to dress really warm (and drink limoncello or grappa after dinner to stay warm!). The tables were laid nicely (tablecloth) and the dishes were served on pretty handpainted plates.

As regards the prices, the restaurant is probably a bit on the pricey side for local conditions, but we still found the bill adequate.

All in all, we were very happy to eat and spend our evenings here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoulouRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Divino... Not really so divine.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The only great thing about this place is its location in the midle of a medioeval town....Food wise, with the exception of the pasta which was great, we were not impressed. My wife asked for scallops au gratin and received a portion of scallops with mashrooms, my strarter zucchini flower staffed with cheese were average and tasteleess. The service was shocking!!! It took them 45mins to serve the starters, 40mins hr to serve the main and 30mins to serve the desert.Not worth it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Divino also viewed

Castellabate, Province of Salerno
Castellabate, Province of Salerno
 
Castellabate, Province of Salerno
Castellabate, Province of Salerno
 

Been to Divino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing