We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage Castellabate
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Castellabate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

As a solo traveller I usually get the broom cupboard over the kitchen, not so at the Hermitage. Due to an accident I was walking with difficulty when I arrived - without being asked they immediately changed my room so I did not have to use stairs. The room I was given was a double with magnificent views over the bay. I cannot praise the staff highly enough, I left feeling that I had been staying with dear friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fantant00sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just returned from our 6th stay here; wonderful location, staff so helpful and friendly - all very laid back and indulgent. Rooms do vary in size and location, but all are spotlessly clean and have views out over the vilage to the sea. Air conditioning was more important than a huge room! Meals are superb; breakfast is a little basic, but then for most Italians breakfast is a coffee and a pastry. You can have cooked food if you wish. Only criticism is that better watch needs to be kept on things running out on the buffet. Dinner is fabulous, a limited choice but only so that the chef can offer the best local produce. Quality is fabulous and eating out on the terrace is wonderful. The pool area is gorgeous, airy and relaxing. best thing is to hire a car and get around the area a little; loads of lovely villages, places by the sea, bars etc. to sit and watch the world go by. Staff will do everything to help you enjoy your stay. Overall, relaxing, comfortable, great food and lovely people. Just wish we could come more often.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We have just returned from this place - it is august and is a peak season.
Should agree with all other reviews - nice sides of the place:
a) the view and location are magnificent
b) the staff is extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating

The quality of rooms varies a lot. The best vista rooms are located in a small house close to the swimming pool and have great terraces and balconies. The rooms are cleaned every day, but do not look beneath your beds and do not rub the floor in the bathroom (the rug will be black). In two rooms we stayed, the canalisation did not work properly ( i do not want to describe - what happened :-)). Using plastic cups in the rooms, on the beach and practically everywhere seems to be a national sport. Hence, you will find the traces of the 21st century civilisation on the roads, in the sea, in the beatiful Hermitage garden.
The breakfast offering is horrible, there was no variety in 7 days - one type of cheese and ham, nothing that could deserve to be named 'yoghurt'.
The dinner was not served outside, since there were too many guests, the dining room is old fashioned and with little light. The food was rustical, huge portions of pasta, antipastis were mainly white bread with something. The main courses were mainly fine. Fresh salads could be ordered separately (in 7 days there were no salads in the menu - in the mid of the summer). Offering a salad buffet is actually not difficult. The wine list is great, should try red solopaca wine from the area !
The swimming pool is 'contaminated' with chlorine, staying longer there could cause damage to your lungs. The so called private beach area was packed with non Hermitage quests. U had to 'fight' for umbrella and chairs, the guy that assigns chairs and umbrella would give the best places to cash paying guests. The Hotel rents out the umbrellas to non guests, so as a Hermitage customer you have no free choice to seat
where you want - Eduardo assigns you a corner with a plastic garbage view.
At the peak season it was noisy in this place, lot of kids, but no area to play. Also football ground was busy until midnight.
Location: the trip to Napoli for 120 kms - 2 hours (in the car !). There is boat going to Napoli/Capri/Salerno. San Marco itself is a boring village, Castellabate on the top is worth one or two visits ( we went up from the hotel)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngkorGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Really relaxing hotel with no hidden added extras for sun loungers etc. which we've had before in other Italian hotels. Great food. Charming staff - who couldn't be more helpful. Beautiful location - I hadn't realised this was fantastic walking territory which I enjoyed even in August. Great to have the minibus to Santa Maria and the beach. Teenagers loved the tennis court and the idiosyncratic minigolf course...!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burglarbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Throughout our stay the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, helping to arrange excursions and providing good service. The hotel pool was a lovely place to relax. We dined at the hotel on several occasions; there was a good choice of various courses and a wine list offering good value.
The view from our room was fantastic overlooking the bay and across the gulf to Amalfi (on a clear day!). The room was a reasonable size with a nice decor.
The resort was quiet, as we expected, with a limited but nice choice of bars and places to eat. Prices generally were cheap, compared with other resorts that we have visited in Italy. There are some interesting walks in the Cilento National Park and the hotel arranged an excursion with Masaniello Tours which was excellent.
Overall the holiday experience was memorable, everyone was very friendly and the hotel was a great place to stay. We shall no doubt return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in September and had a great stay.

The Hotel
The hotel is so peaceful, you can't help but relax and soak up the sunshine. It's a beautiful looking hotel and commands superb views. Our room was very nice, not luxurious but comfortable with stunning views. The balcony was small but with just about enough space for the two of us. We were on the top floor at the front of the hotel. The bathroom was well equipt but the shower was a bit poky.

The pool is wonderful - plenty of sun loungers and deck chairs, lovely views and very quiet. Some days we were the only ones there, probably because it was towards the end of the season. You can take short walks around the hotel gardens. We went to the beach a few times using the free mini bus laid on. It's pretty regular and takes you door-to-door. The beach was lovely - golden sand, very peaceful, plenty of free sun loungers (within the hotel's private area). We went for a few walks along the beach and enjoyed lunch on the beach in the cafe restaurants.

The hotel staff were so lovely and extremely helpful. They helped us so much with finding details of buses, walks, restaurants and booking trips for us. They are lovely, friendly people and couldn't do enough for us.

Breakfast is on the terrace if the weather is good enough. There is a pretty good selection. We had dinner in the hotel on a couple of occasions and the food was excellent with 4 courses. I think it cost about £30 a head. In the summer dinner is servied on the terrace with lovely views, in September we ate in the indoor restaurant which wasn't as special as you couldn't see the views.

The Area
I've travelled to Italy a lot and wasn't sure what to expect of Cilento as it's less developed. However, be re-assured it's a lovely area and a bit quieter but with plenty to see and do. We travelled to Paestum one day (about 1 hour 30 minutes on the local bus - very easy). Paestum is fascinating. We hired a boat with Giovanni for half day and had a lovely trip around the coast with stops for swimming. We walked from the hotel along the coast path via Punta Licosa to Ogliastro which was a lovely walk. It's about 8 miles and I will never forget the smell of pine trees. It's fairly easy to do (there's a road that's marked private but you need to walk along it, which we did without any problem), there are a few areas that are a bit rugged so you need to wear trainers. Ogliastro is pretty with a few restaurants - we had lunch and a swim there and caught the bus back to the hotel.

San Marco di Castellabate is a 10/15 minute walk away. It's a small town with a marina and has a few restaurants. As it was the end of the season there weren't many open. We tried a couple and enjoyed them both. Stella Marina (on the little road leading to the harbour) is an indoor restaurant with lovely, reasonably priced food. KBar (in the piazza) has a pretty outdoor terrace and the food is good but a little more expensive. There's a nice bar by the marina for evening drinks whilst watching the sun set.

We visited Santa Maria di Castellabate a few times - in the day and in the evening for dinner. There's plenty of shops to look around. The hotel mini bus drops you off and picks you up during the day. In the evenings we took the last mini bus there and Antonio (htoel's minibus driver) collected us for 10 Euros. There's plenty of good restaurants and bars to enjoy.

We visited Castellabate (the town on the hill) a couple of times. It's really pretty with stunning views. We caught the local bus which was really easy. On our last night we booked the ape (3 wheel truck) to get there, which was great fun and had dinner at Ristorante Cantina Belvedere. Lovely food, the best views and friendly staff.

If you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a quiet area with a few days sight seeing, then you've found the right place and the right hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archiesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Myself and my husband held our wedding in hotel hermitage in august this year and we were extremely impressed with it. The location of the hotel is perfect, in a quiet area with outstanding views of the sea and cilento national park. The hotel has plenty of amenities...football pitches, crazy golf, large swimming pool and childs pool with slide. Most of our wedding guests stayed in the hotel and were equally impressed.
The food served in the hotel was of top quality, so much so that many of the guests changed to full board after sampling their first meal. The staff were extremely friendly and did everything they could to make ourselves and other guests happy.
The wedding day itself was fantastic, it was organised by 'Amore Weddings' in Ireland who did a fantastic job. We could not be more grateful to them or the hermitage for giving us such a superb time.
We will most definately return to this hotel, as will many of our guests. It is a perfect location for couples or family holiday as well as the perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hefley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellabate hotels
0.5 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
482 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#8 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
242 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage Castellabate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Castellabate

Address: Via Catarozza | San Marco di Castellabate, 84071, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellabate
#3 Family Hotel in Castellabate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castellabate
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castellabate
Price Range: £92 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hermitage Castellabate 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Castellabate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Salerno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing