We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place at the sea side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Il Castello
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Castellabate
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite place at the sea side”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have been living in Italy for 10 years and we are spoilt for choice. And yet every year we try to come to Franca's place. So far we have not found in other place in Italy where you feel like at your old friends's home, eating home made food that you have asked to cook for you, enjoying the garden, the views, Franca's company, the peace and calm of this lovely, old fashioned hotel perched over the sea. And it is very good value for many, Frnca's dinners without any menu, that depend on the choice at the local market are memorable!
On the top, if you like hiking or interested in culture there are lots of things to see and do besides the beautiful beaches and the blue, unpoluted sea of San Marco and Santa Maria Castellabate!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace otherwise you can always use the communal terrace or just enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubois022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    26
    8
    0
    6
See reviews for
20
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This review is about our dinner experience in July 2011. We did not stay at the hotel but ate dinner there after we read other reviews. Franca, the owner, made us feel like family by inviting us to sit in her beautiful garden and enjoy Prosecco while we waited for dinner. The garden setting is wonderful and we ate dinner under a canopy of trees with other guests. There must have been at least six or seven courses, each almost a meal by themselves and all delicious. Just when we thought the meal was over another round of seafood or pasta was served. The food was certainly the best we had on our trip through Cilento and the overall experience made it truly a memorable feast. You must visit Franca and experience her hospitality and excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nornol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our stay at Castellabates Albergo Il Castello was a wonderful experience, first of all due to the openminded and helpful way of being of Franca, who runs her relatively small hotel in a professional and still familiar way. The rooms have space, balconies with great ocean- and mountain view - and local groceries for both breakfast and dinner has been carefully chosen and prepared, so that the guests of this small hotel gets a unique opportuny of not only viewing and feeling, but also tasting the best of South Italy. My absolute warmest recommendation for this hotel and its owner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFreiheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We did not stay at the hotel, but we did eat at the restaurant. It was highly recommended by the owners of the house we stayed. What a wonderful meal it was. Everything was fresh - seafood bought that day from the boats. We had about 6 different courses - appetizers, vegetables, pasta, seafood, dessert - the food just kept coming out. The hotel is located in the old part of the city, and the restaurant is located in the garden of the hotel. Franca is a wonderful hostess. You cannot go wrong having dinner here. I

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I only spent one night at the Albergo but it was the most memorable of our week long stay in southern Italy. The room was basic but spacious with a beautiful view from the balcony. We felt like we were staying with friends (even one of the cats slept with us).
The dinner in the garden was amazing and not like any of the restaurant meals we were used to. We were entertained by two musicians and served at least 4 courses (I lost track) of delicious local seafood and more. I wold go back and next time use this as a base to explore more of the area. As a bonus we got to see the filming of an Italian movie in the litttle town of Casttellbate during our visit. Franca was so nice and we can't thank her enough for her hospitalitiy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllymayVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at Albergo Il Castello for a week in July. While admittedly, seeing that this was supposed to be my honeymoon, I was initially quite upset at how basic the rooms were. Kinder folk might call it vintage (as my husband did), but I’d say more big white walls with the occasional piece that was added 30 years ago and not touched since, plus bathrooms in desperate need of modernisation. However, when you take into account the sheer quality of service offered by Franca and her staff, the room decor really doesn't matter. Also, our room had a large balcony with a spectacular view overlooking the hills, so it wasn't all bad.
Another plus ... the food! On our first night we decided to eat dinner at the hotel. Although we were the only ones eating in at the time, Franca and team had prepared something like seven courses (mostly seafood, all amazing). She even gave us a bottle of Prosecco and placed a bouquet of flowers on the table. All for 30 euros a head! Coincidentally, a pianist friend of Franca’s happened to be visiting and, honestly, sitting there with the food, drink, piano ... it was a truly wonderful evening. Breakfast was another treat. In addition to the biggest bowl of fruit you’ve ever seen, there was always a selection of hams, cheeses, cakes, juices, plus muesli and yogurt ... oh yes, and then a lady in the kitchen would come by offering tea/coffee plus a croissant or some other large breaded food.
The high standard of service extended elsewhere. One morning, Franca kindly agreed to drive us to the port as we wanted to take a boat to one of the local islands, however, the sea was too rocky for sailing, so Franca volunteered to take us to the train station to see if we could do a day trip via rail. Here, again, the gods were conspiring against us so we all piled into the car again and Franca drove us to a local archaeological site. Needless to say, Franca didn’t have to the spend the best part of an hour and a half being our personal driver, and when the hotel bill came she didn’t even charge us for petrol. Whatever the occasion, Franca was there with a smile and a buongiorno! to help us with whatever query we had. We always felt welcome, and there was a lovely family atmosphere about the place.
As with earlier reviews, if you’re looking for luxury accommodation then look elsewhere, but if you like a relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and DELICIOUS food then this is the place to be.
A couple of tips though...the water heater is in the garden so you need to keep the shower running for several minutes before you get hot water... unfortunately, I didn’t discover this until the fifth morning. Also, our room didn't have a safe and our door didn’t lock properly so we had to lock everything away in our suitcases. No biggie though.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockmaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We are just home from our holiday with Franca at her charming, welcoming B&B in the enchanting mediaevel town of Castellabate.

Although we stayed 8 days, we did not want to leave. We loved stepping out on to the terrace in the morning to be greeted by a vivid blue sky and the most wonderful panorama following the hills round to the sea. Breakfast was an Italian feast which included succulent melon, figs,croissants, home-made cakes, cold meats, and unforgettable creamy buffalo mozzarella with delicious freshly made coffee.

Franca and her staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Maps and guide books (and a surf board!) were offered by Franca to enhance the experience of our trips. Typically, when we mentioned we wanted to walk in the Parco Nazionale she produced a guide book detailing routes from which we choose one leading up to nearby Monte Stella with spectacular views from the top.

A 10 minute drive takes you to Santa Maria beach which is sandy with clear sea and you can find brightly-coloured fish by swimming across to the rocks. The Greek ruins at Paestum are a 30 minutes drive and it took about an hour and a half to reach Pompeii and Vesuvius.

Italy as it should be experienced. One day we will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellabate hotels
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Castello

Property: Albergo Il Castello
Address: Via Amendola 1 | Parco del Cilento, 84048, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castellabate
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here in the heart of Castellabate (south Italy, Cilento National Park, ) you will find our 17th century family run hotel offering peace, tranquillity and delightful views.We have 12 rooms which are simply furnished in period style with white cotton curtains and original majolica tiles, giving a cool, light and airy feel. Some have generously sized terraces and some have balconies.In the morning you can take breakfast on the bougainvillea covered terraces overlooking the valley and in the evening you can choose from a good selection of restaurants offering quality fresh, local food (or, if you prefer, we can cook to order for you). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Il Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Castello Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing