We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lovely memorable place, people and food"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castellabate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albergo Il Castello
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Castellabate
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"lovely memorable place, people and food"”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A unique and special hotel in a very lovely old city and beautiful views.Franca and brother Enzo and staff were very friendly and helpful (and lovely little cat Bepe would creep into your room whenever he could) Steve watched the Euro's with Enzo and a beer in their sitting room most nights. In all the years of holidaying in Italy we have never had such a fantastic, huge, breakfast. Choice was wonderful with a surprise hot option each am - crepes, omelette, tomato dishes.... Franca's food is wonderful - her vongole pasta and her cakes are to die for......! There is no pool but a roof terrace with a shower. Rooms are basic but adequate - we had a lovely terrace. No air con but ceiling fans in rooms. Definately going back when in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but clean and adequate. We were there in mid June which was unseasonably very hot 38...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
20
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Albergo di Castello is a special hotel for spesial people. Do you like a friendly atmosphere in a castello-like hotel? Then this is the right place for you. The hotel offers a panoramic view over a lovely valley, with the blue mediterranian sea far out. The dinner is of such a delight that I merely dare to try and describe it. But I can assure you that it is something very special. The hostess, Signora Franca, sees to it that you are very well looked after. Besides, it is situated just a few minutes drive from the sea. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel is very traditional but represents excellent value. The owner Franca is very welcoming but even she isn't as friendly as her wonderful black cat, Bepe. He seemed to think we had booked a room for three and would have taken up residence with us given half a chance.
The room we had was basic but very comfortable. We have one regret - we didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel. Otherwise, for a stay in a charming hill town within walking distance of the sea, (albeit a 50 minute walk) this is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have been living in Italy for 10 years and we are spoilt for choice. And yet every year we try to come to Franca's place. So far we have not found in other place in Italy where you feel like at your old friends's home, eating home made food that you have asked to cook for you, enjoying the garden, the views, Franca's company, the peace and calm of this lovely, old fashioned hotel perched over the sea. And it is very good value for many, Frnca's dinners without any menu, that depend on the choice at the local market are memorable!
On the top, if you like hiking or interested in culture there are lots of things to see and do besides the beautiful beaches and the blue, unpoluted sea of San Marco and Santa Maria Castellabate!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace otherwise you can always use the communal terrace or just enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubois022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This review is about our dinner experience in July 2011. We did not stay at the hotel but ate dinner there after we read other reviews. Franca, the owner, made us feel like family by inviting us to sit in her beautiful garden and enjoy Prosecco while we waited for dinner. The garden setting is wonderful and we ate dinner under a canopy of trees with other guests. There must have been at least six or seven courses, each almost a meal by themselves and all delicious. Just when we thought the meal was over another round of seafood or pasta was served. The food was certainly the best we had on our trip through Cilento and the overall experience made it truly a memorable feast. You must visit Franca and experience her hospitality and excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nornol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our stay at Castellabates Albergo Il Castello was a wonderful experience, first of all due to the openminded and helpful way of being of Franca, who runs her relatively small hotel in a professional and still familiar way. The rooms have space, balconies with great ocean- and mountain view - and local groceries for both breakfast and dinner has been carefully chosen and prepared, so that the guests of this small hotel gets a unique opportuny of not only viewing and feeling, but also tasting the best of South Italy. My absolute warmest recommendation for this hotel and its owner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFreiheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We did not stay at the hotel, but we did eat at the restaurant. It was highly recommended by the owners of the house we stayed. What a wonderful meal it was. Everything was fresh - seafood bought that day from the boats. We had about 6 different courses - appetizers, vegetables, pasta, seafood, dessert - the food just kept coming out. The hotel is located in the old part of the city, and the restaurant is located in the garden of the hotel. Franca is a wonderful hostess. You cannot go wrong having dinner here. I

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellabate hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Castello

Property: Albergo Il Castello
Address: Via Amendola 1 | Parco del Cilento, 84048, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castellabate
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here in the heart of Castellabate (south Italy, Cilento National Park, ) you will find our 17th century family run hotel offering peace, tranquillity and delightful views.We have 12 rooms which are simply furnished in period style with white cotton curtains and original majolica tiles, giving a cool, light and airy feel. Some have generously sized terraces and some have balconies.In the morning you can take breakfast on the bougainvillea covered terraces overlooking the valley and in the evening you can choose from a good selection of restaurants offering quality fresh, local food (or, if you prefer, we can cook to order for you). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Castello Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing