We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sent my parents to this hotel as a present. I chose it based on the reviews I found online, but I was very disappointing when they came back and told me that its in the middle of nowhere, the area is a damping ground, filthy is the best word to describe it. Even the hotel was not as good as described- gardeners cutting the grass very early in the morning, breakfast buffet not refilled during the morning, so if you would want something more then cheese and coffee you need to be there when they open probably, last day fresh fruits were not even served.
Just a suggestion, check Google maps before you book, look around the hotel.

Room Tip: When its says 'partial sea view' what they mean is yes, you can see the sea in a corner, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Throughout my visit to La Medusa Grand Hotel I kept wondering how it was possible to maintain, and to such a high standard, a resort like this in the squalid region in which it is situated. Once you enter the gates, you are in the 18th century world of palatial villas, manicured arbors and gardens, impeccable tranquility, attentive servants and peaceful, idyllic pastimes. The terraces, the lemon groves with fountains, the large and splendid pool, the structured plantings all beguile the visitor.

Our room, with sea view and balcony faced out at Vesuvius and a commanding view of the Bay of Naples. The room was ample, bed linens were of high quality, the bath was spacious, palatial even, with loads of storage space and big, thick, plentiful towels. This is top-tier hotel stuff and I am frankly puzzled by the numerous reviewers who felt put off somehow by noise (there wasn't any at night), the "barking dog" (we did hear a rooster...once), and various other complaints. It was hard to fault the surroundings, the cleanliness (especially in a town as committedly filthy as Castellamare) and the general helpfulness and good attitude of the staff.

One felt, lazing within the compound, like one of the Bourbon Kings of Naples, fenced off from the teeming mass of Neapolitan humanity outside the palace gates. The La Medusa Grand Hotel is situated on a ridge which, in antiquity, was built up with enormous private villas of the rich and famous all of which were obliterated when Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD, and one assumes similar lavish antique villas are buried under this property. Like the wealthy imperial era Romans who built these pleasure palaces to amuse themselves in the cool and lovely surroundings overlooking the Bay of Naples, so were we enchanted by the peace, solitude, tranquility and luxury of this well-run auberge.

The drawback, if it is one, is that as a guest one is effectively confined to the grounds of the property, not because you are not allowed to leave but because the surrounding area is entirely without any charm whatsoever, and driving in the area is a nightmare, even by Italian standards. So it's a bit like a Club Med in a not-so-good locale: you want to stay inside the gates trading beads for drinks if you're smart. We came to see the neighboring excavations and so found the location all we could ask insofar as that went, but any venture into the town was, to put it mildly, uncomfortable and uninviting. That said, if what you want is to sit by the pool, have drinks brought to you, relax on your balcony without a care in the world, this is a fine spot to do it in.

The restaurant is very good of the "appeals to foodies" style. Dishes are sometimes traditional, but more often involve fusion, sprinkles (you know, plates dusted in the blank areas, odd mixtures, and so on) and there is nothing to complain about in this area except the often chaotic service we encountered. A recitation of the minor issues that came up would detract from my overall appreciation of the place. So what if your "captain" (do they call them capos?) asks if you want wine without having brought a wine list, then when asked for it departs for ten minutes never again to return? On the whole you'll be served decent food if you eat on site and in a lovely terraced area with indoor and outdoor dining.

This place offers excellent value for the relatively modest room rate. I got the impression (no idea how) from their website and reviews here that it might be a little down-at-the-heels but we needed a place in Castellamare so overlooked this in making our selection. It is not at all true, everything is very well kept and we were impressed with the constant effort being made to maintain the impeccable plantings, grounds and public areas. I swore an oath never to set foot in Castellamare again, but if I ever had to visit this infernal location, I'd book the La Medusa Grand Hotel in a heartbeat..

Room Tip: High floor, face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Buybeach,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.

We are so happy to realize through your words that you had a great stay among us and you did appreciate the service provided by the staff.

We feel rewarded getting aware of your satisfaction: thank you for having shared your opinion with other users. We hope to welcome you back in order to spend another great time together!


Best wishes!

Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wanted to stay out of downtown Napoli. Not much of interest in the immediate area (we used it as a base to explore Pompeii). Exquisite property, very helpful and friendly reception. Nice local restaurant a few minutes, by foot, from the hotel (ask at reception). That and the hotel restaurant are the only places we ate, since driving in the area after dark and after dinner could spoil one's appetite.

The shower head was broken, but functional. Everything else was perfect. Large room, great facilities, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LTKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mr. LTKTravel

Thank you very much for having posted your rewarding feedback and for having recommended staying at La Medusa Grand Hotel to other discerning travelers; we are grateful to you.

We are delighted to read that the friendly and helpful attitude of our team members made you feel welcome! They will surely be encouraged by your remarks about the service quality.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel La Medusa in the soonest future!

Best regards,
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I agree that this is one of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time and we visit plenty of hotels. I am not one to leave feedback but the La Medusa Grand Hotel deserves a mention as the staff and the premises (especially the gardens, the web site just doesn't do it justice) really exceeded our expectations. Very clean and so much attention to detail was made which goes a long way. Not a bad location as it had all the views and when we arrived they had upgraded our room without a mention to give us the superb views of Vesuvius the bay and the other surrounding mountains. You may think this hotel is out of the way but for our trip which included Pompeii, ruins and the crater, Sorrento and a trip to Capri the location was great. We arrived at Naples and took a taxi for 80 Euros to the hotel (40 mins ) the following day we got the free shuttle from the hotel to the train station(5mins), 1.80 euros for a 10 min trip to ruins with the station right outside the main gate to the attractions, we went for the 2 hour tour guide for 12 euros then paid the 11 euros main gate fee, worth every penny as we then stayed there all day, ( we came back two days later and went for the visit to the crater on the bus outside all for 22 each again very good trip and a must do). Last to mention was the trip to Capri organised with the hotel at 95 each again I would recommend this as a must. A great boat trip with great organisers. We'll done to you all and thank for a trip we will truly remember and can not wait to return.

Room Tip: Just ask for a rear room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mark,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.

We are so happy to realize through your words that you had a great stay among us and you did appreciate the service provided by the staff.

We feel rewarded getting aware of your satisfaction: thank you for having shared your opinion with other users. We hope to welcome you back in order to spend another great time together!


Best wishes!

Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the grandure of the hotel when we arrived. We received a wonderful welcome at reception and we're immediately given an upgrade to a superior suite. The grounds were fantastic with a beautiful smell of lemon from the trees and the relaxing atmosphere with the numerous areas to soak up the sun and glorious view of Vesuvius. Great pool and surrounding sun loungers. Staff were very accommodating and restraunt was fantastic, best food ever. We will definitely recommend to friends and family and hope to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with large balcony facing Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Ylavie,

We thank for your pointing out many of our assets here at Grand Hotel La Medusa. The central yet quiet location is one of them but the one we are the most proud of is our high standard of services.

Service wise we try our utmost to indulge all of our guests as we have a passion for them.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

La Medusa Grand Hotel is a gem. From the moment I entered the driveway I could tell that this was a special property. The grounds were spectacular and the rooms were immaculate and tastefully furnished. Great bar and lounge on the main floor.The chef's cuisine and the wine list was excellent and Antonio's dining room staff and their attention to detail was first class but not uptight or stuffy. This is a hotel that has been restored to a level of excellence from a by-gone era by owners that clearly love their property. Probably one of the top three boutique hotels in Campania, and the only place for me henceforth. I don' think that you could do better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mr. Dean,

We are extremely thankful to you for pointing your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa out as a perfect one! This means a lot to the whole Staff that work every day very hard to reach the goal of the guests' satisfaction.It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We will share your nice comments with the Restaurant Staff and we all look forward to welcoming you in the very next future.

Best regards
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel through secret escapes after reviewing on trip advisor. Getting to the hotel from Naples airport was easy, you can either get a bus to the train station then a train direct or you can get a bus direct. The only drawback is the location itself. The hotel,provided shuttle four times a day, any bother times they charged you ten euros or getting a cab cost the same, so unless you want to walk you would have to call the hotel to get them to call a taxi once you are get off the train. This didn't bother us too much as the hotel went out of their way to help you. Trains are cheap and regular, a return to sorrento was less than 7 euros return for two people! The island of Capri can be reached by boat from sorrento also. The hotel itself is beautiful. All the floors are tiled and there are two pianos situated within some of the rooms which are obviously hired for weddings (what a lovely place to get married!,). There are reed diffusers all over the place letting off lovely fragrances which I loved! We got an upgrade to a sea view room which had a balcony and had views of mount Vesuvius which was a welcome upgrade. The hotel didn't seem that busy as it wasn't peak season so it wasn't too busy at breakfast times. The hotel restaurant is well worth a visit, we had two lovely meals there, three courses for 40 euro. The menu is changed daily and the good really was good, highly recommended. The other days we tended to go out later in the day by train, take a change of clothes and eat wherever we went, like Sorrento and Capri, as there wasn't much choice in the hotel town itself. I must express our thanks to all the staff, especially Antonio in the restaurant who was very welcoming and Salvadore and Gianluca (not sure if I have spelt that right, so apologies!) who worked the bar and made the best cocktails! Thank you. The pool area was lovely and quiet during the time we used it. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 107 and 108, although they have a balcony, they are close to the lift and stairs and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Jackl,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.

We are so happy to realize through your words that you had a great stay among us and you did appreciate the service provided by the staff.

We feel rewarded getting aware of your satisfaction: thank you for having shared your opinion with other users. We hope to welcome you back in order to spend another great time together!

We will share your compliments with Antonio, Salvatore and Luciano

Best wishes!

Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellammare Di Stabia
2.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
1,413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Manfredi
Relais Manfredi
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
99 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Elisabetta
Hotel Elisabetta
#6 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range: £76 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siecle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... Where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in Liberty Style divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside Fitness Corner represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the Pool Bar for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... Will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing