We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True diamond in the rough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The weather was fantastic but even if it wasn't it wouldn't of mattered this is a fantastic operation. Service,food,pool,surroundings impeccable!
We are not easy to give good reviews this one however is difficult to describe because it is perfect in every way!
From the check in staff to the housemaid, all are trained in the fine way of performing service. Invisible until they are needed and they anticipate your needs.
Low marks for location are given because it is difficult to find. Other establishments like restaurants and other hotels are not of the same caliber in the area, as well.
So this is a true diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete9225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Pete9225,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.

We are so happy to realize through your words that you had a great stay among us and you did appreciate the service provided by the staff.

We feel rewarded getting aware of your satisfaction: thank you for having shared your opinion with other users. We hope to welcome you back in order to spend another great time together!


Best wishes!
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic hotel, lovely grounds. The restuarant is fantastic and the staff were lovely. Its the best hotel close to Pompeii and a bit of an oasis.
Only small niggle was you cant have an iron in the room due to health and safety - bit odd.
Otherwise brilliant.
We were upgraded to a room with a balcony. Amazing view and able to listen to the live music from the room. Was not loud enough to disturb and was only early evening. Lovely

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caro6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Caro6161,

Thank you once again for having shared your personal experience with the readers of this site.

We look forward to your next visit to Sorrento Coast for other exceptional moments to savor.

Best regards,
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at La Medusa Gran Hotel during our trip to Italy in May and it was a very nice experience. The hotel is conveniently located at about 15 minute drive from Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius, and about 25 minutes from Sorrento.

The hotel is so beautiful, they provide great ambiance if you plan on staying in the premises with amazing gardens, nice swimming pool and a high quality restaurant. The room was quite nice, not huge, but it was not small either. Nicely decorated and you could reach the rooms by elevator, which at times in Europe can be a challenge.

As it is a hotel not right in the middle of the action (Sorrento/Positano), you can save a little money for other things. The restaurant offers high quality food, but as everything good it comes with a price on it. We spend a good 55 euros for a fixed menu at dinner time, but the food was really good, so no complaint there.

It would be worth to have a GPS with you to move around Napoli, although it is not complicated to locate the hotel, it can get tricky if you don't have enough information to move around the area.

If you're planning on driving around and don't mind the traffic, this hotel is a great choice and value added for the money you pay for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Marco,

We are extremely thankful to you for pointing your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa out as a perfect one! This means a lot to the whole Staff that work every day very hard to reach the goal of the guests' satisfaction.It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We will share your nice comments with the Staff and we all look forward to welcoming you in the very next future.

Best regards
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Fantastic grounds and pool. Very well run with all staff without exception prepared do anything to help and make your stay really enjoyable . The reception staff will help with advice and print tourist guides train timetables etc . The restaurant staff and bar staff are superb especially Maria in the restaurant who makes it her duty to learn the names of all the guests . Food is very good with the set meal being a good option . The weddings don't interfere and are regular events . The location is good as the hotel is virtually in between Sorrento and Pompeii and the train station, which takes you everywhere is a 5 minute drive in a free shuttle bus provided by hotel 3-4 times a day . Couple of local restaurants nearby but not much else .
Tip ... A bus from the airport which goes from outside departures (not arrivals ) bound for Sorrento takes you to the town near to where the hotel is(Castellammare Di Stabia which I think is the first stop ignoring various airport stops) and then a 10 euro taxi will take you to the hotel . Most taxis charge 100 euros from airport to hotel but we managed to find one to take us back to the airport for 60 euros but this wasn't the norm. The bus is a much cheaper option but they are only every three hours or so . Other tip - visit the Roman Villa near the hotel (short walk) Villa san Marco or something like that ... well worth a look .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BedforshireAndrewJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Bedforshi,

Thanks a lot for having spent your holidays at the Grand Hotel La Medusa and we’re so happy you had such a great time here.

It’s a pleasure you thoroughly enjoyed your room and all the facilities we offer and it’s very nice you also noticed the very beautiful tiles on the floor and in general the traditional and distinguished style that characterizes not only the rooms but the whole hotel.

Many Thanks
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Don't know where to start, La Medusa is the most wonderful place! The hotel with its beautiful furniture, the amazing garden with the large (and clean) pool.... but mostly it is the wonderful ,kind, caring and always smiling people who work there and make Medusa so special. We stayed there for 4 weeks while our boat was getting ready for the season and it felt like family. We had a lovely, clean room with a few to Vesuvius and the sea. I can't mention all the names, just wanting to say another big Thank You to everyone, can't wait to see you again in Octobre. I quickly like to say something about Castellommare, which is getting such bad reviews. Because we stayed there for so long, we started to know the town with its people very well and i agree it is not Sorrento or Amalfi, but the people are very nice, very helpful and we always felt safe, thank you!

Room Tip: We liked room no. 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Claudia,

Thank you very much for the positive review on the Grand Hotel La Medusa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel La Medusa

Best regards,
Mariano Imperato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited this hotel as we were planning on visiting the two archaeological sites at Stabiae (one is 500m in one direction, the other 200m the opposite way). We only stopped at the hotel to ask for directions and were helped by a lovely maitre d' / GM. We then drove off to find somewhere to eat but this is a pretty grim area with everything closed on a Sunday lunchtime so went back to the hotel. I don't think they really normally do dining for non-guests but they were very helpful and accommodating and we had a wonderful meal in the beautiful jasmine-scented gardens. Considering how average, at best, the rest of our Naples experience was, we were very happy we stopped here to have the balance redressed. Service was smiling and helpful, the place was immaculate, stylish without being dated and in beautiful surroundings. The food was delicious (posh sandwich, lovely salad, small cake, wine, beer, chips) for a reasonable price in such surroundings and we were made to feel welcome even though we looked a bit scuzzy and they were hosting quite a grand "first communion" lunch. As we paid the bill at the hotel reception I checked out the lounge and bar areas which were delightful. I doubt very much we will ever want to return to the Naples area but if we do, this will be top of the list.

Room Tip: Sorry, I didn't stay here, I am simply giving a review for the communal areas, for service and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sent my parents to this hotel as a present. I chose it based on the reviews I found online, but I was very disappointing when they came back and told me that its in the middle of nowhere, the area is a damping ground, filthy is the best word to describe it. Even the hotel was not as good as described- gardeners cutting the grass very early in the morning, breakfast buffet not refilled during the morning, so if you would want something more then cheese and coffee you need to be there when they open probably, last day fresh fruits were not even served.
Just a suggestion, check Google maps before you book, look around the hotel.

Room Tip: When its says 'partial sea view' what they mean is yes, you can see the sea in a corner, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ana-maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellammare Di Stabia
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
1,415 reviews
7.5 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Romeo Hotel
Romeo Hotel
#16 of 185 in Naples
1,171 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Elisabetta
Hotel Elisabetta
#7 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
90 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range: £96 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siecle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... Where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in Liberty Style divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside Fitness Corner represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the Pool Bar for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... Will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing