We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Valentino Grand Village
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Castellaneta
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were the only Americans at the time of our visit, but the staff made us feel like family. Everyone of the staff was amazing and the shows and entertainment for children was great. In particular, Marina was awesome! The room was really good and we had lots of space. The hotel included full board and everyday lunch and dinner was different and tasty. We can't wait to go back to this great hotel! I highly recommend this place for your family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11jpworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uff_Marketing_NY, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Valentino Grand Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014
Google Translation

Gentile 11jpworld,

siamo molto felici che il suo soggiorno è stato piacevole e che ha potuto apprezzare i servizi offerti dall'hotel. Grazie per aver condiviso con noi la sua esperienza tra divertimento e relax
La aspettiamo presto come nostro gradito ospite e la ringraziamo per aver scelto Il Valentino Grand Village.

A presto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at Il Valentino as part of a Competition. The only thing open at this part of the resort was the rooms. All shops, restaurants, pools cafes, arcade etc were closed. We had to go to the Calane for the pool and food. It was not far but did not give us much selection. One restaurant that was very expensive and a bar outside that had hotdogs, pizza and sandwiches. The only thing that was pretty good were the hotdogs.

Breakfast was included and it was fine. The eggs were always runny and the bacon not well cooked. The pastries were good. There was some cheese and usually a few fruits. Pretty much the same thing every day.

The hotel rooms were nice and clean. However, we had to ask for deck chairs and a desk chair. We never did receive a desk chair to use our computer. We had to make two requests for pillows and an iron. We had to leave a 10 euro deposit for the iron and there was apparantly only one for the entire hotel. I believe they went out to buy some more because there were so many requests for them. Nor ironing board though. The fridge leaked and was always wet inside.

The internet access was only available in the lobby and many times not event there.

There was no way to make a phone call outside of the hotel unless you stood at the front desk and used their phone.

There was no public computer so that we could print train reservations etc. However the front desk did let us go and use their computer for that. The prices changes all the time for things. Depending on who you asked you could be told 45 for a shuttle or 75. The market store that carried water, alcohol and souveniers in the hotel would also charge you whatever they wanted. We went to buy water that was marked 6 euro and the lady pulled the price off and charged us 9. Bad customer service everywhere.

You could not use cash on the property. You had to load a card at the front desk and then use that to pay for things at the bar or store. Make sure you keep your receipts and check the balance all the time. Many people felt that there were incorrect charges being made. If you loose it, like our friends did they will not re-imburse you so only load a bit at a time.

The resort is very remote and not much to do. There is an arcade in the Valentino hotel that was open but the power turned off. When I asked if they could turn it on because there were a ton of kids there I was told "No it's off season" I said there is nothing for kids to do and there are a lot of them at this tournament. They said "there is tennis".

The pool was cool which was expected for mid October outside but the when they tried to play catch with a ball they were told no.

There were some excursion that you could go on but ask what they include. We went to Materra one day and it was great! We had a tour guide and then had a bit of time on our own. Our friends went later the same day, paid the same price and were dropped off without any direction at all. Strange.

The grounds seemed overgrown in areas as though it does not get much activity.

This was a very disappointing resort and I would not recommend it at all.

Room Tip: Ask to view the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Graziella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hollino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASSIMO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: non andateci soldi buttati
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ilbarone1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellaneta
0.2 mi away
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
#2 of 9 in Castellaneta
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calane Hotel Village
Calane Hotel Village
#5 of 9 in Castellaneta
1,033 reviews
2.2 mi away
I Turchesi Club Village
I Turchesi Club Village
#1 of 9 in Castellaneta
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Accord Le Rose
Hotel Accord Le Rose
#1 of 1 in Palagiano
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ticho's  Hotel
Ticho's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castellaneta Marina
403 reviews
8.5 mi away
Torreserena Village
Torreserena Village
#1 of 5 in Marina di Ginosa
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Valentino Grand Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Valentino Grand Village

Address: Strada Statale 106 | Castellaneta Marina, 74011, Castellaneta, Italy (Formerly Valentino Grand Village)
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Castellaneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castellaneta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Castellaneta
Price Range: £1,159 - £2,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Valentino Grand Village 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Valentino Grand Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Valentino
Il Valentino Grand Village Castellaneta, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing