We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ultimate Italian Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The romantic bedroom in Tinaia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The romantic bedroom in Tinaia
Tinaia kitchen Tinaia entrance & dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The romantic bedroom in Tinaia
Tinaia kitchen
Tinaia entrance & dining table
Tinaia dining table
view from Tinaia garden
The pool and the view
The pool at sunset
gateway to Jasmine Courtyard
our menu board
sunset from caminetto
our menu board
Tinaia bathroom
Tinaia bathroom
Tinaia stained glass
Tinaia kitchen diner area
Tinaia kitchen window
Tinaia living space
Tinaia living space
Podere Patrignone from the sky
San Gimignano from the Terracotta Terrace www.patrignone.com
Another sunset
Bloke on a moped
Our 100% organic extra virgin olive oil
lemon, pistachio & rose petal cake!
The approach to Patrignone
The pool at sunset
Villa Patrignone
The old cart
Florence at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castellina In Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KRG134
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Italian Getaway”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We felt like we had the place to ourselves, until we needed something or had a question-it was the perfect blend of solitude and camaraderie. Lola and Charlie make the place something special, and Simon, Verity and the family make it spectacular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksadle...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect taste of Tuscany”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If your'e looking for rustic, quiet, and off the beaten track, then this is for you... Podere Patrignone itself is lovely, set amongst the hills just north of Castellina in Chianti. The views are fantastic, in particular the sunsets across the terrace in the evenings, which are breathtaking.

The guys are great hosts... and they're there if you want them, and if you don't then thats fine too. If you want to socialise with others, you can, if you don't want to, then you don't have to. But do take up the offer of the set meal once a week, its fantastic, and we were always able to find plenty of space to do what we wanted to do.

La Tinaia itself comprises a living/dining area, a bedroom and bathroom to the side. It was cosy and had everything we needed... I would say, however, that if you are expecting everything to be 5* then this isn't for you, but if you want a really authentic Tuscan experience, then this is perfect... we loved it so much we got engaged here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamTC...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 5 were driving from Rome to Milan and decided to stay 3 nights at Podere Patrignone for a taste of the countryside. We are not disappointed. Both Simon & Verity are very helpful in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Finding the well-kept & cozy cottage is a breeze with a Tom-Tom GPS. The location is ideal to explore the Chianti region and there are many good restaurants nearby. We were out till late most nights and were constantly charmed by the peace and serenity of the night. Some of us took the opportunity there to go for morning runs. We even walked back one night after dinner and it was a memorable and fun experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super convenient Tuscan countryside home base”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This villa was the perfect place from which to take day trips all around Tuscany, and then return to enjoy a glass of chianti while watching the sunset on the terrace.

We stayed 6 nights in La Tinaia during our honeymoon. Our accommodation was exactly as advertised on the website. Whether we stayed in or were trudging back from a long day on the road, the villa's cozy feel was always a joy to be at.

Unexpected bonuses were: Lola and Charlie, the two most adorable dogs this side of the Arno, a very well stocked kitchen for making your own meals, homemade goodies in the fridge upon our arrival, and our authentic Tuscan dinner made by Verity that was simply too good to describe.

Simon and Verity epitomize what welcoming and gracious hosts should be. Their attention to detail, their responsiveness, and their sincere and easy going nature definitely added to our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, welcoming feel and cozy environment
Liked least: Few more bugs than expected.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcbm2013
Ancaster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Cozy Cottage in the beautiful Chianti Region”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed a lovely week at Podere Patrignone. This is a working organic olive farm that has been set up to provide B&B, as well as self catering facilities.

The property itself is gorgeous. The owners have set up various seating areas on the property so that guests can enjoy the fantastic views all around. A large seating area at the back provided spectacular sunset views, enjoyed with a glass of wine in hand.

There is a beautiful pool that had recently been opened for the season. Unfortunately we could not use it due to the cooler weather that the area had been experiencing this past Spring.

The road and driveway to reach Podere Patrignone is a bit of a bumpy ride, which required slow speeds and careful driving. This is perhaps our only caution for this property ... but definitely worth it once you reach your destination.

With the GPS in hand and Simon's detailed instructions we had no problem finding Podere Patrignone.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and showed around the property. A free lending library/trade in library is available to all guests. Of particular note is the extensive library of travel guides and maps for the area. The owners were more than willing to provide recommendations for site seeing, parking, restaurants, wineries. In the common room, there was an honour bar with a wide selection of beverages, including a large selection of wines, handpicked by the owners. Also available for purchase was the organic olive oil produced on the farm. Internet access is available in the common room, free of charge for all guests. Although it would have been nice to have internet access in our cottage, the common area was always open so there was no problem getting access to check on travel plans, e-mails, etc.

We stayed in the charming Il Forno cottage, which was perfect for the two of us. We were provided with a "welcome package" which was complimentary: Verita's freshly baked bread (fresh from the oven, still warm), homemade jam, olive oil from the farm, a bottle of wine, fresh fruit, cheese and a selection of sliced meats. Wow!

The evenings got a little bit nippy and damp. Our cottage had a small wood stove which we used several times to take the chill out of the air. Delightful! The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable with crisp, white linens and a warm, comfortable duvet that kept you cozy.

On the last day of our stay, one of the hinges on the bathroom door broke. Simon and the handyman quickly addressed the problem.

The highlight of the week was a home cooked dinner with all the other guests staying at Podere Patrignone. Verita is a fabulous cook .... best meal we had in Italy. Lots of fun!

The owners could not have been more gracious and hospitable. Came home with Simon's wonderful olive oil and memories of the best meal in Italy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The organized dinner with all the other guests.
Liked least: The bumpy driveway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValandDon
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Even lovelier second time around”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Podere Patrignone is one of those places that you want to keep to yourself and don't want everyone else to find because its so special. It isn't for people looking for 5 star luxury ... but its a 5 star place - relaxing, friendly and close to nature. Its also a great - and beautiful - location for exploring Tuscany and beyond. This is our second time here and yes, we will be back Simon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne P
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect place to relax and explore Chianti. The location was central and convenient for busy day trips to Florence and Sienna yet secluded enough to feel that we were combining an active holiday with a retreat stay!
The accommodation in Forno is private, charming "rustic/comfortable" not luxurious. The bathroom is small. We are boaters and could describe is as a boat bathroom. But the convenience of a small kitchen and the privacy of the terrace overlooking the vegetable garden more than made up for it.
We were welcomed with a bottle of wine, some fresh (homebaked bread) cheese, olives and sausage which was the perfect way to begin our stay.
If Simon and Verity ask "Can they cook for you one night?" be sure to say YES! The feast Verity prepared for all of us (perhaps 12 guests in total?) was really one of the best meals we experienced in our month in Italy. (And we ate in some pretty nice restaurants!)
Our only regret in choosing this accommodation is that we didn't stay long enough. We were there for 4 days and really we think a week at least would have been preferable. You need the time to be able to enjoy the extensive property, sit and read a book with a glass of wine at the pool overlooking the neighbouring vineyards without worrying about whether you have tickets to the Ufizzi the next day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmposphere, the location, and the hosts.
Liked least: The Energy efficient lights!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing