We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Engagement”

Osteria Alla Piazza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Return Engagement”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have eaten at any number of really good restaurants and in really nice settings, but I have to say that Osteria alla Piazza is perhaps one of the overall most enjoyable experiences I have had. Therefore we HAD to come back for a meal while we were in Tuscany. Much of their innovative menu is based on game, and some things are standards, but there are always enough new things when we go that we find something delicious. Their wine list is also superb with wines that are not only perfect with the meals but also not too hard on the pocketbook. Cannot think what to get? Their long time maître d’hotel is helpful and suggested a very nice Barbera for us that was much less than the wine I originally picked. Then if all that were not enough, it is such a beautiful area and has such serene views out over the Tuscan hills and valleys that you cannot help but enjoy yourself. It is moderately expensive, but believe me the quality and portions of the food will mean that if you stop for lunch you will probably not be hungry at dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Tom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    157
    44
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“super”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Found the place by chance and was the best place we had dinner.
Super food and super views all around. Pleasing decor. Good choice for vegetarian food also. A bit gourmet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rsuchanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
635 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood restaurant in the middle of Chianti”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The restaurant is lovely with magnificent views of the peaceful Tuscany countryside. This is another Tuscan experience, good food, a great view and good wine, that we would like to do again. It was all the part of a perfect day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arvid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery ans food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

we were reliving one of my partners childhood memories from a decade ago.
The scenery is great and the food just as good. Ensure you try the carpaccio, it is amazing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adventuresjustbegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We did a déjà vu vacation to the Chianti region this year, reprising a trip from 16 years ago. On the previous trip we had lunch at Osteria Alla Piazza and loved it. it was fun to come back, and find the quality and service were still excellent after such a long time. For an appetizer we split a soup with nuts and croutons --- light and delightful. For primi piatti we split a baked pasta filled with pumpkin (think of a baked crepe), again very tasty. We accompanied the meal with a very lightly battered vegetable Fritto Misto, a mixed salad, and a nice bottle of a Fonterutoli wine. Total bill 68E. Service was prompt, friendly, and excellent. The view is not to be missed. Excellent lunch spot, but the narrow twisting road up from SR222 may make it a dicey drive after dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank navygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Alla Piazza also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Alla Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing