We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Alla Piazza

Osteria Alla Piazza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
202 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

A room with a view anybody ? Fresh air at the top ? Sit among the wineyards ? Get perfect local food every time ? Wines to the food according ?
Well here is the place ! Every time good, fresh, well composed menu, food and service. Always a relaxing stay - the sorroundings, good eyes of the service, friendly contact - the answer is same personnel, kitchen with expirience, good cooperation - maybe more restaurants should understand that ?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PKB142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    151
    42
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We found the restaurant by accident, in a rural spot with great views of the surrounding countryside. The first time we called, it was fairly late and at the end of lunch time and we just had a drink and dessert. It was very enjoyable and decided to come later in the holiday for a full lunchtime occasion. It was fairly busy, we ordered main course and a dessert, while they were good portions, we were disappointed by the flavours and quality especially reflecting the price we were paying. I am sure they pitched their prices reflecting the local holiday cliental . The staff were luke warm at best and our hopes of a happy experience were dashed somewhat.
Would like to find somewhere nearby more welcoming in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Imp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This restaurant was so lovely that the five of us went back the next day for lunch. Every dish we ordered was delightful and a real dining experience. We were recommended by someone who had been here 14 years ago and loved it - well it has certainly stood the test of time. Delicious, delicious, delicious!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1012Lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great places in the heart of Chianti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice food, with fresh ingredients. If you are lucky enough and you go in Tartufo (truffle) season, you can be delighted by their pasta with truffle. The rest of the dishes are good, not outstanding but very enjoyable, and good prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guidver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Return Engagement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have eaten at any number of really good restaurants and in really nice settings, but I have to say that Osteria alla Piazza is perhaps one of the overall most enjoyable experiences I have had. Therefore we HAD to come back for a meal while we were in Tuscany. Much of their innovative menu is based on game, and some things are standards, but there are always enough new things when we go that we find something delicious. Their wine list is also superb with wines that are not only perfect with the meals but also not too hard on the pocketbook. Cannot think what to get? Their long time maître d’hotel is helpful and suggested a very nice Barbera for us that was much less than the wine I originally picked. Then if all that were not enough, it is such a beautiful area and has such serene views out over the Tuscan hills and valleys that you cannot help but enjoy yourself. It is moderately expensive, but believe me the quality and portions of the food will mean that if you stop for lunch you will probably not be hungry at dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Tom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Alla Piazza also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Alla Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing