We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptional property with only a few detractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocca di Cispiano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocca di Cispiano
El Gastor, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An exceptional property with only a few detractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Rocca di Cispiano is a medieval villa situated on a hillside overlooking a gorgeous valley that is otherwise hidden from view to travelers traveling through Chianti on the unmissable SS429. The agriturismo is accessed via a precipitous dirt/gravel path that takes you away from the traces of civilization around Castellina in Chianti. Hosts were gracious and helpful (free bottle of wine that is made on the premises!!), and assorted farm animals (goats/cats) help to make the agricultural vibe feel even more authentic. Great spot for children (our are 5 yrs and 1.5 yr), and centrally located so that none of the region's notable stops were too far away (San Gimignano, Radda, Greve, Lamole, Volterra, Siena). Only gripes were mosquitos (there are MANY), very, VERY uncomfortable beds (you will have the bedsprings poking you all night), and a fireplace that backdrafts smoke into the room (all the owner needs to solve this is to install a device to change the aspect ratio of the hearth to the chimney). Otherwise, if you are looking for iconic Chianti, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aejae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
Good evening!
Thank you for your review! We are really happy you spent a great holiday to our farmhouse!
We always try to maintain a traditional and authentic style, to convey to our guests the true Tuscan and country atmosphere!
Mosquitoes are a big problem but we tried to solve it through new mosquito nets and special stove!
All the beds are new and more confortable and now we don't have the problem of smoke from chimney!
From last year the property is managed directly from us, the owners, and we made a lot of changes and renovations!
I wait you again for another beautiful holiday!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed a week at Rocca di Cispiano. We are a family of 4 (children 7 and 9) and they spent their time swimming in the lovely, clean pool, petting the cats and finding interesting insects. It was peaceful and beautiful with rows and rows of grape vines, happy olive trees and a wonderful view. The location was perfect, short driving distance to many great towns and villages. The nearest town, Castellina, was one of our favorites (the BEST gellato!). The staff were kind, friendly and very helpful. Simone is, I think, the groundskeeper and responsible for the wine making on the estate. He was always there to help us in any way he could. Svetlana, our contact, helped us making reservations for horseback riding and a cooking class at the neighboring estate, Il Cellese.

Rocca di Cispiano is managed by the people who own this neighboring estate, Il Cellese. At Il Cellese (only 400 meters from our place) there is a great restaurant open Mon, Wed. and Fridays. Silvia is the chef - she and her cousin Sergio, run this marvelous place. Recently restored, it mixes old and new in such a cool way - bursts of color in with traditional stone walls and structures.

In the shadow of this great place, Rocca di Cispiano seemed a little rundown and forgotten. We never met the owner and it seemed less well maintained. We had the apartment La Torre. But the bedrooms were lovely - clean and cozy, I felt very comfortable and slept well. The views from the bedrooms where great, just what I had hoped for! Very nice dishes and wine glasses, clean and nice towels, very spacious apartment.

The downside was that the kitchen was difficult to work in, no oven and quite old. The bathroom had a bad shower and was actually not the same as in the photos on the website, it had been modified and is much smaller now with only a shower and no tub. The sitting room was weird with one uncomfortable sofa which sat 3 (while the apartment could sleep 5) and no other sitting chairs. There was a TV, but no batteries in the controller (but we wouldn't have watched TV anyway). I suppose much of this could have been fixed had we complained, but we didn't - it was still very nice, we had a great time, but these few things bugged us a bit.

The wine was amazing!! Any time we wanted more bottles, Simone was able to help us! We spent the sunny afternoons playing in the pool and drinking our lovely wine or walking the grounds.

We really loved our week, would stay for sure again but maybe in a different apartment!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this review, 10 February 2017
We are really sorry for the incoveniences you found during your holiday and at the same time we are very glad you spent anyway an enjoyable week!
From last year the management is passed to us, the owners...we made a lot of changes, being careful to the details and trying to improve ourselves day by day!
Now, Rocca di Cispiano shines its light and I really hope to have you here again for a wonderful and unforgattable holiday!
Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

absolutely fantastic! Our holiday at the gorgeous rocca di cispiano could not have been better. the calm and isolated paradise provided all we needed - tranquility!.... The accommodation was good and with attention to the small things that make you feel hommy. The view couldn't be surpassed ! If we will come again again on a future trip, we would definitely book in rocca in cispiano again.... see our pictures, and imagine ....untill you'll be there .....:)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
We are very excited for these wonderful words! Thank you so much!
From last year we changed the management and we have a lot of news for our guests!
We are working hard to improve ourselves every year and we will be really happy to have you here again for another beautiful holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
332 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The good: I took a risk in booking this property with nearly zero online reviews, what a great decision! The estate is beautiful, views are beautiful (I mean beautiful), right in the middle of all the wine and olio action. The manager Simone was great. Not much English but that added to a wonderful italian experience. Bottle of wine was waiting on us as we arrived. Room was big and clean. Simone provided a great tour and tasting. Pool was immaculate. Simone jumped on every task we gave him. Near a small town that was also great. Full kitchen and fridge, plenty of towels.
Not as good:there were quite a few cats running around, hallway leading to Bella vista smelled like cat urine (not in our room though!), about a half mile of unpaved road leading up to the property, wifi was dodgy, rock walkway by simone's room are very slippery, dogs on a neighboring property barked a lot. How to check in and where to go was not clear, finally another resident told us to knock on the door to Simone's residence. No hot water one morning but fixed in minutes by Simone. Bed was european hard.

All in all we wished we could stay longer and would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Sometimes risking we arrive to new and beautiful things, and I'm really happy you spent a great holiday and thank you so much for the many positive things you said!
From last year the management is changed and we are trying to improve a lot of things.
Now we have 3 new cats, but we can keep them under control!
Wifi is new and it works much better than the last years!
There is a special room for the check in open everyday from 9 am to 20 pm and we try to be always available for any kind of problems, also on our mobile phones!
All the beds are new to ensure our guest an optimal rest!
We'll welcome you gladly again if you would spend another beautiful holiday in Tuscany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Absolutely fantastic localisation in heart of Tuscany, all the typical tuscan villages, towns and cities at your fingertips.
Friendly, competent, and well informed staff (ciao Simone!) always ready to help, all in all an unforgetable experience. We even resigned from another hotel (already booked) just to stay a week longer in Rocca di Cispiano. Our room (Il Nido), although small, was clean and cosy, with an incredible view on tuscan hills and very big pool. To the the many advantages belongs also the wine produced on site (a bottle of which is a welcoming gift).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARTAiJAKUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
1.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#7 of 38 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca di Cispiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca di Cispiano

Property: Rocca di Cispiano
Address: Loc. Cispiano, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocca di Cispiano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the green hills of Chianti , 480 meters above sea level , the Rock of Cispiano is an authentic terrace on Tuscany . The ancient village , after a restructuring that has always taken account of the architectural requirements and careful to respect the history and traditions of this land , offering a higher level of receptivity . Each apartment , housed within the historic core , is equipped with every comfort for a pleasant stay . The apartment complex has a large swimming pool with individual equipment for each apartment , features a barbecue for guests and a large car park . You can also bring along pets. The property offers its guests a well-equipped self-service laundry . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocca Di Cispiano Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing