We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Il Fondaccio dai dottori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Superb service and food. They recommended a really good local wine which did the trick too. Wish we didn't live so far away or we would treat ourselves here every special occasion. The "mine host" and his staff are real good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    169
    62
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Average in all aspects. Totally missable”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I sometimes think when people come to an extraordinary beautiful/scenic area, they leave their sense of reasoning at home and then write reviews that rate a totally average restaurant as one of the better ones in the area of Castellina...

If you want a cheap pizza made with cheaper ingredients then this is your place... Nothing about this place is terrible and nothing good - it is quiete simply a place to fill your stomach. So many other superb choices in the area, give this one a skip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PimlicoPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Tried to have lunch here but after 55 minutes with no food and no attention from staff except to take our initial order, we decided to leave. We could not get the attention of any staff members in all that time. I am not somebody who is difficult, refer to my other reviews in Castellina. Sorry Il Fondaccio dai dottori, you need to do much better, there are much, much better restaurants in Castellina.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KevinD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good reliable option”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had eaten here when previously in Castellina and all family members were happy to return. The restaurant offers a good variety of options including pasta, meat and pizza so everyone can be accommodated for. On the Saturday night we ate there the place was totally full and there were many large tables of locals enjoying the lovely evening outside. The meals are well priced and the service is always good no matter how busy they are. A good option for an easy meal while in Castellina.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dazlontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leftcoast
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good we went back twice”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This restaurant was a great find during our tour of Tuscany. We had dinner there one day after a long day of sightseeing; it was great to relax on their patio (dining outside was a common theme of our trip). We were practically the only ones there on a Wednesday night, and the staff was quite attentive. Their wood-fired pizzas were excellent. We regretted not taking advantage of the extensive antipasti buffet, so we went back on Friday night just for it! You can make an entire meal out of it. The weather wasn't conducive to sitting outside that night, but the service was just as good.

This was an excellent place that I highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fondaccio dai dottori also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Fondaccio dai dottori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing