We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great , quiet, relaxing , place to stay”
Review of Villa di Capovento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa di Capovento
Certificate of Excellence
nicosia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great , quiet, relaxing , place to stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

+ This family owned Villa is situated in Castellina in Chianti which is in the heart of Tuscany. It is great if you like to visit the area and you have a car. It has great views and the couple that owns it do their best to fullfil your needs and have a great time. The owner was always willing to help us with our daily excursions and his wife was very hospitable and friendly. Their food at the restaurant is delicious and of a very good quality. The organic breakfast served at the father's atelie is also great. The rooms are very well decorated and cozy. You have great views from the room and a balcony to relax. Spending time at the pool will also be great if you visit in summer or just hang out in their beautiful garden. I surely recommend this hotel especially for peaceful , relaxing holidays.
- have in mind that is in a remote area so you will definitely need a car to go there or use it as a station to visit the area. Of course you can just get there by taxi and STAY for your whole holidays and RELAAAX ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orgaleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
90
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a few days and think it is wonderful. Although you are just a couple of kilometres outside Castellina in Chianti, this wonderful home from home is in a totally beautiful and secluded setting. When you wake up in the morning all you hear is total silence, apart from the birds singing. There are so many things to like: Stella and Etore (bad spelling?!), the simple but exceptionally clean rooms, the very pleasant swimming pool, the excellent value for money, the delicious home-cooked evening meals which are "real Italian" and original, the wonderful house wine (Chianti Classico of course!), the very good breakfasts taken outside onnthe verandah if you like. In fact we liked everything.

If you like the real Italy with absolute tranquility yet still want to be close to everything that Chianti has to offer you will love this place. It is not a five star "synthetic" hotel but a wondefully simple place to stay where you will feel at home whilst wishing it was your home.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank derosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

i really don't have the words to describe the feeling of staying in this place, i can just say i really didn't want to leave.. surrounding is amazing- pure nature, with pastoralic sitting spots, woods, olive trees, and they thought about all the small details- great books about the area, decoration of every spot, and the food- you will not want to get out to anywhere else- all fresh and high quality. great hospitality, the guy who works there and also owns the place drew us maps whenever we wanted to go somewhere.. realy realy amazing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This is a great place to get away from it all yet still be accessible to Castellina [10 mins] and Siena [30 mins]. A small number of guests have the privilege to share a charming, comfortable villa. The extensive grounds have panoramic views and seating arranged to take advantage of teh vistas. There is an infinity pool and a patio area under canvas awnings providing a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy the house wine. Dinner is available with a menu offering both light suppers or something more substantial. The dining area is so relaxing and just a few steps away from your room - bliss! Our ground floor room was very comfortable with antique furniture and a private conservatory complete with its own hot tub. Our hosts were so welcoming and worked so hard to give us such a memorable time. Thank you so much. In terms of finding the Villa, we had no sat nav and the Google map was no help on this occasion. But there is a brown "Capovento" just as you are heading south out of Castellina on the S222. Turn left here and you follow at dirt track for 2.5k. Have faith - you will get there and the gated entrance is easy to see.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

One would think that staying at a little villa in the middle of a forest would be bad, but fact is that when entering the Villa di Capovento you get this welcoming and calm feeling. It is run by a young couple and the host's parents and all is neatly taken care of by them.

When entering the villa there is a small and cosy reception area and a nice little restaurant. There are only 6 rooms which all have a balcony. The rooms are not very big and furnished in typical Tuscan furniture. Not exclusive, but nice and clean with a local charm.

The restaurant serves local and well prepared food made by the host of the villa and served by his wife. Good food and a nice winelist as well as the chance to taste Capovento's own wine and olive oil. The breakfast is all home made with a good choice of fresh fruits, bread, cakes, yogurt, home made jams etc - and they also serve good coffee.

The pool is small, but nicely surrounded by lavender and with a view of the valley and surrounding forests.
There is a serene feeling about this whole place and it is a sanctuary and a true gem. We will be back.

To get to the Villa Capovento use the coordinates: N43.45910 / E011.32036. To get to Castilina you will drive for approx 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekofoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

After driving down the long gravel road, we found the beautiful villa. It was like being in a movie scene from Tuscany. Quaint, lovely,gourmet Italian dinners and chianti wine. Peace and quiet. Beautiful scenery and pool with a view. Visit the nearby towns, Castellina and Radda and so many cantinas (wine cellars) and vineyards within few miles. Not to mention you are located in between Florence and Sienna. What a week to remember! Wish we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlloverItaly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The place is beautiful. The rooms are great. The view is fantastic and the place is Isolated .The breakfst was delicious. We loved Ature's cooking: We tried one dinner and stayed for another one the next day. We had 2 wonderful nights and we will come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Capovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Capovento

Property: Villa di Capovento
Address: loc capovento | Via Della Badiola - Strada Del Mandorlo, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa di Capovento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Capovento Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing