We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under the Tuscan Sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Querceto di Castellina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Querceto di Castellina
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan Sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was at Quercerto last week... not to stay overnight, but to enjoy a cooking class with Laura. Can you picture buying local ingredients fresh from Castellina town, preparing a simple meal with fresh herbs and country know-how, enjoying a tour of the wine facilities in the vineyard, and then enjoying your meal al fresco overlooking the Sangiovese vines and the Tuscan hillside? If you can imagine it, you can do it. Laura speaks and provides the courses in beautifully accented English. This place is lovely, charming and the hospitality is warm and genuine. I can only imagine it would be the same if you stay here in this charming, off-the-beaten path villa/ vineyard. I hope I will return one day to stay and enjoy the organic wine and breezes again on the patio! When you visit, save a meaty treat for Oswaldo the cat ... he's an unofficial greeter.

http://www.querceto.com/cooking_classes.php

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Sept 15-22, 2012 we returned to stay again in villa Moro, having stayed there in September, 2006. Querceto was as wonderful as it was six years ago, and also better - screens in all windows, flat screen TV with hundreds of chanels in the villa, Wi-Fi in the villa with good reception. The agriturisimo estate is beautifully maintained and managed in a thoroughly professional and helpful way. The villa itself is well maintained, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Because it is well off the road, it is blissfully quiet and peaceful. Sitting on the patio gazing directly out at the vineyard is the epitome of Tuscany. Laura and Jacabo are the most wonderful hosts. Querceto is a perfect location in central Chianti for touring the wine region and greater Tuscany. The area restaurants are marvelous in all ranges of prices and the village of Castellina is an absolute delight. We highly recommend pizza at Il Fondacio, anything at "Under the Vault," anything at Panzanelle in Lucarelli. Visits to Mario Cappelletti's art gallery, Marco Cappelletti's jewelry and art gallery and Claire Cappelletti leather shop are musts and for a small hill town, Castellina has a great collection of art galleries and stunningly good gelato at Antica Delizia. Florence is just over an hour away; Siena 40 minutes, and the delightful hill fortress of Monteriggioni and the hill town of Panzano, home to Dario the famous Dante-quoting butcher, are but short drives. Southern Tuscan towns such as Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino as well as Arrezo, Cortona and the castellos around Lago Trasmeno are easy day trips. Early September to early October are sublime - the hot temperatures have moderated and the tourist hordes are gone. You cannot go wrong with Il Querceto - we've been twice, and we shall return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with friends and family in the Fienile which is a 3 bedroom renovated barn. The setting is glorious in the middle of a working vineyard and winery. Private, simple and clean accommodation with access to a pool. Located 5 minutes drive from the village of Castellina in Chianti where the people are warm, friendly and welcoming of visitors. The village Also has the worlds greatest and cheapest gelato shop!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

On the second day of our honeymoon, my husband and I stumbled upon Querceto di Castellina while driving through the Chianti region after a day of exploring Siena. We wanted to go wine tasting and we happened to pass by the road that led us to this beautiful vineyard. That's where we met Laura. We were there in mid-April and were the only customers at that time of day so we had the opportunity to speak with Laura (the owner of the vineyard/hotel/cooking school) one-on-one. My husband and I had planned on taking a cooking class in Tuscany but had not reserved anything prior to our arrival. We were so glad that we hadn't b/c Laura happened to mention to us that she taught cooking classes. She was so sweet and her prices were totally reasonable so we decided to book with her. It was an informal agreement with her agreeing to meet us in Castellina in Chianti two days later by the only church there at 9:30am. We are from NYC and life in this beautiful Tuscan town is so different, slower with more appreciation for the simple things. Laura took us shopping for the ingredients of our meal. We went to the butcher to buy fresh meat, then to the vegetable shop to buy fresh vegetables. Along the way she was explaining the difference b/w ingredients and when to use different items. On top of that, she walked through the town and gave us a history lesson on Siena, Florence and Castellina. We went back to Querceto and cooked with her for about 3hrs, whilst she explained every step while helping us with our Italian while we barely helped her with her English (which she will tell you is not very good but is actually pretty exceptional). Laura has so much patience and is so sweet....she just kept reminding us of the classic Tuscan mamma. At the end of our class, we sat down with one of the bottles of wine from the vineyard (L'aura, of course) and were served the meal that we helped make, beautifully garnished. It was the most delicious meal we had in Italy (and that's hard to say b/c the food in Italy is so amazing) and the most wonderful honeymoon experience that we could have ever asked for.

Bottom line, a cooking class with Laura at Querceto di Casteliina is not to be missed if you want an authentic Tuscan experience.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel but we definitely will the next time we go after our experience here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natmer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Would strongly recommend gorgeous setting, simple but clean accomodations, friendly owners. We stayed a week but could have enjoyed a month. Quiet location, not too far from Castellina. Enjoyed a marvelous wine tasting and seperate dinner both were memorable. Really no complaints!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moro apartment. The steps upstairs were rather steep, especially at night to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaminInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We are traveling around Italy for the first time and decided to visit the beautiful tuscan estate Querceto di Castellina. It was our favorite day of our two week trip. It is a must do activity. We took private cooking lessons from L'aura and she couldn't have been any sweeter. We learned over 8 new recipes and several of her cooking secrets that we can take back home to Ohio. It was a great bonding experience between my daughter and I. I would do it again in a heart beat. Visiting the estate and taking part in a wine tour/ cooking class/ private dinner is a once in a life time opportunity! I definitely give this a 5 star rating! Above and beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albasista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We just returned from our honeymoon, during which we spent a wonderful week in the hills of Chianti. Unbelievable accomodation in a wonderful place, peaceful, charming people. We had a great cooking class with Laura and an interisting wine tasting with Jacopo.
We expected to have a wonderful time but this trip was beyond anything we could have imagined. The place is amazing, we will have in our herts forever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
6.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
5.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castello di Fonterutoli
Castello di Fonterutoli
#4 of 17 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Querceto di Castellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Querceto di Castellina

Property: Querceto di Castellina
Address: Localita Querceto 9, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Querceto, between the Sienese towns of Castellina and Radda in Chianti, already mentioned with its estate on the maps of the sixteenth century Guelph Captains, the company is extending its property for more than 125 acres, of which 27,20 will become vineyards, 26,20 of which are enrolled in the Chianti Classico DOCG and about 7 are for olive groves. Since the late 1980s, this estate, strengthened by one of the first agritourism licenses granted in the Chianti area, has been specializing in accommodation and providing a unique experience for our guests. Our main farm complex today includes preserving all traces of its history and evolution over the centuries, which makes it very original and suggestive, in addition to its great architectural interest. Eight guest suites from 2 to 8 beds are available, all with a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom with shower, independent gas heating, fireplace, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, TV, and a small private sitting area. A series of initiatives designed to further enliven a stay include wine-tasting events, family dinners and cooking classes that are dedicated to traditional regional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Querceto di Castellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Querceto Di Castellina Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing