We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Querceto di Castellina
Nearby Hotels
Locanda Le Piazze(Castellina In Chianti)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Colombaio(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Podere Palazzolo(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Casalecchi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Fonterutoli(Castellina In Chianti)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casafrassi Hotel(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa di Capovento(Castellina In Chianti)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi(Castellina In Chianti)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
76
26
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
26
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesorganic winecooking classhis mothertasting roomwine tourantipastiamazing viewsperfect placeglass of winechianti regiongelatobeautiful locationpastalauraclassesdi
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was at Quercerto last week... not to stay overnight, but to enjoy a cooking class with Laura. Can you picture buying local ingredients fresh from Castellina town, preparing a simple meal with fresh herbs and country know-how, enjoying a tour of the wine facilities in the vineyard, and then enjoying your meal al fresco overlooking the Sangiovese vines and the Tuscan hillside? If you can imagine it, you can do it. Laura speaks and provides the courses in beautifully accented English. This place is lovely, charming and the hospitality is warm and genuine. I can only imagine it would be the same if you stay here in this charming, off-the-beaten path villa/ vineyard. I hope I will return one day to stay and enjoy the organic wine and breezes again on the patio! When you visit, save a meaty treat for Oswaldo the cat ... he's an unofficial greeter.

http://www.querceto.com/cooking_classes.php

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Sept 15-22, 2012 we returned to stay again in villa Moro, having stayed there in September, 2006. Querceto was as wonderful as it was six years ago, and also better - screens in all windows, flat screen TV with hundreds of chanels in the villa, Wi-Fi in the villa with good reception. The agriturisimo estate is beautifully maintained and managed in a thoroughly professional and helpful way. The villa itself is well maintained, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Because it is well off the road, it is blissfully quiet and peaceful. Sitting on the patio gazing directly out at the vineyard is the epitome of Tuscany. Laura and Jacabo are the most wonderful hosts. Querceto is a perfect location in central Chianti for touring the wine region and greater Tuscany. The area restaurants are marvelous in all ranges of prices and the village of Castellina is an absolute delight. We highly recommend pizza at Il Fondacio, anything at "Under the Vault," anything at Panzanelle in Lucarelli. Visits to Mario Cappelletti's art gallery, Marco Cappelletti's jewelry and art gallery and Claire Cappelletti leather shop are musts and for a small hill town, Castellina has a great collection of art galleries and stunningly good gelato at Antica Delizia. Florence is just over an hour away; Siena 40 minutes, and the delightful hill fortress of Monteriggioni and the hill town of Panzano, home to Dario the famous Dante-quoting butcher, are but short drives. Southern Tuscan towns such as Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino as well as Arrezo, Cortona and the castellos around Lago Trasmeno are easy day trips. Early September to early October are sublime - the hot temperatures have moderated and the tourist hordes are gone. You cannot go wrong with Il Querceto - we've been twice, and we shall return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here for a week with friends and family in the Fienile which is a 3 bedroom renovated barn. The setting is glorious in the middle of a working vineyard and winery. Private, simple and clean accommodation with access to a pool. Located 5 minutes drive from the village of Castellina in Chianti where the people are warm, friendly and welcoming of visitors. The village Also has the worlds greatest and cheapest gelato shop!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

On the second day of our honeymoon, my husband and I stumbled upon Querceto di Castellina while driving through the Chianti region after a day of exploring Siena. We wanted to go wine tasting and we happened to pass by the road that led us to this beautiful vineyard. That's where we met Laura. We were there in mid-April and were the only customers at that time of day so we had the opportunity to speak with Laura (the owner of the vineyard/hotel/cooking school) one-on-one. My husband and I had planned on taking a cooking class in Tuscany but had not reserved anything prior to our arrival. We were so glad that we hadn't b/c Laura happened to mention to us that she taught cooking classes. She was so sweet and her prices were totally reasonable so we decided to book with her. It was an informal agreement with her agreeing to meet us in Castellina in Chianti two days later by the only church there at 9:30am. We are from NYC and life in this beautiful Tuscan town is so different, slower with more appreciation for the simple things. Laura took us shopping for the ingredients of our meal. We went to the butcher to buy fresh meat, then to the vegetable shop to buy fresh vegetables. Along the way she was explaining the difference b/w ingredients and when to use different items. On top of that, she walked through the town and gave us a history lesson on Siena, Florence and Castellina. We went back to Querceto and cooked with her for about 3hrs, whilst she explained every step while helping us with our Italian while we barely helped her with her English (which she will tell you is not very good but is actually pretty exceptional). Laura has so much patience and is so sweet....she just kept reminding us of the classic Tuscan mamma. At the end of our class, we sat down with one of the bottles of wine from the vineyard (L'aura, of course) and were served the meal that we helped make, beautifully garnished. It was the most delicious meal we had in Italy (and that's hard to say b/c the food in Italy is so amazing) and the most wonderful honeymoon experience that we could have ever asked for.

Bottom line, a cooking class with Laura at Querceto di Casteliina is not to be missed if you want an authentic Tuscan experience.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel but we definitely will the next time we go after our experience here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natmer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Would strongly recommend gorgeous setting, simple but clean accomodations, friendly owners. We stayed a week but could have enjoyed a month. Quiet location, not too far from Castellina. Enjoyed a marvelous wine tasting and seperate dinner both were memorable. Really no complaints!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moro apartment. The steps upstairs were rather steep, especially at night to come down to the bathroom! Couple of fans helped on some hot nights.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaminInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews