We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way but out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Uscio e Bottega

Uscio e Bottega
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mandeville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of the way but out of this world”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great pasta and salads! Homemade pasta that my wife and I loved! You can taste the freshness. No secondi and limited english from the wait staff but this was not an issue. Nothing fancy but a great, casual dinning experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    49
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent pastas and salads”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a great place for lunch or dinner. It has an excellent selection of Italian pasta dishes, great wine list and friendly service. Worth a trip if you are staying anywhere nearby - Panzano, Castellina, Radda etc...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Roadside Experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Uscio e Bottega is a small restaurant/wine bar in Sicelle, 10 km from Castellina in Chianti. The nearest village is S.Donato in Poggio (3 km). This spot is “road side” on Strada 76 and easy to miss as you round a sharp corner and pass through a rural community of 3-4 buildings.

The outdoor, covered patio is small but a good place to enjoy a glass of wine and a bit of food. For cooler weather, there are pleasant surroundings inside. As for the food, portions are substantial and easy to share. Many of the patrons are local people as tourists have not or cannot “find” this gem. We found all the food to be good but the pastas to be very good and quite special. The deserts are super and seem to all have been made on site. The price is reasonable and the “package” very good value for money. What is most attractive is the simple ambiance and the friendly owners who go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable.

It is not hard to recommend Uscio e Bottega highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere, and hospitality!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I recently returned home from Tuscany, Italy. We were fortunate to have had, Uscio e Bottega recommended to us. Patricia and Patrick are a husband and wife team, who serve a variety of freshly prepared pasta dishes, salads and yummy desserts. The portions are large and reasonably priced. They also offer a variety of wines from their wine cellar. They are located in a small village of 3 houses, and a church. Definitely worth finding this gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect pasta & the locals eat here”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

This is a wine bar/restaurant located on a side road about 3km from the highway between Greve & Castellina in Chianti. Easy to miss as this hamlet on the road only has three or so buildings, one a church right next door. The owners have been very creative with the decor which is warm & bright with local artwork. An outdoor patio to enjoy the Tuscan sunsets where we thoroughly enjoyed our pasta courses. (We shared a second course.) Large portions & not a huge price. The locals will drive 10 or more km to eat here, which speaks volumes to the quality. Great variety of local wines & at the end of our meal we had an alcohol infused lump of sugar tweased from a jar. Hard to describe, unique, ask & try!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uscio e Bottega also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Uscio e Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing