We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt for ever”
Review of Castello La Leccia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello La Leccia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have you ever travelled some where having high expectations and then been even more delighted at the experience. It happened to us on our 7 day stay at Castello La leccia.
Extraordinary renovation, location and view to die for and hospitality that was caring and natural.

We had the best week ever and vowed to return.

Ken and Jenny Owen
Melbourne
Australia

Room Tip: Just go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, Responsabile reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Owen,

we thank you very much for your splendid review!
We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.
Thank you for appreciating our restoration, view and service.
We very look forward to welcoming you again.
My Warmest Regards and Happy New Year.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at Castello La Leccia in October 2013. The beauty is surreal. The accomodations are top notch. We were welcomed from the moment we drove up to the castle. Make sure you take advantage of the winery tour with Francesco, and the tasting of their wines and olive oil. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Room #6. Top floor, corner. It's worth rising early to see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, Responsabile reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Cathy,
Thank you so much for your nice words and the time you took to share your experience. We are really happy that you have appreciated the tour of the cellar with Francesco and the wine and olive-oil tasting with us. Your compliments will be a great source of motivation for everyone.
We very look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm Regards
Alice Borgianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

When we reached Castello La Leccia in Tuscany (La Toscana) was almost night in a cloudy evening, it emerged with soft lighting on top of a hill, with a great garden with amazing view of valleys of vineyards and olives.

We were welcomed by owners and front desk girls all were extremely attentive and helpful. Room are great, spacious and comfortable. We were surprised with a bottle of Chianti Clásico produced by them, a basket of fresh fruits and mineral water.

There are well dressed rooms within to seat and read a book from old bookshelves while drinking a glass of wine. Take a walk on the garden and seat there (if weather heps) and relax.

We based our Toscana rides in La Leccia, close to Castellina in Chianti. We were advised to go to a selection of great restaurants and I recommend to follow recommendations from staff, apart of taking time to enjoy great breakfast and dinner in Castello itself, it is very good.

Going to Tuscany? Consider Castello La Leccia for your stay.

Room Tip: There are just a few, pick anyone and you'll enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alvaro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, Responsabile reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Aviroga,

thank you very much for your wonderful review following your stay with us: your description of your arrival is very effective. It is rewarding to read that you were satisfied with our agriturismo and that you found our staff attentive and helpful. It is great to hear that you liked our rooms and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and dinner. The entire team is looking forward to your next visit to La Leccia.
Alice Borgianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Castello La Leccia is a beautiful property with a charming staff, beautiful rooms. meticulously tended gardens and a large swimming pool. And oh, did I mention the superb wines and olive oil made by Francesco Daddi, the hotel’s owner? And the authentic Tuscan cuisine cooked by Antonio, the chef?

Perched on a hill with views of Siena and San Gemignano in the distance Castello La Leccia is the perfect place to just relax or to sue as a center for exploring the cultural wonders of the region. The staff posts local events every day on a blackboard in the lobby. And Francesco gives a tour of the wine cellar every day at 5:30 (don’t miss it if you are interested in wine). The tour is followed by a wine and olive oil tasting in the hotel (Francesco does not call it a hotel but rather a farm with some guest rooms) accompanied by local cheeses.

This really is one of the most charming and beautiful places I have ever stayed at in Italy or anywhere else, for that matter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, Responsabile reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Br00klynB,

what a pleasure to read this lovely review after your recent stay with us!
I am delighted that you enjoyed our agriturismo and that you found our staff charming.
It is great to read about your description of the wine tour and tasting.
Francesco is very proud and attentive to this detail.
We very look forward to hosting you again next season.
Warm Regards
Alice Borgianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel only opened last year which is why there's so little to base your decision on whether to go or not. JUST BOOK IT! My husband and I stayed for 4 nights (Aug 13) and were impressed in every way. The decor and facilities of the rooms, communal areas and outside were flawless and the service was absolutely fantastic. Italy is not known for its service culture but the staff here, every last one of them, go out of their way to ensure you have everything you want and need; for example even if there are only 2 of you at the pool - which is often the case as there are only 12 rooms in total - someone will be down every couple of hours to see if you want water, prosecco...

The restaurant is really great and the view from the terrace is wonderful. The wine is VERY cheap and absolutely delicious - they offer mainly the wines from the estate which are sold at unbelievably good prices (the most expensive I think was €22 and there were some less than €10 plus you can buy it, and the home-produced olive oil to take home) which just goes to highlight how well they treat guests (they could really bump those prices).

The owner takes anyone who wants to go on a tour of the winery and then for a wine tasting every day at 17:30 and gives a background of La Leccia and his family which is also really nice to do.

My husband and I travel really extremely frequently for both business and pleasure and so we do know what makes for a good hotel and this ticks all the boxes. I am honestly at a loss as to anything that could make it better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Jo,

thank you for all your nice words! The compliments to both our staff and our wines are very much appreciated, since we all work very hard and try very hard to do our best to make our guests’ stay at Castello La Leccia worth remembering and always hoping they will wish to come back here to find, once again, the same lovely and relaxed atmosphere.
As for the wines, winemaking is the soul of our place and we are happy to share our love for it with our guests. For us selling wine is not only selling a glass bottle, we try to offer a sip of our land, hoping to offer a moment of conviviality with the people you love.
Your compliments are especially meaningful to us, as both you and your husband are frequent travelers and have the chance to see and try several accommodations. It is a great pleasure to see that for you we “tick all the boxes” to be a good place to stay! 
We certainly hope to welcome you again with your husband for another wonderful stay with us!
Best Regards
Beatrice Cambioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stumbled upon this little gem almost by accident. I only had a glass of wine while the sun set, but the memory will last a lifetime. Lovely atmosphere, great vibes, and an accommodating staff made my (short) time here memorable and interesting.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Jason_Pittelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, Reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Jason,

Your nice description of Castello La Leccia is what we always work hard to achieve, so we are extremely happy in reading that your experience with us was memorable and interesting, two things we strive to obtain in the magic of Chianti.
We certainly hope to welcome you soon again, maybe for a longer stay, so you can relax with us and enjoy a holiday worth remembering.
War Regards
Beatrice Cambioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you need a break after a hectic year working like crazy or if you want to offer a special gift to your wife, if you love good food, wine, astonishing panoramas, culture, a good book at the pool, a tastefully renovated small luxury hotel with a warm and personal service, wel , don't hesitate anymore. Stop searching on the internet and booke immediately.
We stayed here this summer with our boys of 16 and 18 years old and this was one of our best holidays ever. Thanks Francesco, Alice, Rafaella and all of the staff!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank AliceMechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laleccia, Reception at Castello La Leccia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Alice Mechlen,

your words are the most wonderful review to us! It is a joy to know that you consider Castello La Leccia a place where you can totally relax, a retreat for you and the people you love.
We certainly hope you will keep a wonderful memory of our place and will be very happy to welcome you back with your nice boys, they were two really nice and extremely well-behaving young men!
Looking forward to have you again here at La Leccia!
Best Regards
Beatrice Cambioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
7.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
551 reviews
4 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello La Leccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello La Leccia

Address: Localita' La Leccia, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: £270 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello La Leccia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello La Leccia is an ancient hamlet situated two kilometers south of Castellina in Chianti on a hill 450 meters above sea level, in a position commanding a panorama of the Val d'Elsa stretching from Siena to San Gimignano all the way to the Apuan Alps. Castello La Leccia is an estate that produces Chianti Classico wine and extra-virgin olive oil.In 2008 we started an extensive renovation of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello La Leccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello La Leccia Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing