We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favorite”
Review of Collelungo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Collelungo
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 6 weeks in Europe on this recent trip in April/May 2014 and when talking about our favorite accommodations, this was the place my husband chose.

We stayed in what was described as one of their smaller apartments called "Istrice". However, we found it to be a perfect size for the two of us.

We loved the setup and how the buildings were situated and it was so tastefully landscaped. There was a beautiful pool area, but it was unfortunately a bit cold when we were there. Above the pool area is an undercover lounging section beautifully appointed with comfortable outdoor furniture. Also the guests had access to an indoor sitting room with a TV, satellite, DVD library etc., but unfortunately the DVD player was broken when we were there. There was also a book library like I've never seen before. In the same building as the sitting room was a bar area for the guests where you could purchase Collelungo wine on an honor system and enjoy.

We enjoyed our woodburning fireplace in our apartment at night (plenty of wood supplied) and BBQ'd some delicious steaks, from the "famous" butcher in Panzano, on the outdoor wood burning BBQ a couple of nights. Highly recommended! Plus, it was so quiet at night, you could here a pin drop.

Fabiola was our hostess and she was fabulous. She would phone to make reservations, give advise or help in any way she could with a big smile on her face. She is a wealth of knowledge and just lovely.

One thing to note is that the internet was dicey and we rarely could get connected. We were told this was because of the location in the countryside. Internet wasn't important to us, so it really didn't matter, but anyone that needs internet would want to check into this.

Guests also need a car if staying here. It's not accessible without. But with a car it was a short 10-15 minute drive from Castellina In Chianti, which turned out to be our favorite town in Chianti.

We spent a total of 5 nights here and would totally recommend Collelungo for couples, groups or families.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatNap369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSrl76, Owner at Collelungo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Warm Greetings from Collelungo!
We thank you a lot for your nice review and kind words of appreciation. We are pleased that you enjoyed our piece of paradise and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Collelungo was everything I hoped it would be. Scenic, quiet and relaxing. A beautiful place to stay. We could walk around the vineyard, swim in the pool and relax in the alfresco. We stayed in "Owl" which was very comfortable for my husband and I - it had everything we needed and was very clean. I loved the fact we had access to some of the wines, wi-fi and could do our laundry.
Fabiolia was very helpful in recommending places to eat and making sure our stay was enjoyable.
I truly hope I get the chance to revisit again sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

This seems like an OK place, however, the customers are treated in the wrong way. We rented a villa and at the end, after informing about a broken fruit bowl, we were asked to pay outrageous 50 EUR. Had we known before, we wouldn't use it and the price was just estimated based on owner's emotional attachment to the dish. We left upset and will not come back. We feel we spent enough to receive some appreciation to compensate a simple old broken piece. If it is so precious, it shouldn't have been part of the villa and left to be used. A matter of principle - it seemed 50 EUR was more important than having people return. Wrong approach! Not coming back...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
8  Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSrl76, Owner at Collelungo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,
we are really sorry for what happened and sad for what you write here on the Tripadvisor web site, as it really comes out that you didn’t understand the fact. We are fully aware that many breakages can happen in accommodations of all kind during the year.
The fact is that we are not speaking here about a dish or a mug cup or a glass (which we never charge!). I want people reading this review understand this. What was broken in our best high level villa was a piece of Bassano del Grappa ceramic of a HUGE dimension, which was not meant to be used, but only as a decorative bowl in between the kitchen and the living room over a piece of furniture. I have a smaller one at home and can provide picture of it. This ceramic has been staying there for several years and nobody touched it, not to say used it to eat!
Of course we asked money for this breakage as we have to replace it and as we are specking of a very high level villa rented by high level people, we will not for sure replace it with a plastic thing!
Sorry that you thought we were robbing you! It was absolutely not the case!
Last thing I want to report is that before leaving Collelungo you threatened us by saying you would have written a bad review on this web site, if you had to pay, even if all people from your group said that they had a very nice and pleasant stay. We always ask a deposit for these kind of events but you asked it back before telling about the damage! This is not proper a fair way a correct person behaves! Sorry to say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Collelungo was a very charming place to stay. My boyfriend and I stayed in La Tartuga room. It had a large living room and a nice bathroom. Only issue we experienced with the room was that there was a leak in the bathtub....which made it uncomfortable. Monica is wonderful and she gave us very good restaurant recommendations and wine tastings. There were a lot of bees and mosquitos all around chianti so definitely bring insect repellant! No AC in room but the place stayed cool in early Sept. It was hot outside though. Would recommend this place in Castellina in Chianti.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A total surprise an old XIV Century establishment with a village style atmosphere, Fabiolia is an excellent hostess and very obliging as we changed rooms a few times to experience the different types of ambiance - we loved the D Selva (Forest) room which overlooked the working Colllungo vineyards. - absolutely beautiful views to a quaint little town called Castellina in Chianti a place , restaurants were above our expectations with local delights of simple but exquisite dishes like mushrooms with Papadelli in a wild boar sauce and more . . . . .
many historic buildings, cafe's and specialty shops
A beautiful hidden gem not to be missed.
A great location as not far from other historic towns, Siena, Florence Volterra to name a few

Room Tip: Ground floor with a courtyard -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank earlybirdSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Collelungo is breathtakingly beautiful and the seven nights we spent there was the highlight of our Italian holiday.
Fabiola could not have been more helpful - from bringing us fresh croissants from town in the mornings to arranging some cooking lessons for us with the lovely Simonetta - she just couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one.
Our villa was really clean and well presented, the grounds and gardens delightful and the scenery fantastic. We would return to this piece of Tuscan paradise in a heatbeat!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandw6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Collelungo was beyond our expectations. It is the perfect place for a vacation in Tuscany. The property is spectacular with stone buildings surrounded by vineyard covered hills. The staff is unbelievably nice and helpful, and provide great eating recommendations and driving directions. It is within walking distance of the medieval village of Castellina in Chianti, which is one of the prettiest in the area. Ideal and central for all sightseeing in Tuscany. We were able to do drive to Florence, Siena, San Giminignano and the nearby towns and wineries of Radda, Panzano and Greve. Our apartment was neat and clean - as was the entire property. The rooms have views all over the vines and include sitting area, small dinining room table and kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. There is also a swimming pool, barbecue and wine bar with their great Chianti Classico. Absolutely a beautiful property. We simply loved it.

Room Tip: Selva and Montone top ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfgang k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
3.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
1.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
235 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
202 reviews
2.8 mi away
Querceto di Castellina
Querceto di Castellina
#5 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collelungo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collelungo

Address: Loc. Collelungo 12/14, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: £82 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Collelungo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collelungo Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Collelungo Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing