We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in Chianti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Chianti”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a tour group while visiting hilltop villages in Italy. It was by far the best hotel we visited in Italy! The view is truly breathtaking, the rooms are very well appointed and the restaurant is fabulous, what more can I say...would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    102
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
94
330
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hotel Belvedere in San Leonino is a “hidden gem” nestled in the stunning Chianti countryside. About an 90 minute drive from Pisa will bring you to this stunning converted farmhouse which will take your breath away the minute you set foot into the grounds. The location is breathtaking with amazing views across the vineyards and olive groves as far as the eye can see. You will be greeted by warm and friendly staff who will do everything they can to make your stay as memorable as possible. The Hotel has around 29 rooms, however, I suggest upgrading to a Superior room if you can. Decorated and furnished in true Tuscan Style, the room we had was stunning, clean, comfortable with the most amazing views out of the shuttered windows. Facilities within the room were what you would expect, and to a very high standard with the added bonus of flat screen TV. Only downside with the room is that there are no coffee and tea making facilities, however, not a great problem as a couple of Euros would buy beautiful coffee which you could take in one of the immaculate pretty seating areas and gardens in and around the Hotel. The breakfast was gorgeous and ample the staff so attentive and helpful. The pool, pretty flowered courtyards and gardens areas are beautiful, with panoramic views to die for, ample sun beds and seating, a lovely way to spend a couple of hours after your city visits.
Do take the chance to eat at the Belvedere restaurant at least once during your stay. The menu changes daily and is made up of local produce and delicacies offering excellent cuisine to suit most tastes. The Belvedere boasts its own wines and vineyard, which are amazing to say the least. Wine tasting and vineyard tour available during your stay which is well worth doing. Do sample the local restaurants in the surrounding areas such as Castellina in Chianti. For us, San Leonino was an excellent location to visit the surrounding areas, with Firenze and Sienna around an hours drive away.
Having travelled the globe over the years, I can honestly say this is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed, and cannot wait to return. Thank you to all the staff who made our short stay so special.
Sue and Paul chilton UK

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room and ask to overlook the pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiltonsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stunning, the setting and old farm house in a vineyard on a hill. Figs, cherries, blue bells, buttercups, roses, azure skies. We thought we had arrived on the edge of heaven. The handmade linens, excellent restaurant, friendly staff, bar, pool. We love the Chianti area in Tuscany, I can stay there forever. Highly recommended. Waking to swallows chirping, the distant trolling of church bells, aroma of bacon. Magnificent, bellissimo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed a Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino in early May. We were in awe immediately when we first view the hotel and the surrounding area. It is post-card beautiful and exactly what we were looking for in Tuscany.

The property is wonderful and the pool and lounge areas are spectacular. It wasn't quite warm enough for us to take advantage of the pool, which was disappointing for me. It would have been a great place to cool off and relax after a long day exploring. I did notice that they charged for pool towels which I thought was a little disappointing, though maybe that is common in this area.

The staff was fantastic and helped us with whatever we needed. Their recommendations, from towns to visit, to attractions, to restaurants, were all spot on. It was invaluable as we had a vague idea of what we wanted to do -- but no idea where to start. In many ways their help made our trip.

The location is perfect for day trips and exploring rural Tuscany, but you will need a car. We did a day trip into Florence but it is a little bit of a drive so it probably would have made sense for us to stay one night in the city since there is so much to do and see there. Siena and many other medieval towns are very short drives from San Leonino (and the drives are spectacular).

The rooms are quaint, cozy, and comfortable. The room was large though the bathroom and the shower in particular were quite small -- though I would say that is common in most of Italy. They are not fancy or modern, but that's not what we were there for.

We enjoyed breakfast, snacks, and dinner at the hotel at various times throughout our stay. The food was excellent the atmosphere was intimate and again the staff were wonderful. It would be nice if breakfast was included in the price of the hotel (as it was at a few other hotels we stayed in on our trip) as there aren't many other options around. Sometimes we simply skipped breakfast and had brunch when we arrived wherever we were headed for the day. It would be nice to be able to simply grab some toast or a yogurt to get your day started rather than pay for a full breakfast. In-room snacks and beverages were pricier than we saw at other places which again was disappointing as there aren't any other options around. We thought dinner was excellent and very reasonably priced.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for the rural Tuscan experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. It was beautiful and luxurious and a great value for those reasons. Everything about the building and our room was pristine. We also decided to eat dinner at the hotel's restaurant, and it was excellent. All of the staff was very kind and helpful, and we would highly recommend this as a place to stay. We visited in April, so it was a little cold, but I would love to return when it's warmer out because the pool looked amazing, and the views are unbeatable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A real gem of a hotel with fantastic staff and a wonderful, relaxing bar, great location and lovely rooms. The only negative really is that breakfast is a nightmare! Bring your padded elbows and get ready to navigate through a chaotic landscape of small tables, oddly laid out buffet areas (butter one end of the room - toast at the other!) and if you are any larger than a size 12 you had better get there early to secure a table with some room around it. If the manager was able to sit in here like we have and watch this chaos ensue then I am sure they would find a way to make the room a little more user friendly - the poor staff are really up against it here and us guests don't fare so well either! However, having said all of that - this place really does deserve a visit and the pool looks delightful (rainy May didn't warrant a dip). We would definitely return :))

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view to get the quiet bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suej102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Belvedere San Leonino in Castellina is a great place for relaxing and making day tours in the Chianti area. If there is a little discount, it is the location outside of the village of Castellina and directly next to a road. That means that if you want to have a walk through the village, you need to get into your car first. It also means, however, that you have the greatest views from the garden and the swimming pool over the west-slope of the mountain into a beautiful valley, the sunset and occasionally mystical fog. Plus, the excellent service, the friendliness, the competence, and the attitude of the whole team has been unrivaled on our tour in Italy and make more than good of what on first glance can seem to be a little flaw. The restaurant is very good, the bar is inviting for an after-dinner drink or two. The in-house mechanic was even able to fix a little problem of our car. Needless to say that we all were very happy to stay in this hotel and felt extremely well looked after. Thank you! - Hartmut Oertel

Room Tip: If you have a light sleep you might wish to avoid rooms opening to the north, where the road is. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartmut O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Harmut O,
reading your review our next guests will know that San Leonino is the perfect place to relax in the middle of the nature or to visit the villages from Chianti and Siena region. Also for hiking and for wine and Tuscan food lovers.
You can relax in one of our gardens or by the swimming pool with a stunning view overlooking the vineyards after a day of visiting the region.
We make our wine that we will be happy to make you taste in our “Cantinetta di Belvedere di San Leonino” situated in the center of Castellina in Chianti.
Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
6.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Property: Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing