We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Casalecchi(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Godenano(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Petraia(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
Hotel Il Colombaio(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casafrassi Hotel(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda Le Piazze(Castellina In Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
386
156
18
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
156
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrustic hotelwalkable distancehotel is greatboil your own eggsswimming poolseparate buildingshort walkmain buildinghotel groundstuscan farmhousea lovely stayair conditioninglovely townnice roomstaff was very friendly and helpfulbreakfast is servedchianti region
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent a night in Castellina as part of our honeymoon trip through Tuscany. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we knew we had made the right decision. The quaint farmhouse feel was exactly what we were looking for. Silvia on the front desk was warm and welcoming and gave us all the information we needed to have a great evening. We were kindly upgraded to a better room, which was a good size, clean and had an air-con. The grounds and swimming pool were great, and the buffet breakfast in the next day was the best we had the whole holiday. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. There is parking on site, and the hotel is a nice scenic short walk from the centre of town. One of the best parts of this stop-over was the Gelateria at the end of the road (via Fiorentina), just before you go into town, it was the best we had the entire holiday! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iobas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear lobas2000, thank you for choosing us as a part of your honeymoon trip and thank you for your nice and enthusiastic review about your stay at our country Hotel Salivolpi: we can understand that even one single night left good memories of us! Glad that you appreciated the warm welcome from Silvia, with her useful and practical indications for a perfect stay. And also glad you liked the comforts of old-country-styled rooms, the well kept grounds and the whole area around the hotel. Our healthy and various breakfast buffet then gives our guests the good morning for a wonderful day of discovery. The small town of Castellina in Chianti then offers a large variety of places where tasty dishes of local food and yummy ice creams do reign. We will be happy to see you again in the future, you will be most welcome, for sure!!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

my family and I recently stayed a few nights at salivolpi. the place was rustic, natural, and beautiful. however it was the staff working at the hotel which made the difference, in particular Silvia who was patient, supportive, and always so pleasant - especially with our 3 year old son. we for sure would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tun-Cheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Tun C, our deepest thank you for sharing your opinion about our country Hotel Salivolpi, your words let us imagine that your stay with us has been pleasant and that you appreciated every moment spent in our Hotel with a special Thank you from Silvia! Glad that you liked the rustic and charming atmosphere of our place, with its wooden beams, cotto floor and pretty rooms well decorated and furnished with original ancient tuscan pieces. The staff is happy and proud that you and your family enjoyed their work and efforts to make your stay here a very special stay. See you next time in Chianti!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had been meaning to post a review forever but I knew it was time to do so when
my husband and I found ourselves so fondly remembering our relaxing stay in Castellina.
Our room was quaint, quiet and nicely decorated. Bed was comforatable and we loved sleeping with the windows open for the nights breeze.
The grounds are lovely and well kept. We enjoyed ending the days adventure just relaxing on the lawn with a bottle of wine beofre dinner.
Sylvia was just wonderful setting up wine tours,dinners and great exploring day trips. We ate and drank and ate and drank...she did not steer us wrong once!!
We also had breakfast with the room which was a perfect little start to the day.
The staff were friendly ,fun, full of great advice and ideas for your day trips!
Wonderful hotel great basecamp for exploring the area!
We'll be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear mmalin, our deepest “thank you” for the beautiful words you have spent for us. We are really happy to see that your appreciation in every thing about our country hotel: from the pretty details of our well cared and cozy rooms, the beautiful and refreshing garden that gives a little shadow during beautiful and sunny summer days, and where you may enjoy a good glass of Chianti wine hearing happy birds singing all around…. A special Thank you from Silvia, ever waiting for you with many other suggestions! Our Staff is proud and always happy to help the guests in their daily planning and to tell some secret places to reach to discover the Chianti region and all the towns around at the best. Loved that you enjoyed also our healthy breakfast buffet as a starting point for a wonderful exploring day.
Please keep best memories about us, you will be most welcome, whenever you want, see you!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the hotel. After modern, air conditioned hotel rooms in Rome and Venice, I was a little disappointed not to have another air conditioned room, but the fan in the room was adequate and that is the only minor negative thing I can think of to write.

Everyone was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to reserve tickets for the museums in Florence for us while we went to Pisa for the day.

The situation of the hotel is great, with a walk to restaurants, shops and bars in the lovely village/town close by. The gardens are lovely and there are lots of sun beds dotted around allowing you to relax in peace or you can use the beds and shade by the pool which was small but lovely.

There is a lovely terrace to sit on for evening drinks or coffee, and tables in the garden which we used onto eat a lunchtime pic-nic with food bought from the local co-op and we were always wished Bon Appertite by all the staff who passed by, making us feel quite at home!

The food for breakfast was fine and as expected, with the service and desire to help outstanding.

All in all the situation of the hotel, the relaxed atmosphere and the kindness of all the staff would definitely allow me to highly recommend this hotel and I would happily return.

Room Tip: Room 32 has a very large bathroom with a window allowing the air to move around the bedroom!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Jane G, we thank you for the lovely review about our hotel Salivolpi, your words make us proud and plenty of joy. From your words we can feel how pleasant has been your stay with us in Chianti: from the moments spent in our beautiful areas, relaxing days by the swimming pool or in our lovely and refreshing garden. Our visiting all the beautiful spots around us: as most of our guests you have noticed that our country hotel has a very good position in the heart of the Chianti area, good place to depart for the visit of the nicest villages of the region, from Castellina in Chianti to San Gimignano, from Siena to Monteriggioni and many more. It was a pleasure for us participate at the organization of your holiday here and we think that the result was appreciated!
We hope to see you again at Salivolpi, you will be really welcome any time!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week in August. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and nicely decorated. If you are travelling in the summer months, better to get AC as the rooms directly under the roof can get really hot. Nice and clean swimming pool. The hotel is located about 1 km out of the centre of the village and although it can be a bit far to walk, it did not really bother us. I am sorry to say that we would have been happy to give this hotel a good review had it not been for one the staff in charge (Silvia) who was very rude to us throughout our stay. Perhaps she was tired or she just took a dislike to my husband and I for asking to change room but her attitude nearly ruined our stay. At one point I thought of leaving the hotel early (which I would have done had our room not been prepaid). This was the third hotel we stay in during our two weeks holiday in Tuscany and the only time where we encountered such a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms not face the parking are more quiet and have a better view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herisson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews