We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, charming hotel in middle of wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If staying in the wonderful old, I believe 11th century, farmhouse isn't enough the great service, fantastic breakfasts, beautiful grounds and central location seal the deal. It's a ten minute walk to town and is a great central location to visit the Chianti and Siena regions. We got there later in day after many travel hours and found a great restaurant just down the hill from Salivolpi. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Stephanie A, our warmest thank you for your beautiful words and your enthusiasm in writing your impressions about your stay in our 14th century old farmhouse. We dedicate all our care and devotion to care about our guests, giving them precious informations, healthy and genuine breakfasts and indications to discover the beautiful and charming Chianti region as its best, where beauty and good food reign sovereign! We hope to welcome you again for another beautiful journey!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our recent Tuscan holiday, and as we drove in we knew it was going to be perfect. The renovated farmhouse is so charming and has so much character, the first thing we did was start taking pictures. How often do you get to stay in a stone country house? Our room was on the top floor and we loved it. Every detail is perfect, iron beds, quilts, rugs, etc. Breakfast was excellent, served in what looks like the converted barn, well done. Didn't get to use the pool but it looked tempting had the weather been hotter. We toured around Chianti from here and found this to be an excellent base. Everyone was helpful and very welcoming. We would certainly come again, this is a lovely property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear freddyVancouver, our warmest thank you for the lovely words you spent about our Hotel Salivolpi in Chianti countryside! We are so glad you have perfectly caught the charming essence of our old stone made farmhouse, the well cared rooms, all different one from each other, with pretty decorations and original furnishing, the garden and the swimming pool, for a relaxing swim after a full day of discovery trips. Happy that you appreciated our helpful and welcoming team, everybody does its best to make guests feel like home. We really hope to welcome you again in the future!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Castellina made a great base for visiting Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and (slightly further away) Pisa. And the Salivolpi was a lovely place to return to, or to spend a relaxing day by the pool when we didn't fancy travelling. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the rooms charming. The fans were perfectly adequate when we were there, with daytime temperatures in low 30s. It's slightly out of town, but the nearest restaurant is great (including the nutella pizza!) and the boys didn't mind the walk when there are ice creams to die for on the way back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear StuartCambs, our warmest thank you for sharing your opinion and your impressions about our country Hotel Salivolpi. Our position, just a few steps away from Castellina centre and right in the middle of Chianti area, near to wonderful places as Siena, Firenze, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni makes our Hotel as a perfect starting point for wonderful daily trips and a comfortable place where coming back after a full discovery day, for a relaxing swim, or to sip a glass of wine, while relaxing in the peaceful garden. Love to read that you liked the charming and well cared rooms, all decorated with original old styled tuscan furnishings, keeping the original atmosphere of the country home. And we are very glad to read that you appreciated our kind staff, always helpful and ready to give useful suggestions to our guests. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Chianti, you will be always Welcome!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent a night in Castellina as part of our honeymoon trip through Tuscany. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we knew we had made the right decision. The quaint farmhouse feel was exactly what we were looking for. Silvia on the front desk was warm and welcoming and gave us all the information we needed to have a great evening. We were kindly upgraded to a better room, which was a good size, clean and had an air-con. The grounds and swimming pool were great, and the buffet breakfast in the next day was the best we had the whole holiday. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. There is parking on site, and the hotel is a nice scenic short walk from the centre of town. One of the best parts of this stop-over was the Gelateria at the end of the road (via Fiorentina), just before you go into town, it was the best we had the entire holiday! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iobas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear lobas2000, thank you for choosing us as a part of your honeymoon trip and thank you for your nice and enthusiastic review about your stay at our country Hotel Salivolpi: we can understand that even one single night left good memories of us! Glad that you appreciated the warm welcome from Silvia, with her useful and practical indications for a perfect stay. And also glad you liked the comforts of old-country-styled rooms, the well kept grounds and the whole area around the hotel. Our healthy and various breakfast buffet then gives our guests the good morning for a wonderful day of discovery. The small town of Castellina in Chianti then offers a large variety of places where tasty dishes of local food and yummy ice creams do reign. We will be happy to see you again in the future, you will be most welcome, for sure!!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

my family and I recently stayed a few nights at salivolpi. the place was rustic, natural, and beautiful. however it was the staff working at the hotel which made the difference, in particular Silvia who was patient, supportive, and always so pleasant - especially with our 3 year old son. we for sure would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tun-Cheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Tun C, our deepest thank you for sharing your opinion about our country Hotel Salivolpi, your words let us imagine that your stay with us has been pleasant and that you appreciated every moment spent in our Hotel with a special Thank you from Silvia! Glad that you liked the rustic and charming atmosphere of our place, with its wooden beams, cotto floor and pretty rooms well decorated and furnished with original ancient tuscan pieces. The staff is happy and proud that you and your family enjoyed their work and efforts to make your stay here a very special stay. See you next time in Chianti!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had been meaning to post a review forever but I knew it was time to do so when
my husband and I found ourselves so fondly remembering our relaxing stay in Castellina.
Our room was quaint, quiet and nicely decorated. Bed was comforatable and we loved sleeping with the windows open for the nights breeze.
The grounds are lovely and well kept. We enjoyed ending the days adventure just relaxing on the lawn with a bottle of wine beofre dinner.
Sylvia was just wonderful setting up wine tours,dinners and great exploring day trips. We ate and drank and ate and drank...she did not steer us wrong once!!
We also had breakfast with the room which was a perfect little start to the day.
The staff were friendly ,fun, full of great advice and ideas for your day trips!
Wonderful hotel great basecamp for exploring the area!
We'll be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear mmalin, our deepest “thank you” for the beautiful words you have spent for us. We are really happy to see that your appreciation in every thing about our country hotel: from the pretty details of our well cared and cozy rooms, the beautiful and refreshing garden that gives a little shadow during beautiful and sunny summer days, and where you may enjoy a good glass of Chianti wine hearing happy birds singing all around…. A special Thank you from Silvia, ever waiting for you with many other suggestions! Our Staff is proud and always happy to help the guests in their daily planning and to tell some secret places to reach to discover the Chianti region and all the towns around at the best. Loved that you enjoyed also our healthy breakfast buffet as a starting point for a wonderful exploring day.
Please keep best memories about us, you will be most welcome, whenever you want, see you!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the hotel. After modern, air conditioned hotel rooms in Rome and Venice, I was a little disappointed not to have another air conditioned room, but the fan in the room was adequate and that is the only minor negative thing I can think of to write.

Everyone was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to reserve tickets for the museums in Florence for us while we went to Pisa for the day.

The situation of the hotel is great, with a walk to restaurants, shops and bars in the lovely village/town close by. The gardens are lovely and there are lots of sun beds dotted around allowing you to relax in peace or you can use the beds and shade by the pool which was small but lovely.

There is a lovely terrace to sit on for evening drinks or coffee, and tables in the garden which we used onto eat a lunchtime pic-nic with food bought from the local co-op and we were always wished Bon Appertite by all the staff who passed by, making us feel quite at home!

The food for breakfast was fine and as expected, with the service and desire to help outstanding.

All in all the situation of the hotel, the relaxed atmosphere and the kindness of all the staff would definitely allow me to highly recommend this hotel and I would happily return.

Room Tip: Room 32 has a very large bathroom with a window allowing the air to move around the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Jane G, we thank you for the lovely review about our hotel Salivolpi, your words make us proud and plenty of joy. From your words we can feel how pleasant has been your stay with us in Chianti: from the moments spent in our beautiful areas, relaxing days by the swimming pool or in our lovely and refreshing garden. Our visiting all the beautiful spots around us: as most of our guests you have noticed that our country hotel has a very good position in the heart of the Chianti area, good place to depart for the visit of the nicest villages of the region, from Castellina in Chianti to San Gimignano, from Siena to Monteriggioni and many more. It was a pleasure for us participate at the organization of your holiday here and we think that the result was appreciated!
We hope to see you again at Salivolpi, you will be really welcome any time!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#8 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: £50 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing