We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed only one night on our way to Florence. Our room was noisy as the window faces the main road - traffic noise late at night and at the first crack of dawn.
Breakfast is not included unless you pay Euro7 per person. We paid Euro75 or Euro79 for our room and I think it is definitely overpriced with no breakfast.
This hotel is within walking distance to the village but I won't be coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Ms. Vivienne h,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our typical authentic Tuscan-style property offers various room types with different characteristics: your room was a Superior one with a fantastic view of the vineyards, by the side of the road however usually, there is very little traffic also because is a secondary countryside one way road. If you had reported to reception your difficulties, with pleasure we changed the room in a more congenial for you. From our web-site it’s possible to see the size, location and photos of each room to be able to choose the favorite room. We give the opportunity to the customers to have a little breakfast at the lobby bar (so you pay the consumer) or a breakfast buffet that offers fresh produces such as fresh fruit, bread and wholemeal sandwiches, juices, yogurt , eggs, croissants of two types, homemade cake, jam, two kinds of cheeses, two types of cold meats as well any kind of hot drinks (espresso, coffee, cappuccino, tea, chocolate etc ...), cookies, biscuits, corn flakes of 2 types, muesli etc ...
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel Salivolpi maybe for a longer stay to be able to appreciate the best of our hospitality.
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    145
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
339
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The staff at the hotel were the absolute best. Friendly, knowledgeable, and always there to help you with whatever you needed. The rooms where each unique and modern at the same time. New bathroom, room cleaned everyday to an extreme. The breakfast area was tucked away in a small peaceful area, also with incredible staff and food. I will go back to Tuscany because of this hotel - also the best gelato was only a fifteen minute walk down the street! what a bonus

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel Salivolpi is an old charming Tuscan farmhouse. It is clean, and the grounds are beautiful and well kept. Silvia and the folks at the hotel were very warm, friendly, and helpful. The quaint Tuscan village is a short walk and has some great restaurants (great pizza), wine shops, and is just a great place to hang out. We also used the hotel as a home base for visiting Florence, Sienna, and many of the Chianti hill villages. A car is really needed. In the late afternoons we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine on the terrace amidst the rolling greens, flowers and trees. This hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. We would definitely go back, and have already recommended it to friends and family. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked vineyards and olive groves. It was hard not to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Don K, thank you for the time you spent at our country hotel Salivolpi and thank you for the time you dedicate in writing this lovely review about your stay with us. Our old and cozy farmhouse in the middle of the breathtaking Chianti region is a perfect starting point for all the daily trips that can be organized to discover the beautiful spots and cities around us; the town of Castellina is only a few steps away from our country hotel Salivolpi and offers a variety of yummy restaurants and wonderful vine shops. The well cared and inviting garden then, is the best place to sip a glass of wine after a full day of discovery trips. A special Thank you from Silvia & all staff with our best wishes for your future and we will be really honoured to welcome you again, dear friends!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brinklow, MD
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are so many wonderful things about the Hotel Salivolpi that it would be impossible to list them all! My husband and I were travelling with my parents who are in their 80s and were celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary. We arrived late in the afternoon and were welcomed by Silvia. She took time to explain all the local sights, give recommendations for restaurants, etc. When she showed us the rooms, she realized that my father might have difficulty climbing stairs and offered to provide accommodations on the first floor! She was very kind to my parents and took the time to help them with whatever they needed.

The breakfast was very pleasant - the coffee very good! The staff in the dining room was attentive and tables were cleared and food restocked as necessary. The hotel bar had a great variety of wine, beer and other drinks, all at very affordable prices.

The beauty of Hotel Salivolpi is everywhere - the rooms, the grounds, the pool. I read in one of their books in the room that their whole purpose is ensure that their guests have the most pleasurable experience possible. Many places make this claim, but Salivolpi lived up to it. It was a magical experience and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadJackMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear MadJackMom, thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so happy of your wonderful description about your stay with us, we really enjoyed welcoming you and your family here and to be mostly helpful in making your stay as perfect as possible! Our purpose is to give all our guests the possibility to enjoy in full way the holidays at our country hotel Salivolpi, and when we realize that our work is appreciated, this gives us the boost to do it even better! Our staff is always ready and careful, but also our position helps us, the scenery is so attractive and charming and you can catch beauty everywhere around us. Our rooms remember the times when the hotel was a farmhouse, it seems time has stopped and you can feel the history in it. And everything is completed by our offer of good products in our breakfast buffet and bar products, that is possible to taste in here! What more can we say…. Silvia, all the Staff and the Management thank you again for your visit, please don’t forget us, you will be mostly welcome any time you want!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

If staying in the wonderful old, I believe 11th century, farmhouse isn't enough the great service, fantastic breakfasts, beautiful grounds and central location seal the deal. It's a ten minute walk to town and is a great central location to visit the Chianti and Siena regions. We got there later in day after many travel hours and found a great restaurant just down the hill from Salivolpi. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Stephanie A, our warmest thank you for your beautiful words and your enthusiasm in writing your impressions about your stay in our 14th century old farmhouse. We dedicate all our care and devotion to care about our guests, giving them precious informations, healthy and genuine breakfasts and indications to discover the beautiful and charming Chianti region as its best, where beauty and good food reign sovereign! We hope to welcome you again for another beautiful journey!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our recent Tuscan holiday, and as we drove in we knew it was going to be perfect. The renovated farmhouse is so charming and has so much character, the first thing we did was start taking pictures. How often do you get to stay in a stone country house? Our room was on the top floor and we loved it. Every detail is perfect, iron beds, quilts, rugs, etc. Breakfast was excellent, served in what looks like the converted barn, well done. Didn't get to use the pool but it looked tempting had the weather been hotter. We toured around Chianti from here and found this to be an excellent base. Everyone was helpful and very welcoming. We would certainly come again, this is a lovely property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear freddyVancouver, our warmest thank you for the lovely words you spent about our Hotel Salivolpi in Chianti countryside! We are so glad you have perfectly caught the charming essence of our old stone made farmhouse, the well cared rooms, all different one from each other, with pretty decorations and original furnishing, the garden and the swimming pool, for a relaxing swim after a full day of discovery trips. Happy that you appreciated our helpful and welcoming team, everybody does its best to make guests feel like home. We really hope to welcome you again in the future!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Castellina made a great base for visiting Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and (slightly further away) Pisa. And the Salivolpi was a lovely place to return to, or to spend a relaxing day by the pool when we didn't fancy travelling. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the rooms charming. The fans were perfectly adequate when we were there, with daytime temperatures in low 30s. It's slightly out of town, but the nearest restaurant is great (including the nutella pizza!) and the boys didn't mind the walk when there are ice creams to die for on the way back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear StuartCambs, our warmest thank you for sharing your opinion and your impressions about our country Hotel Salivolpi. Our position, just a few steps away from Castellina centre and right in the middle of Chianti area, near to wonderful places as Siena, Firenze, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni makes our Hotel as a perfect starting point for wonderful daily trips and a comfortable place where coming back after a full discovery day, for a relaxing swim, or to sip a glass of wine, while relaxing in the peaceful garden. Love to read that you liked the charming and well cared rooms, all decorated with original old styled tuscan furnishings, keeping the original atmosphere of the country home. And we are very glad to read that you appreciated our kind staff, always helpful and ready to give useful suggestions to our guests. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Chianti, you will be always Welcome!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
572 reviews
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
366 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Property: Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Address: Via Fiorentina 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing