We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted & more!”
Review of Locanda Le Piazze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda Le Piazze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

After reading the wonderful reviews of this establishment we were excited to spend a couple of nights here and we were not disappointed. The hotel had arranged a friendly, prompt driver to pick us up from Florence, we were dropped off early in the morning we could not check in until 3pm, however this wasn't an issue as they looked after our bags, provided us with towels and told us to head dow to the pool! Come 3pm we were checked in and settled in our beautiful room with an outstanding view.

The staff could not do anything more for you if they tried, so friendly and welcoming it felt like home within hours!

Me and my partner are massive foodies and as others have said previously, you must eat here! The food is of near michelin standard and the service was faultless. As for the location, you won't see many places more beautiful, peaceful and tranquil as Chianti! The pool is lovely, always beds, and the honesty bar makes things very relaxed, theres a feeling like you are in your own villa! Take the opportunity to head into Castellina also the nearest town for a few hours, they provided us with a wonderful driver who gave us info on the area on the drive and even booked us a little table on a rustic italian for lunch!

Cannot wait to re book and bring our parents back here next summer!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MusicGem282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Mrs. MusicGem2,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed our hospitality and spent quality days at Locanda Le Piazze.
Our hotel is a little gem surrounded by a charming landscape of the Tuscan countryside, and from every corner of the property is possible to see a glimpse of its beauty.
Our main goal is to make our guests feel at home, this is the reason why our public areas are always available for our guests to enjoy, and also the choice to put an honor bar at the pool and one in the main building. Our staff is always happy to assist you and provide useful and practical details before and during your visit.
The kitchen of Chef Guido Haverckok is based on a few but valid elements: fresh and seasonal ingredients, creativity, and passion in carrying out his profession. And it is mainly thanks to this last if his whole team work at its best offering a good service and tasty food.
We will be delighted to welcoming you all again at our hotel, and send you our warmest regards!
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and all the staff of La Locanda Le Piazze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at Locande Le Piazze for 3 nights in August 2014.
Overall the accommodation and facilities were good, however given the cost of US$300 per night it was not very good value or as 'luxurious' as made out to be (and thus expected).

Good: lovely pool in a gorgeous setting, nice location for breakfast overlooking the Tuscan countryside, location good as close to Castellina in Chianti and short trip to Siena, nice staff

Neutral: breakfast OK, option of eating in the restaurant on premises (though comparatively $$$), self-service bar however the fridges were locked so you couldn't access red wines unless the waiter was present

Bad: wifi never worked, tiny room (the Tower suite - 30 internal steps over 3 levels), loud air conditioner, shower/tap water pressure varied from heavy to cut out completely - on one occasion I had to wait 20 minutes for the water to come back on to wash out shampoo which was annoying, flat pillows and rough sheets (IKEA brand linen, ?luxury)

Room Tip: Ask for a single storey room, avoid the Tower Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear A M,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in the area and for leaving your review on tripadvisor
We are always happy to read critics as they do permit us to grow and to offer better service to our welcome guests.
We wish to apologize once again for the lack of water, as we did at the moment of your check out by even applied a discount for your entire stay. Unfortunately, technical problems occur also in 4 and 5 stars hotels; We did our best with our technician and the issue, as you wrote, has been solved quickly.
We have not been informed about wi fi problems, sorry: our wi fi network covers the entire property including the pool area, and it is a service we offer for free to the guests; We are located in the country side, and we have a satellite internet provider; however, especially during bad weather, the service is not constant.
Concerning the size of the rooms, we offer 3 room types at the hotel: deluxe, executive and executive with patio; you have booked a deluxe double( $275) which is, as per room type description, the smallest one available at the property ( but considered by many as the cutest). The description also includes that the tower room is located on 3rd floor, with no lift. We underline this point as we know that climbing 3 floor stairs could cause some problems in people having walking issues.

Honour bar: we have two bars at the hotel, one in the main building and one at the pool area. Both are honour bars. The one at the pool area is from 10:30 am to 8:00 pm, when the pool also closes. So you mentioned drawers, which is the pool bar.

The one in the main building is open 24/7, and all fridges are open 24/7. Red wines by the glass are available in the same area. Maybe you mean the “ wine cellar" where we store all our wines? We are sorry if there have been some misunderstanding in our communications, but indeed the cantinetta is managed by our staff only.

For the breakfast and restaurant: A description of our menus, including breakfast one, is on our website and shows all pricing. Clients are free to consult them and decide if it is matching their liking and budget prior booking at the hotel. We do use only high quality products, fresh, local and organic for most part and they come at a higher price. We do put this emphasis on our website as well.

Once Again, thank you very much for your review.
Our best wishes from the heart of Chianti.

Claudia Corti
Vice Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent four nights here as part of our honeymoon and wow, what a beautiful place this is! We had a very lovely room with a private terrace and we've never before experienced such peace and quiet at a hotel. Just what we needed. The service was impeccable. Thank you again, Claudia, for the complimentary Prosecco! Lovely!
The ONLY downside is that the bathroom could really use a touch-up. At this price you should expect a higher standard. However, this in no way ruined our wonderful stay!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mariann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mariann,
Thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing Locanda Le Piazze as destination to celebrate your honeymoon.
It is very important for us reading that you left Locanda Le Piazze with good memories of the experiece you made.
Concerning bathroom renovations, 14 of a total of 18 bedrooms have been renovated already; we miss the ones in the building you stayed in, which will be done as soon as the property close beginning of November. Improvements to the property are made constantly
We hope to see you back again soon in our hotel, and send you warmest greetings.
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the staff of Locanda Le Piazze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We escarped the Florence crowd, and reached Locanda Le Piazze in less than an hour. Very charming tuscan experience, peacefull location in the middle of Ruffino Chianti wineyards. The service is great, the pool size more than decent. There is an honesty bar all day long. The breakfast is good, could be improved by adding Prosecco or local white wine. Perfect for a Romantic stay under the stars.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kmauffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Kmauffrey,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very happy you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff and all the services offered in our property.
The location of the pool allows the guest to enjoy a beautiful landscape, and the choice of providing an honor bar has been made to make our guests feel at home.
We are pleased to accept your note about our breakfast, every advices is welcoming and help us to make improvements.
We hope to welcome you again in our boutique hotel, and send you our kindest regards.
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the staff of La Locanda Le Piazze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the earth of Toscana, near siena and Firenze, it s the best place to enjoy the best food and wine from Italy. Everything is as expected, especially the restaurant and the view! I Highly recommand to stay at this hotel if you are in the region...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doms1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Doms 1977,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are happy to know that everything has been as you expected.
We are happy that you have spent quality time in our restaurant. Every detail has been choosen carefully: starting from the selection of wines made from our sommellier to our chef Guido Haverckok, who personally selects every ingredient assuring that is fresh and seasonal.
We will be delighted to welcoming you all again at our hotel in the future, and send you warm regards!
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the staff of La Locanda Le Piazze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our second time at Le Piazze and we had an amazing time again! Great location to enjoy the view of Tuscany and a short car drive to a number of beautiful charming towns. Recently remodeled areas but still the Italy villa charm....The staff was amazing and assisted with all of our needs. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and enjoying the amazing view all at the same time. We enjoyed all of our meals from the on site restaurant, Tavola. Superb food, great wine and amazing staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rsjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Rsjus,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about us.
Our team works hard in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible, and nothing makes us happier than knowing that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you again, why not, already next year!
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the staff of La Locanda Le Piazze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The happiest songbirds in Italy sing here! Great location for easily driving to Tuscan hill towns from Volpaia to Lamole to Arezzo in the North and East to Volterra, San Gimignano, Siena in the West. Located in a vineyard, the Locande features classic old stone architecture with ultra modern bath and shower rooms, the Locande is also excellent for a day of blissful leisure around the pool. Breakfast offerings are of the highest quality, dinner sublime and lunch delicious, though smaller portions as typical for many Michelin star restaurants-the German chef, Guido, is a kick! If you wish a romantic rendezvous with no one interrupting your reveries, the staff instinctively honors this but if you do wish to engage, the staff led by Claudia are fun, helpful,lively, charming young people (ask them for the best pizza in Italy and they will tell you!). We stayed 6 nights in May and were so sad to leave.

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room, and our request was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HtfdJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Locanda Le Piazze.
What helps in making our hotel special is the location, romantic and reserved, but at the same time very conveniently located to reach the main towns of the area
Moreover, every detail is designed for the pleasure of our guests, and our staff is happy to be helpful in order to make their stay as special as possible, so we are happy to know that you enjoyed it!
.
Our best wishes, and we hope to have the possibility to welcoming you again in the next future.
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the staff of La Locanda Le Piazze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
601 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
552 reviews
9.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
575 reviews
7.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Le Piazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Le Piazze

Address: Localita le Piazze 41, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: £192 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Le Piazze 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you dream of discovering a small, luxury boutique four star hotel in Tuscany, the romantic Locanda Le Piazze is as exclusive as you will find. Located in between Florence and Sienna, the hotel sits upon a picturesque hill about 6km away from the village of Castellina in Chianti boasting a breathtaking view of the surrounding vineyards.Exuding a simple and understated decor, Locanda Le Piazze was completely renovated this spring and fitted with modern amenities. Each room features air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini bar and safe.A path through olive groves leads to a stunning swimming pool and terrace. Welcomes children 14 and above. Our restaurant " TAVOLA DI GUIDO" by Chef Guido Haverkock offers a variation of traditional Tuscan cuisine, using biological local ingredients." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Le Piazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Le Piazze Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing