We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, quality hotel with beautiful views in a lovely location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quiet, quality hotel with beautiful views in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The hotel is located on the main pedestrian street in quiet Castellina. On one side of the hotel there is the street and you feel you are in the centre of the town while on the other you are in the vineyards of the countryside. The hotel is beautifully furnished and the rooms are spacious and airy. We did not need the air conditioning during our stay. The bathrooms are marble and the showers forceful. We had one standard room and one superior room. The real difference between the rooms is the view. The standard is extremely good quality but looked onto the narrow street below, still very quiet though as the street is pedestrianised apart from loading an unloading, restricted to certain times of the day. The superior room, on the other hand, had a beautiful view, overlooking the pool, hills, valley and vineyards.
The breakfasts were of a good standard offering juices, fruit, cereal, bread, eggs, meats and cheeses. There isn't a restaurant but there are plenty in the old town. (See reviews). We tried the spa in the basement and found this to be beautiful - the old bricks and stones of the town made up the walls and ceilings and it was very tastefully decorated. Lovely. The spa seemed under-used during our stay and we were the only ones there when we tried it out. Most visitors to the hotel stayed fewer nights than us but we chose to relax around the pool as well as see the sights. The swiming pool was extremely cold and it was entertaining to watch peoples' faces as they entered for the first time! The owners/members of staff that we met were all helpful and pleasant. We required a trip to the local GP during our stay and this took a total of 25 mins from announcing our need to Irene in the hotel reception, visitng the doctor's surgery, consulting with the doctor (didn't take long as his English was as limited as our Italian and the eye infection was easy to spot), visiting the Pharmacy and collecting the eye drops (6.5 Euros).
All in all a perfect hotel in a perfect location. No other hotel in Castellina offers the same standard of accommodation with a pool. From the alternatives we saw, they were all outside the old town and required a walk to restaurants etc.
The only reason for 4 blobs on value rather than 5 is that we did find just about everything, including all hotel prices, in Tuscany expensive - not helped by the current Euro/Pound exchange rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    76
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
190
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This was our first time to Italy and we first visited Rome before traveling to Tuscany. We booked two rooms, one for our three kids and one for my wife and me. Based on the reviews from tripadvisor, we had high expectations for this hotel and they were exceeded in almost every way. Sabina at the front desk was quite friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The La Torre restaurant up the hill had the most remarkable food and the town is very beautiful and charming. The pool was a bonus and allowed us some time to relax after spending some hectic days in Rome and the Vatican seeing the sites. Breakfast was included and was also terrific. Our greatest disappointment was only being able to stay for two nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troberts14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Prior to arrival we were slightly worried about this "small town hotel". You really never know what you get, even with the help of TA reviews :)
All our worries melted away. castellina is a wonderful small town, with perhaps 6 or 7 restaurants (the best by far we found was up past the hotel 100 metres on the right just past the church, great Pizza and a fabulous menu and wine list).
The hotel has fantastic views from the rear, the bar area, and the pool. the rooms are very spacious (deluxe or superior, can't remember) and with good A/C. The breakfast is fine. Staff are very friendly. the pool is good. There is a truly wonderful lounge area with free wifi, and there's a free internet connected laptop for those who travel without the necessary IT equipment. Ask at reception for the free pass-code (we needed 4 which raised eyebrows, but iPhones, iTouch, iPad - it all adds up!).
All in all a real gem. If you are looking for swish 5 star luxury with all amenities, this isn't it. If you are looking for character, modern facilities, great service and a fantastic location - this can't be beaten !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We were lucky to choose this hotel. It is located in a beautiful town and a great base to explore the chianti region. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the room very comfortable, and a great breakfast. We loved the spa and jacuzzi - what a way to relax after a day of sightseeing. We enjoyed the restaurants in walking distance. We strongly recommend Palazzo Squarcialupi

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queengerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the farmhouse, La Ferrozzola, which is a 3 minute drive outside of town (and a 10 minute walk.) It was like stepping into another time.

We had an apartment of 3 floors in a large farmhouse. Each apartment has its own entrance and patio. The first floor had a large area for a living, dining, and kitchen area. Second floor had a bedroom with a Queen-sized bed and bath with a shower. The Third floor was enormous, with two beds plus if you need, a pullout couch, a cot, and a crib. For a family of 4 (or bigger, it was perfect.) Everything was spotless and the quality of the furniture and amenities was perfect.

Our friends stayed in the smaller apartment and it was good for a family of 4 with 2 smaller kids. There is a separate house for larger groups, but our apartment could sleep 5 comfortably.

The house sits on a vineyard with breathtaking views of rolling hills. You're surrounded by rosemary, grapes, and olive trees - Italy in a nutshell. There is a good-sized, well maintained in-ground pool with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Each apartment also had a small BBQ grill, which we took advantage of a couple of times.

The services are provided by the main hotel up in town. This is where you check in, pick up your keys, get extra towels, use Wi-Fi, etc. However, note that because we stayed at the farm and not the hotel, there was no daily room service. You basically have your own house for the duration of the trip. They do clean up after you leave. Also note that since it is a working vineyard, depending on the apartment you get, there are some days when a tractor starts up at 7:30 am. This wasn't a problem for us since the atmosphere is so relaxing.

The town of Castellina is lovely, with a few great (GREAT) restaurants. There's everything you need - a couple of banks, gift shops, a small supermarket, store fronts for local vineyards, and an amazing salumeria. The people are friendly - who wouldn't be if they lived in a place like this?

We used the town as a base of operations for trips to Florence (about 30 minute drive) and Siena (about 20 minutes) and around Tuscany, but when it came down to it, our favorite part was getting back to the house after a long day of sightseeing and enjoying the scenery, pool, and food. And of course, the wine.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlupetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This was such a beautiful town and we wish we could have spent more time here. Staff was very pleasant, breakfast was great, room was clean, renovated and spacious, gardens/pool have gorgeous view, spa was soooo relaxing. Gem of a hotel that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Great location in middle of Tuscany in a charming small town
Spacious and comfortable rooms - supplement buys a lovely view over the hills
Excellent service - ask Irene for a hot chocolate - it's the best!
Restaurants over the road well worth eating at and serve til late (we arrived about 1130pm)
Pity the outside pool wasn't heated but spa excellent
Sitting outside on the balcony with a glass of wine was a highlight
We hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripManManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
3.1 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi

Property: Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Address: Via Ferruccio 22, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing