We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place that feels like Tuscany”
Review of Hotel Il Colombaio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Colombaio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a beautiful place to stay. Roberta the owner was just lovely (as was her cat) and speaks great English The rooms are spacious with beautiful furniture and wood beamed ceilings. Staying here really makes you feel that you are staying in Tuscany. It has a beautiful pool area and outdoor area and is walking distance to restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The inside and rooms of this Albergo were very clean and rustic , the owner, Roberta, was very helpful and friendly, the position was very good for walking into the town. We met some very interesting fellow travellers. There was a big swimming pool with lots of sun loungers which could have been fabulous with a good clean and the grounds also needed attention. It just felt tired!
The plastic chairs used outside for breakfast needed cleaning. It said there was a bar; there wasn't but Roberta was happy to lend glasses and provide ice. We enjoyed our stay but felt the place needed someone to sort the pool and grounds out.

Room Tip: If it's very hot have a downstairs room as there is no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a lovely night's stay here (Albergo di Colombaio) at the beginning of our Chianti cycle tour.

Although we stayed in other pricier hotels, nowhere was the breakfast coffee as good or the breakfast croissant as tasty. And the town, with it's multitude of tempting restaurants, is just a step across the road.

Up the hill behind the hotel/ B and B is the site of some Etruscan tombs - a good viewpoint, and the perfect place to digest the aforesaid b. c. and c. on a sunny morning, before climbing back into the saddle and working up an appetite for the next meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We dined here in September with a group in excess of 20 people. Some of the comments in this review may be a result of the size of our group and the attendant effect upon the kitchen.

The food was delicious and well presented -- perfectly showcasing the avant-gard Tuscan style of this restaurant. The ambiance was charming, enhanced by the many decorative plates displayed on the rock walls -- complimented by the many candelabras and homey touches of glassware, lace, pottery, statuary and paintings displayed throughout the restaurant.

The service on this slow nite, while good, was very slow . . . lasting nearly 4 hours, when it should have been some 2 to 2.5 hours. We were all quite fatigued and left before the apres desserts were served at our tables. That did not stop the owner, an adorable Italian matriarchal type, from chasing us down to serve us those warm tid-bits of tastey delight as we made it to our vans in the parking lot of the restaurant. Very cute and endearing!

My wife and I would surely return, but next time with a much smaller group.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is family run, clean, comfortable & well located at the edge of the town. Roberta greets guests at reception & is very helpful & friendly. We had a good sized room with adequate furniture & a small fridge which was handy to keep cold drinks. Bathroom was spacious with over bath shower, clean linen & hair dryer provided. There is a swimming pool which is nicely positioned at the back of the hotel. The pool itself was clean & well maintained but the surrounding area needed to be power hosed or cleaned as it looked a bit neglected. The shower area at the pool also required attention but as it was late in the season and nobody seemed to use the pool (due to the weather change), perhaps this will be done shortly. While breakfast is provided from a tiny kitchen, it could be improved (same bread roll & croissant choice daily & only apples for fruit).
This hotel is located at the edge of this lovely town & is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this area of Chianti. There is lots to see whether driving, walking or cycling (but only if you like hills)! Following a days sightseeing it was great to be able to walk into town for dinner, sample good Chianti & take the short walk back to this quiet hotel. I would definitely stay here again as it is a clean, friendly & good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raidy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Beautiful place, very kind reception, small but good breakfast and for very reasonable price.
From this place we made a beautiful tour through the Chianti district with such very different features and beautiful small places. It is unbelievable that nature has not been distroyed and the Middle Ages can be found in its purest form!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A beautiful little property, rustic, rundown but utterly charming. Roberta is amazing as host. Our room was spacious, lovingly decorated. Godd fridge for purchases in town, free wifi even by the pool. No air on made for a sticky night and I could of strangled the 2 cats that fought outside our window at 3am for over an hour but one of my nicest days in Tuscany was sitting by the pool drinking Chianti Roberta bought for us. 5min walk to town. Loved it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
3.1 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Colombaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Colombaio

Address: Via Chiantigiana 29, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Colombaio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very small charming hotel,located very closed to the center of town of Castellina in Chianti.13 rooms with bath and breakfast,free wi-fi,parking and swimming-pool.Here we do not have restaurant,but walking distance 300 meters we have two managed by the same family.Come and visit us you'll spend a nice and relaxing holiday with good food and wanderful wines!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Il Colombaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Colombaio Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing