We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poderi Val Verde
Nearby Hotels
Locanda Le Piazze(Castellina In Chianti)
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Casalecchi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi(Castellina In Chianti)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casafrassi Hotel(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Godenano(Castellina In Chianti)
Hotel Il Colombaio(Castellina In Chianti)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
181
19
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
19
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classstudio apartmentarchery rangefamily petsother guestsprivate terrace overlookinglocal marketdream vacationfully equipped kitchenred winetiramisuchianti areapastafabianulrichfarmhostess
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have recently had a week with family, including 4 children aged 3 to 11, and the whole experience was superb. Location is quiet but close enough to shops, restaurants etc and Siena which is beautiful is only half an hours drive. The accommodation is gorgeous, very peaceful, you can only hear animals & birds. The hostess with the mostess, Ulrike, goes out of her way to welcome you and make sure everything is in order and nothing is too much trouble. One of her 'welcome dinners' is a must as she is a fabulous cook and host. Could not fault this place and we will definitely be returning in the future. Many thanks Ulrike for making our holiday.xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you , Thank you, Thank you Urlike and staff ! Let me just start by saying our daughter had been dreaming of a Tuscan wedding her entire life and I must tell you it was above and beyond what any of us ever dreamt it would be. It was beautiful and perfect and so authentic in every way. Arranging details from the US was a challenge and you were instrumental in assisting us with every little detail of the wedding, catering, photographers, musicians, chaplain, flowers, table design and decor, location etc....You made yourself available to us and we could not have had this turn out so memorable if it wasn’t for your help and your gorgeous farm for the setting.

The location was set on the balcony of Casa Pineta, overlooking the gorgeous grounds and pool of Poderi Val Verde. It was just before sunset and although it sprinkled for a moment , the rain quickly stopped as if it knew there was going to be a wedding. Robbie the resident peacock and a few furry friends added a unique touch to the scene as they gathered with the guests preparing for the ceremony. Our guests sat on red draped chairs surrounded by olive trees / flowers and candles. Sweet musicians serenaded us as the ceremony began.

Photographs followed. Some were taken on site at the farmhouse, as well as downtown Castellina, and a nearby vineyard . It was absolutely gorgeous and a photographers and brides dream.

The table was set beautifully outdoors on a large farmhouse table. The place settings were a mix of elegant with organic. The Menu was “Magnifico” and completely home prepared and catered by Urlike and staff. We chose the menu and wine selections in advance. The courses were many and executed so beautifully. We were served wines, cheese, bruschetta, olives, bread and farm grown olive oil, fruits, pates, lamb, lasagna, and on and on. We all enjoyed a local made ice cream/cake that was delivered right in time. We sat lavishing outdoors for hours under the moonlight enjoying the festivities, atmosphere, friends and family, music, dancing laughing and crying and drinking and eating. What a celebration!!!

And last but not least. We were on a budget. We could not have had anywhere near this kind of memorable experience back home. The cost was 1/4 of what it would have been in the states Urlike was our wedding planner partner as she arranged so many of the vendors and catering and details from afar. This is very affordable for those on a budget who are wanting an authentic, UNFORGETTABLE wedding experience I highly recommend a wedding at Poderi Val Verde.

If you are interested in more about our wedding experience please feel free to contact Urlike and can share our info.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent two weeks in Poderi Val Verde in Castellina in Chaianti.
The grounds were beautiful with lots of blooming flowers and a lovely view of the country side.
Urlike our hostess was a delight. Helpful every time we ask for directions, the best vineyards to visit or where the best restaurants were. One of the best nights spend at Poderi val verde was our cooking class, Loads of fun and informative.
Jayne

Room Tip: because we were a large group we had several interconnecting apartments.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and our 3 children joined a friend, his wife and their child (a total of 8 people) for a beautiful, and incredibly fun, week at Casa Pineta in Poderi Val Verde.

The proprietor, Ulrike, is a magnificent hostess who consistently went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was exactly what we wanted--which is to say a farmhouse-style getaway in Chianti. She was on-hand anytime we need anything (more wine!), gave perfect dining recommendations resulting in discounts from some local establishments, and even helped arrange tours and told us the best places to park in our day-trip destinations (e.g., Florence, Sienna, etc.).

We opted to go for the daily breakfasts, which I *heartily* recommend. Every day was something a little bit different, coupled with homemade jams and jellies, and different teas (I am a tea drinker, the other adults all had coffees). In fact, Ulrike had some fantastic teas!

The accommodations are perfect--Wi-Fi, pool (that we had almost to ourselves anytime we wanted it), walking trails, table tennis, and of course, beautiful scenery!

For our family-style vacation, the outdoor Legos, the pool, and the cats were just right. There are plenty of great spots on-property for portraits, and the night sky is clear and bright.

I had a great time, with a great hostess, in a great region. What's not to love? We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Tuscany was the second week into our family vacation to Italy. After our initial week in Rome, we were looking for a relaxing time in Tuscany. We stayed in Casa Pineta along with another family for a week in mid-July.

Like other reviews, if you are looking for bed and breakfast type accomodItions or resort type setting then DON'T stay in Poderi Val Verdi. As Ulrike will tell you, "it's a working farm". STAY if you are looking for a rustic farmhouse (beds are somewhat uncomfortable), quiet evenings, and a place to return to after day trips to the Chianti countryside. Our teenagers loved the pool which was a welcome respite from intense heat during the day. Location is centrally located as Florence and Siena are all within 35 minutes of driving.

The town of Castellina is quaint with a well stocked Coop to purchase groceries and sundries. Do get gelato at Antica Delizia. Hubby liked the chocolate combined with black cherry or strawberry. One of the drawbacks is there is not enough in Castellina to visit each evening. Being first time visitors to Italy we were not comfortable driving long distance to return to the villa. You will need a car and download maps of Italy for your GPS.

All in all, we would recommend staying at Casa Pineta. We found Ulrike to be very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank 4kois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews