We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream vacation come true”
Review of Poderi Val Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poderi Val Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream vacation come true”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I visited this beautiful working farm in the countryside and I could not have been more pleased with his choice. I especially enjoyed the many animals that shared the grounds. The peacock and the sheep, chickens, etc. Our host has a working knowledge of herbs and as part of our cooking lesson we went and gathered some with her.
Her cooking skills are FABULOUS and I look forward to utilizing the tips I learned.
Ulrike also has great taste in wine and set up a few appointments for us to experience wine tasting in this region. What a treat.
I highly recommend staying at this very special property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    19
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
89
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is the place to go if you want to experience the lifestyle of a local resident that lives on a working farm in a spectacular setting . If you want a conceirge and personal sommelier, stay at any 5 star in Florence and enjoy. The location, about a mile north of the center of Castellina in Chianti is ideal. It's 20 minutes from Siena and 30 minutes to Florence with every other small village in between a short scenic drive. Don't think about coming here without a car. The restaurants are endless and well posted signs will help guide the way, I tend to stay away from the tourist guidebook stuff but you almost can't go wrong. I have stayed here a few times before so I have seen all the different apartments-villas. They all have the amenities that you would expect....fully equiped kitchens with all the gadgets, comfortable bedrooms with attached baths, fireplaces, tv's, etc. If you need to connect with the office at home not too worry, for there is wi-fi in all the villa's. The outdoor facilities are just as good....pools, BBQ's, lots of furniture to relax and great views from your private deck everywhere. If you want to arrange a chef to cook your meals or have a daily housekeeper , all can be arranged with ease. On Saturday nights, Ulrike has a welcome dinner which has been covered by others....don't miss it, she's an outstanding chef. If you fly into Rome, its about a 2 1/2 hour drive. Enjoy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagle, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were part of the group from the Pacific Northwest that stayed at this Villa, what a wonderful place to stay there was so much room for 8 people and everyone had their own bedroom and bathroom. It was well equipped for what we wanted. Our hostess was so informative about the area and was so helpful to get us a van and a personal guide. We relaxed, took wonderful day trips. The cooking class was fun and informative. The meals were exceptional (it sure beats cooking) I would recommend anyone wanting to enjoy the real Tuscan experience to stay at this Villa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carlene1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagle, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a wonderful experience, on a Tuscan farm near the small town of Castellina in Chianti. Our hostess Ulrika welcomed us, and was full of information about the entire region. She helped us acquire transportation,
(this place is rural and you need a car to visit all the wonderful small towns in Tuscany ) no public transport. We were fortunate to have her son as a personal guide for two days. Our villa, with 4 bedrooms, and 4 bathrooms,
for the 8 of us (4 couples) was absolutely perfect --modern bathrooms, and fully equiped kitchen in a 300 year old building. Plus we really enjoyed the large terrace and relaxing by the pool after a day of "touring". Do sign up in advance for the breakfast -- for the week. Excellent local produce and delicious homemade items by Ulrike. She is flexible on times and makes it easy to depart early for your day of "touring". We also had a great time learning to cook "Italian" with Ulrike as our teacher. Sign up for her cooking class. My final comment is to consult Ulrike ( the owner, host) on whatever you are planning -- preferably before you arrive. She is full of info and gives great advice. Staying in the villa at her farm was central to visiting so many of the small towns in Tuscany -- a truly wonderful Italian experience. We
highly recommend this villa for a wonderful and comfortable vacation. And kudos to Ulrike for great food and her expert advice for all us tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barbashupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
podvalv, Owner at Poderi Val Verde, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
to all my guests:
i take this opportunity to thank all my guests for their positive reviews. i also would like to thank all of them for the care and consideration they showed towards my property and the various accommodations. my small staff and myself have and will continue to try our utmost best to make this place special and worth remembering. we are aware that we cannot make everybody fully happy and meet comforts and standards tat you are used to in your private home or you might find in a much higher graded rental or hotel accommodation. after all this is a 350 year old working farm. but for the people that are looking for an authentic tuscan family run farm we promised the best.
hoping to see you again sometimes and looking forward to host friends and family of yours we remain with the best wishes for the future
ulrike, fabian, tiziana and christina - as well as toto and goia and all our aminals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

8 of us from a small town in the US stayed for a week and loved every minute of the atmosphere. So relaxing and authentic. We had breakfast served to us every morning at the main farm and dinner a couple of nights.. The cooking class was great. Can't wait to fix the dinner at home. The 300 year old building we stayed in was so great with accomodations for all of us to have our own bathrooms.. The owner is very knowledgeable in things to do in the area and her son served as a tour guide one day..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

For our first time to Italy and with our group of friends, 4 couples total, we wanted and found an authentic Tuscan villa to be our home away from home. When we arrived we found the house and the grounds as beautiful as imagined. It is what you could imagine a working Tuscan farm to be like, a large vegetable garden, goats, chickens, cats and dogs, even a peacock roaming the grounds. All very charming, to include the owner, Ulrike. She cooked us a welcome dinner, about 8 dishes, more food than we could eat but oh so very good. It was traditional style Italian farm country foods and many of the vegetables were harvested from her garden. The women of our group signed up for a cooking class and so enjoyed this. We made 6 dishes, appetizers to dessert, with our chef teacher Ulrike we prepared, cooked, and then with our husbands joining us, we ate our creations. We learned so much and enjoy the recipes Ulrike shared with us as well. I've already made the bruchetta. Bellisimo!! We did make a mistake in not having a car at our disposal and Ulrike helped us acquire a van for a couple days. Knowing we couldn't see everything in a week, Ulrike gave us great ideas and suggestions about seeing what interested us and fit into our time frame. We hired Ulrikes' son, Fabian, to be our tour guide for 2 days. He was such a pleasure and certainly knows the history of the country. We saw some of the beautiful region of Chianti/ Tuscany and learned so much. Such a great time!! You find yourself centrally oriented between Florence (Firenze) and Siena, Volterre and Assisi. It's a great get away place with easy access and warm and wonderful Tuscan charm. I strongly recommend this villa and the unique experience of meeting and working with Ulrike. You will consider yourself very lucky if you get to share a moment in her world. I will see her again someday.

(The fitness center is the great outdoors!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola Norton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, Ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were lucky to be part of the group celebrating the 30th anniversary of friends (see previous review) and stayed at Val Verde for 8 days.It is amazing that you can actually stay in such a picturesque place. Every time I walked to the villa from the parked car, I was shocked at how lovely the grounds, the rock walled buildings and the atmosphere were. It was such fun to have our "own" villa to cook in, relax in, stay up late drinking limoncello in.... and plan our next days' adventure. No, it wasn't a 5 star resort, and yes it was very tricky to find at first (especially in the dark) but that's not what we went there for. The vegie garden, the animals and Ulrike( the owner) all added to the charm of this lovely spot. It is quite centrally located to Florence and Sienna and a host of other small hill towns in Chianti. A car is a must to really see this part of the world. Ulrike was very helpful when my sister forgot her medication and arranged a speedy refill at the local pharmacy... quicker than any US pharmacy for sure! She also let us use her Co-Op grocery store discount card,attended a opera concert and after party with us, and took us on a wild, cross country drive to the sculpture park. (a must see!) As this was our first trip to Italy, we knew we would not be able to see it all. We concentrated on the Tuscany/Chianti area and after really living there (laundry,cooking, even a bit of sheep herding) we got a taste of what life is like in that area. We will just have to go back to see the rest on the next trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this spot for those who want a real taste of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Roads to many spots are gravel and it seems like you are lost all the time, but there at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
2.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poderi Val Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poderi Val Verde

Property: Poderi Val Verde
Address: Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official site of the WBHC 2017 Ask us for links to detailed apartment and property videos Val Verde, privately owned by the German Ulrike Eder, is an authentic rustic and still active farm estate from the 15th century offering relaxing country-style vacation. Its located only 3 km from Castellina in Chianti, some 35 km from Florenz and 25 km from Siena and very central to most important sights. On extended grounds we offer carefully restored, well-equipped self-catering apartments and houses ("Casa Pineta" - 4BR/4BA farm house, "Casa Acacia" - 3BR/2BA farm house, "Casa Capanninna" - 2BR/2BA cottage, "La Tana" - 2BR/1BA ground floor apartment, "La Bellavista" 1BR/1BA loft apartment, "Il Rifugio" -1BR/1BA studio) all very private with terraces, bbq etc. Rates range from euro 75/day (1 bedroom unit) to euro 400/day (4 bedroom unit) - we prefer weekly rentals - only the studio rents on a 3 day minimum period 2 ha of park-like gardens with large community pool (May-Sept), use of covered, unheated pool for cooler seasons possible on request, leisure area with garden furniture and shaddy gazebos as well as playground with sandbox, swing, soccer field, volley- and basketball equipment and ping-pong table. Only privately owned demanding 3D Archery Range in Tuscany with 22 positions, following the WBHC2017 there will be a total of 4 ranges !!! We give archery lessons and may teach flint napping Our little "zoo" hosts many cats, 2 dogs, geese,ducks, free roaming peacocks, pigeons and chicken as well as a small herd of Cameroon sheep. Surrounded by olives, meadows, macchia and forests or pine and oaks this is a little lost paradise for nature and animal lovers.. Activities: Game, bird and butterfly watching, in spring and autumn hiking/trekking, mushroom "hunting" i, road and mountain biking, half-day hands-on cookery classes of local dishes , wine tastings, city guides, weddings, birthday and anniversary celebration for small groups . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poderi Val Verde Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing