We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We totally loved it”
Review of Poderi Val Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poderi Val Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Poderi Val Verde. Ulrike, with her menagerie of lambs, chickens, cats, dogs and the unforgettable peacock named Robbie, provides a uniquely Tuscan experience. The food she made on the first night was delicious and plentiful. We took a cooking class and have since made the entire meal at home for all our friends. Ulrike's recipes have been distributed around Alaska as everyone raved. Our children had a fabulous time at the villa swimming, playing table tennis and football, herding the lambs and seeing wild deer on the property. They didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel but did do an evening cookery course run by Ulrike. What a night ! Met some great people - an Ozzie couple and Irish couple, leant some great cooking tips and recipes - panzanella and the wild boar and radicchio pasta sauce are now 2 of my favourite dishes. Some fantastic hotel guests joined us to share the food. The ambience outside was amazing - watching deer wander through the Tuscan hillsides. The red wine and laughter flowed through the evening and Ulrike was a educator and a real character and lovely with it !! Would definitely go back for more ! Phil and Steph - the honeymooners !.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Poderi Val Verde was so picturesque and I loved being in the mountains. It was very quiet. The main sound you could hear was the goats' bells clanging as they walked around the hillside. I liked that they had badminton and a pool near our apartment. The dinner was really yummy and I liked the homemade jam at breakfast. I got a chance to hold the baby lambs and five day old chicks which were adorable. I also fed the chickens and played with the cats and dogs. I loved all of the nature surrounding the area. It was a breath of fresh air. It was a really fun week and it's a great place for kids to relax and have fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in La Tana and had such a comfortable setup and lovely view of the pool and the gamboling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam_Larsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This place was a find, peaceful, quite and beautiful. Located in a green valley, we spent most of our time sitting on the Terence watching deer roaming in the forrest, and sheep wandering along with bells ringing.
Not all the apartments have WiFi, so if this is a must, please check with Ulrike before booking, we didn't have WiFi and it was lovely to take a break from emails for a while.
This is a working farm, and this gives this place a special feel, but you still have a pool, and heaps or area to lay back and relax.
Poderi Val Verdi, is located in a great location, which makes day trips to all those amazing places you want to see in Chianti/Tuscany easy, and then you come back to peace and quite.
Ulrike the owner also runs cooking classes, we did a evening class and it was a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent a week in the Tuscany Valley at Poderi Val Verde. Very centrally located for day trips in surrounding towns. Beautiful property with flowers and animals everywhere. The view was spectacular, the accommodations were everything we needed. I would love to have been able to just stay on the property for the week and bask in the beauty but we had so much to see and do in Italy trying to get as much in on our travel as we would. Our host took good care of us and was helpful in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a family we travel to a different destination every summer. We relish our vacations and do a great deal of planning to make sure we enjoy our time away from home.
Last year (2013) we went to Tuscany and booked a week in Poderi Val Verde. We travel a great deal for work and can be very picky. We wanted an authentic Tuscan experience and got it staying here. We loved the grounds, the setting, our Tuscan villa, and our gracious host, Ulrike.
We said that we would be back as soon as we could.
This year is our 20th anniversary and as luck would have it, my wife was already in Italy on business. We couldn't think of a better place to spend it so we went back in early April.
We were a little afraid that the weather would be unpredictable but it was as perfect as it could be. Daytime was around 20-24 celsius and nights were about 12-15 celsius. Perfect weather for us as our winter back home was awful. Everything was in bloom and the flowers at the villa were beautiful. The peacock, Roberto, was always a welcome and unique sight as well.
I cannot say enough good things about our hostess. After this second visit we feel like family. She helped us with our day trips and made some incredible travel, winery, and restaurant suggestions.
Since it was low season, we had her mostly to ourselves. What a luxury.
Can't wait til next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My boyfriend and I joined my parents in Castellina in Chianti for a week during their 3+ week excursion to Italy in celebration of my mom's 50th birthday. Staying at Poderi Val Verde with Ulrike as our host was the cherry on top of the sundae that was this wonderful trip.

The property itself is beautiful; an authentic working farm nestled into the rolling hills of Tuscany. The farm-life includes sheep, a chicken coup, and even a peacock. Ulrike also has two charming dogs that will welcome you home every day and several cats that peruse the property. The majority of the natural flora on the property is edible, as we learned during our cooking lesson, including wild growing asparagus. There are two gorgeous pools, which we unfortunately did not get to take advantage of during our stay as it was not yet warm enough, and many recreational areas (swings, a ping pong table, soccer/football nets, etc.).

Our villa was a 2-bed, 2-bath with a patio overlooking some of the recreational areas and a view of the surrounding hills where the sheep graze. The interior was nicely updated with modern appliances, a fully equipped kitchen, and Wi-Fi and was tastefully decorated while maintaining the distinctive Tuscan style. The villa was spotless upon arrival and stocked with fresh linens and Ulrike's "starter kit" of homemade jams, olive oil, and choice goodies which are available for purchase. She will also lend you her co-op card to purchase anything you might like to have on hand during your stay from the local market. In my opinion the accommodations were just as good as, or better, than a hotel - minus the maid service, and perhaps less fancy linens. The bathrooms were spotless, I found the beds comfortable (I prefer a firm mattress), and the shutters completely blocked out all light. A+!

The location is fantastic, but in my opinion requires a car unless you don't intend to explore much of the area outside of Castellina. Aside from being picturesque, we found Poderi Val Verde to be a very convenient starting point to visit surrounding towns and local wineries, as well as an easy drive to Florence, Siena, and Cinque Terre while still being definitively in the countryside. Highly recommend if you plant to rent a car, may not be as convenient if you are relying on public transportation.

Finally, Ulrike was an incredibly helpful, informative, and entertaining host - not to mention her cooking was delicious. We opted in to her welcome dinner and purchased cooking lessons as well as breakfast throughout the duration of our stay, all of which were delectable. She was a plethora of information regarding the surrounding area and all of her recommendations were spot-on. She was attentive without being intrusive and it was truly a pleasure being her guest and experiencing the way she lives off the land.

Bottom line: If you want to experience what it would be like to live in Tuscany, stay here. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillchris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
3.1 mi away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
202 reviews
1 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poderi Val Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poderi Val Verde

Address: Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: £440 - £2,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official site of the WBHC 2017 Ask us for links to detailed apartment and property videos Val Verde, privately owned by the German Ulrike Eder, is an authentic rustic and still active farm estate from the 15th century offering relaxing country-style vacation. Its located only 3 km from Castellina in Chianti, some 35 km from Florenz and 25 km from Siena and very central to most important sights. On extended grounds we offer carefully restored, well-equipped self-catering apartments and houses ("Casa Pineta" - 4BR/4BA farm house, "Casa Acacia" - 3BR/2BA farm house, "Casa Capanninna" - 2BR/2BA cottage, "La Tana" - 2BR/1BA ground floor apartment, "La Bellavista" 1BR/1BA loft apartment, "Il Rifugio" -1BR/1BA studio) all very private with terraces, bbq etc. Rates range from euro 75/day (1 bedroom unit) to euro 400/day (4 bedroom unit) - we prefer weekly rentals - only the studio rents on a 3 day minimum period 2 ha of park-like gardens with large community pool (May-Sept), use of covered, unheated pool for cooler seasons possible on request, leisure area with garden furniture and shaddy gazebos as well as playground with sandbox, swing, soccer field, volley- and basketball equipment and ping-pong table. Only privately owned demanding 3D Archery Range in Tuscany with 22 positions, following the WBHC2017 there will be a total of 4 ranges !!! We give archery lessons and may teach flint napping Our little "zoo" hosts many cats, 2 dogs, geese,ducks, free roaming peacocks, pigeons and chicken as well as a small herd of Cameroon sheep. Surrounded by olives, meadows, macchia and forests or pine and oaks this is a little lost paradise for nature and animal lovers.. Activities: Game, bird and butterfly watching, in spring and autumn hiking/trekking, mushroom "hunting" i, road and mountain biking, half-day hands-on cookery classes of local dishes , wine tastings, city guides, weddings, birthday and anniversary celebration for small groups . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poderi Val Verde Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing