We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Hotel Aganoor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aganoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Incredibly friendly staff and beautiful hotel within old city walls. Hotel is a refurbished 16th century palazzo, looking over the lake (magnificent views). Downside is that there's no elevator. Rooms have a bit of medieval character and redecoration is done with good taste.
Excellent breakfast, with fresh fruits, yoghurt, cheeses, pastries and so on. You can have dinner at the cantina downstairs with a small discount for hotel guests, again with good food, friendly service, reasonable prices and decoration that respects the personality of the place. Wifi works fine, although I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone that expects to work there (minimal working space, desk, etc).
Another downside, perhaps, is that the free parking is outside the village walls, which means walking at least 300 meters with your suitcases, including some uphill parts. We didn't mind but you should be prepared to do it if you have a lot of luggage.

Room Tip: ask for a room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

To say Hotel (Albergo) Aganoor is a hidden Umbrian gem -- is an understatement. Nestled on the Western high shore of Lake Trasimeno, in the township of Castiglione Del Lago, this place offers not only a welcome to the passing-through businessmen or tourists, but also serves as the ‘base-camp’ for people who plan to experience and explore the best sites of Umbria, Tuscany, Lazio, and Marche. But, as an embodiment of the saying -- people make the place -- the hotel staff is a little but an attentive crew. Catering to your accommodation and/or culinary wishes, they are a well-tuned organic engine composed of very courteous and professional individuals who are as accommodating as your own family. This is just that – the place itself, service, location, plus adjacent restaurant called La Cantina – the whole package is just perfect! Also, Aganoor hotel is perfectly located at the intersection of national and regional Italian motorways, within easy reach to any provinces in the Central Italy.

After such an introduction you would think we are just another overseas vacationers or infatuated travelers who fell in love with beautiful Italian country sites, sea, and lake views. Yes, Italy is beautiful, but one needs to understand how to enhance their learning and traveling experience with accommodations that truly provide good nourishment, ‘down-time’ rest, and peace at the end of a long day of discoveries. In reality, we’ve traveled this country tirelessly, from very North to very South for the last 14 years, staying in historic mansions and modern hotels. Needless to say, we saw many places where one lays a hat for a night or a week.

We’ve stayed for a week in Aganoor in February 2014. It was an epiphany for us! One of the best!! The place is right in the historic center of the town Castiglione Del Lago, perched high on the hillside overlooking Lake Trasimeno and a short ride from the train station (10 Euro set fee by taxi. We took our train from Rome). Rooms with the lake view are highly recommended; however, if you can’t get one, short walk (left or right) from the hotel will reveal the same views, including the hill of Montepulciano (minus balcony railing). Our 3-rd floor room was clean, comfortable, real fireplace, with enough wardrobe storage. It was ornamented tastefully with some medieval motives. Breakfast was served in the La Cantina restaurant (first floor); same location where our dinners took place. The service, ambience of an old wine-making facility (hence ‘la cantina’), menu, and always-smiling staff – the whole atmosphere made us want to come for breakfast and dinner all of our days, although we had a choice to visit other dining locales in the town of Castiglione Del Lago. Short and picturesque walks from the medieval center down to the lake side, and through olive groves, were our favorite pastimes when we were not busy discovering places in Umbria, and neighboring Lazio and Tuscany. The only one regret we had is that we could not enjoy other restaurants that are managed by Aganoor/Aurora committee -- Pigra Tinca and Polvese Island. These are seasonally opened, i.e. February is not the time to dine outdoors, al fresco ;-). We envy ones who will stay in Aganoor in the Spring/Summer months!

All in all, we were happy with Aganoor services and prices per room + meals. Highly recommend to anybody who wants to taste authentic Umbrian food and wines in Aganoor’s La Cantina without pompous big-chain hotels’ rituals and obligatory charges. Aganoor’s atmosphere is the one to remember and to come back to relieve. That said, we say -- accolades of excellence to the staff -- Sara & Susanna (Hotel Management), Daniela (always smiling restaurant chef), Giacomo (multi-talented host and restaurant manager), and Monica (restaurant assistant). When you see them, please say hello from Giulia and Misha!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms provide amazing views. Ask for the ones facing the lake. They are a bit smaller, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtgs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for one night which is a shame. Hotel was located just in the city centre. Room was spacious, tidy and the view was fanstatic!!!
We went to hotel's restaurant for a dinner (you have to book a table in advance because it is always fully booked). Dinner was fantastic, food was very tasty and the price was also good.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for two nights last week, and the hotel was wonderful. Clean, comfortable and the view from our window was amazing!!!! The rooftop terrace has amazing views over the lake and the town. The staff, who you have to look for in the neighbouring cantina are absolutely lovely. English is spoken, and the staff also helped when I tried to speak Italian!

Our room had an amazing view, the bathroom was huge and the bedroom was really spacious, with a gorgeous painted wardrobe.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozaic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed one night in a room with a view of the lake. Comfortable and spacious room - had a double and one single bed - and a pretty painted wardrobe. Had a delicious lunch in the restaurant, with a discount because we were staying at the hotel - although we didn't realise you could only use the discount coupon once and, had we known, we would've used it for dinner rather than lunch. No trouble with parking as we arrived by bike and the friendly and helpful staff let us store our bikes in the hallway at the foot of the spectacular stone staircase. Only quibble is that the air con isn't that great and you can't leave it on to cool the room while you're out but that's a minor gripe.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellsie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

First of all the town is a nightmare. Narrow streets, zero parking, cute - but not worth going out of your way for (which was what we did! - there's far more interesting towns in Italy than this.

Second - the hotel: no staff within sight, must check in at a little connecting shop. No elevator, no way to get luggage up from the ungodly parking spaces far far away. AC terrible, only works when key is inserted - therefore you can't cool the place down if you need to go out of your room!! Terrible pillows and mattress.

Only redeeming factor - nice breakfast with arancarte rossa.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iseefine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This was my 2nd time at this gorgeous little gem of a place. My husband first came upon Castiglione Del Lago fort in 2007, while touring around Italy and it was the highlight of our trip then. We loved that holiday so much we did the sam ethis year and spent 18 days of pure bliss touring all over Italy with nothing booked. The one place I wished to return to was this! So we were overjoyed when we finally reached Castiglione Del Lago and the Aganoor had 1 room left!
The hotel is bookable via the adjoining shop. The door to the accomodation entrance is to the side of the shop and is a fantastic stone staircase, whicj leads you up 2 or three flights where you reach the rooms. Not sure how many rooms there are, but it cant be more than a handful. There is a large sittingroom with iron spiral staircase leading to rooftop solarium, you MUST go up because the views are fab!
The room is extreamly authentic, so much so we took pictures of the wardrobe! It is clean and the bedt is very comfortable and the bathroom is newish. The double doors open to your little balcony with fantastic views across the lake!
My only gripe is the air con isnt very powerful and it was very HOT when we stayed this year!
The fortress itself is mesmorising and we wander from one little shop to another and then relax in the little square with a cold drink and watch the world go by. You can imagine that things really havent changed much at all in this little gem of a location in decades! Its amazing!
We ate in the hotel garden restaurant, as we did 2 years ago. I really think it would be hard to beat and you have the added bonus of 10 or 15% discount if your a guest at the hotel! The food, its AMAZING! The service the garden surrounding with vines around you, its so romantic and dreamy and I so wish I had found this place before I got married!
People are so friendly and love the fact you make an effort to speak the language.
You must look around the palace and spend abit of time in the fortress as there are little places tucked here and there.
I know I will return again one day. Castiglione del lago, is a jewel that many tourists have yet to discover. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samparschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione del Lago hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel  la Torre
Hotel la Torre
#2 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Macerine
Le Macerine
#3 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Duca Della Corgna
Hotel Duca Della Corgna
#6 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Ranieri
Residence Ranieri
#5 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
71 reviews
5.1 mi away
Locanda Poggioleone
Locanda Poggioleone
#1 of 1 in Pozzuolo
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#4 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aganoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aganoor

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 91, 06061, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglione del Lago
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aganoor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located in the medieval center of Castiglione del Lago the hotel provides 9 rooms furnished with antiques. Housed in a splendid '700 aristocratic palazzo, the Aganoor Hotel is distinctive for his quaint and cozy charme and offers a quiet and relaxing stay to the visitors who will enjoy from its terrace one of the best views on the Trasimeno Lake. His favourable position between Tuscany and Umbria makes it a beloved spot for day-trips lovers who choose it as base to enjoy the haunting atmosphere of the lake and the the magic and mystic of the marvellous ancient towns and villages of which the region around is rich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aganoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aganoor Castiglione Del Lago, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing