We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing place”
Review of Fattoria il Poggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria il Poggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Really nice hotel at the top of the hill with a breathtaking view from the Trasimeno Lake from the room's window. Simple clean and good bathroom rooms. Very good food! The brazilian manager very nice, and outstanding caipirinhas. Went with students and everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheptel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My sister and I have just been here and we were astounded by this place! 1) the service- we were really annoying guests, arrived the night before we were supposed to, didn't have cash to pay- and they couldn't have been more lovely- even ferried us back over to land in they're own boat, gave us our own private bunk room when they could have easily made their cleaning job easier by chucking us in with the other travellers. 2) the food! Amazing food, homemade olive oil, wine, VERY GENEROUS with it.
The island is spectacular- sunsets and spotless beaches by the lake, hardly any people on some parts. GO HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameliachristiemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Well worth a detour. The very definition of bucolic calm. It lifts the spirits and soothes the soul. Food is simple and simply great. Thew owners and staff manage to be both laid back and efficient. Summer days you'll remember for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This Hostel, on Isola Polvese, Lago Trasimeno, is for me- PURE PARADISE !!!
Like a "Garden of Eden" !!!
Peaceful and Tranquility.
The Lake is smooth-like oil.
perfect for floating, swimming and water sports.
It is the ONLY Hostel I know, that respects "Ecology"!
All the vegetables are grown, organically on the Island and the energy for Gas, Electricity and hot water , come from Solar panels in the garden.
The SERVICE is SUPERB !.
The HOSPITALITY of Michele and Paula-( the owners) and the staff is beyond expectation !
The meals are healthy and extremely TASTY ! . Especially the fish from the lake.
The accomodation -very modern and spotlessly clean at all times !
There is much history here and a Monastary from the 10th Century !
Also a Castle and other very old buildings.
The large Island also has protected areas for animals, flora and fauna and a research institution. one can spend days walking around and in the forests.
Many villages in the area host events and cultural and musical festivals- especially in the Summer.
Truly a great place for Backpackers AND families
This is my 6th vist and I will return !!!
Les Amdur.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Wonderful hostel on Polvese Island in the Lake Trasimeno. Even though it's officially a hostel, it feels more like a wonderful family-run B&B or hotel with caring owners. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Fattoria Il Poggio for 3 nights (2 nights initially, but we really liked it and decided to stay an extra night) and had a wonderful time. Here are a few facts:

Amenities:
+ Simply put, there is everything you need (bar, garden, wi-fi, ...)!!
+ The dinner is excellent for a ridiculously cheap price (two courses for 12 €)

Location:
+ Getting there is easy, even though it's on an island in the middle of Lake Trasimeno
+ Parking is free in San Feliciano about 50-100m away from the ferry.
+ Take a ferry at the only peer there is; it takes 10min and runs every 1:10 hours from 9am to 7pm, weekends till 11pm, ~5€ roundtrip per person
+ On the island, it's a 5min walk to the hostel; if you have luggage, the owners are happy to get you with their car
+ In case you miss a ferry (or there is a strike by the boating company), the owners are happy to take you with their own speed boat

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Beautifully placed on a sunny hillside in the picturesque Polvese island, the Fattoria Il Poggio is run by a really nice Italian-Brazilian family with a great sense of hospitality, that goes beyond the service they provide. They make you feel at home, pampered and welcome and always go out of their way to provide you with everything you need and keep you satisfied. The food is also great and the prices are low (€12-€14 for a full meal, depending on whether you are a guest or just go there for dinner). Families are welcome as well as dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beriadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Fabulous hostel (more like a hotel!) and location.
The family running this hostel are fantastic, really welcoming and helpful. They have all amenities you would need, wi-fi (free), bar, food, outside dining/beer garden, toys for children, tv room, etc etc.
Found it to be really clean and very well run. Our room had a private bathroom and this was great. Fabulous view over the lake and proper mosquito nets so no worry about mosquito in your room.
The food was absolutely amazing too-included in the price. Lovely staff. Overall this place is great! Would recommend anyone to go here.

Room Tip: I had a toddler with me and we chose a room with private bathroom which was great. They gae us a tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoralEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castiglione del Lago hotels
6.2 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio del Sole
Agriturismo Poggio del Sole
#1 of 2 in San Fatucchio
75 reviews
7.5 mi away
Agriturismo le Rose
Agriturismo le Rose
#4 of 65 in Castiglione del Lago
50 reviews
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Dolce Verde
Agriturismo Dolce Verde
#1 of 1 in Palazzetta
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Locanda Poggioleone
Locanda Poggioleone
#1 of 1 in Pozzuolo
180 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country House Le Torri di Porsenna
4.6 mi away
Morami
Morami
#1 of 2 in Panicarola
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria il Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria il Poggio

Address: | Parco Naturale Isola Polvese, 06060, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione del Lago
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farm is located in the Natural Park of the Polvese island and offers rooms and apartments equipped with all comforts and a magnificent view of the lake and its colours. It is unique in its kind: an accommodation where the welcoming and friendly environment, large garden with sun loungers, hammocks and games, combined with the typical and genuine cuisine using locally grown biological products, herbs and home-grown organic fruit that is served in summer in the garden overlooking the lake, make it the ideal place for those who love peace, good food and the outdoors life. Ideal for romantic getaways and vacations with children, as well as a great starting point for visiting the art cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Fattoria il Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Il Poggio Castiglione Del Lago, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing