We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, great style”
Review of Grand Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Our son was born in May 2006 and was just about old enough to fly with us for a short Summer break away in August. We went to the web, searched Ryanair for a cheap flight and found a bargain flight to Bologna. In typical Ryanair style, we found that what they called Bologna, was in fact Forli. But not to worry; further investigation revealed that although 50 or so kilometres down the autostrada from Bologna, it was well situated close to Rimini, San Marino and Ravenna.
So the next step was finding a hotel nearby. We struck gold on Last Minute.com with the Grand Hotel Castrocaro at Castrocaro Terme, offering 4 star luxury at just £34 a night! Not each...for the room, including a fantastic buffet breakfast!
The hotel was a design classic, an Art Deco building of 1939 vintage, restored to retain all its features in 2000. We were given a lovely large room, high ceilinged, beautiful decor, lovely furnishings, marble in the bathroom, very comfortable.
The hotel has lovely parkland around it, with both outside and inside pools. The town is also very pretty, clean and tidy, with lots of flowers everywhere, in common with lots of Spa towns.
We hired a little Fiat Panda diesel from Hertz at the airport (£19 a day) and in 8 days had visited Bologna twice, Venice and Florence, Rimini, Milano Marritimo, Ravenna, San Marino and many other delightful places within reasonable travelling distance. A fantastic stay and a memorable holiday.

The price? Although August is the busiest and most expensive time to holiday there, I can only surmise that because it is inland and a Spa resort hotel, it is low season for them. Normal price is more like £80 / £100 a room.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sotonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2008

The service was very good, as well as the food. Their breakfast offers unlimited choice, and you can have it over wonderful views over the park. Th emanagement was flexible enough to allow me to leave my suitcare at their reception desk after having checked out. The live music at the bar is an added bonus. On the down side: room 170 doesn't have a good view; the receptionist seemed unwilling to take telephone messages for me while I wasn't in my room. Overall a good stay though.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Orsettorusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2005

We've been in the hotel 2 times and I can assure it's a great and luxurious place, where you can breath the athmosphere of years of tradition.
Rooms are new and very confortable, expecially the junior suite. The restaurant is special, with regional cuisine from Romagna (home made pasta, etc.).
The Terme are nice and usually included in the room price. You can spend half day of relax in the natural hot water pools.
The room price is at least one half the price you usually spend for the same lux and quality.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelMancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RomyLRDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nicaenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel2017, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze all'interno della struttura sono più silenziose e hanno la vista sul parco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tip697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotel2017, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castrocaro Terme e Terra del Sole
4.0 mi away
Borgo Conde Wine Resort
7.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme della Fratta
23.5 mi away
Roseo Euroterme Wellness Resort
Roseo Euroterme Wellness Resort
#1 of 12 in Bagno di Romagna
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Castrocaro Terme e Terra del Sole
66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Forli
Grand Hotel Forli
#2 of 13 in Forli
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#5 of 10 in Castrocaro Terme e Terra del Sole
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & SPA

Address: Via Roma 2, 47011 Castrocaro Terme e Terra del Sole, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Forli-Cesena > Castrocaro Terme e Terra del Sole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Castrocaro Terme e Terra del Sole
Price Range: £77 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel & SPA 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baths of Castrocaro boast a secular tradition thanks to the valuable properties of thermal waters and mud known since 1838. The quality of this water also comes from their history, which began more than 7 million years ago; then in fact the ancient Adriatic Sea occupied these areas and left huge deposits of underground waters that are enriched in the millennia of precious elements that make them therapeutic. Surrounded by 8-hectare park, the property consists of from the Spa resort with rehabilitation and specialized medical clinic, the Grand Hotel Spa and Well Being Clinic. The Grand Hotel Terme & Spa, is a historic house of great charm: built in 1938, has been renovated over the years, keeping intact the original furniture and decorations in Art Deco style. Inside the story combines the comfort to offer guests the best service. The kitchen of the Grand Hotel Terme & Spa offers Mediterranean dishes and regional specialties, which combines a selection of wines. In the spa are paid the traditional spa treatments (mud therapy, hydrotherapy, inhalation, gynecological and mineral water treatments) which joins the offer of a cutting-edge center for rehabilitation and hydrokinesitherapy Spa. Finally, it presents the Clinic of Being Well, a center of excellence that combines the expertise of health GVM Care & Researche those thermal and beauty of Castrocaro Spa, to offer an integrated and multidisciplinary approach to personal well-being and prevention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castrocaro Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing