We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant friendly Hotel”
Review of Senior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Senior Hotel
Ranked #89 of 182 Hotels in Cattolica
Certificate of Excellence
bolton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasant friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Senior Hotel. The hotel is very nice, the bedrooms were roomy but like all italian hotels very basic.
The Senior is in an ideal position for Cattolicas attractions
however it is near a busy road and railway line, this was not a problem after the first night as you get accustomed to the noise.

The food was very good with usual continental breakfast of rolls, cheese, eggs, jam etc. Evening dinner is buffet with salad, soup, main course of fish or meat vegetables potatoes, pasta etc
This was followed by sweet of either cake or ice cream, all was very nice.

We are wine drinkers and the best thing about this region is that the wine is good and cheap. Local wine was about 7.50 Euros for a litre.

Maura the owner of the hotel was most helpful with all your queries about local amenities. The staff were all most friendly.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    61
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
76
56
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2009

3* hotel 5* service!

had read the reviews and had mixed feelings as what to expect !
have not been on a package holiday in many years as i like to do my own thing and have more control over location, accomadation etc.
the old saying you get what you pay for comes to mind! but in the case of the senoir you get a lot more .
having paid £250 each for a week half board including taxes and transfers it worked out we paid about £16 per person per night for the hotel for bed breakfast and evening meal (a Mcdonalds meal in cattolica cost £7 ) so i think anyone who complians needs to do the maths and work out the seperate cost of a room, breakfast and a evening meal, i think you'd do well to get them for less than £50
It is a small family-run hotel with a great pool , plenty of sun-loungers and brilliant service. The rooms were very comfortable with TVs and satellite channels, the bathrooms were very clean with a good-sized shower. the staff go out of there way to make you feel welcome
Food-
Breakfast is a continental buffet - crusty rolls, meats, cheese, croissants, cake, cereals, etc. Dinner was soup, pasta dishes, one meat/fish and one vegetarian, a fish dish, meat dish, vegetables and potatoes. With a salad buffet everyday.
if you want good service at a great price you cant go wrong here .
location may not suit everybody but if the brochure says centrally located near bars, main roads and railway then your going to get some noise but i must say it made no great impact on the holiday
would i go back? tommorow if i could
so please when reading the negative reviews please take them in context to what you are paying and expecting!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehallManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

24th June 2009

Just got back from a two week holiday staying at the hotel Senior and what a fantastic time we had. Before going I always make a point of reading other peoples reviews but now I’ve come to a point when I think this is a waste as I read quite a few bad reviews about this hotel, I really can’t understand some people I think they’re wanting a five star treatment for the cost of a three star. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by the owner Maura she always has a smile for everyone, if you needed anything you only had to ask nothing was to much trouble along with all her staff they made you feel as if you were part of there family, we have travelled abroad for some year now and stayed in a variety of hotels and would definitely recommend this hotel.

I know that some people complained about the food, for goodness sake if you travel to Italy you have to expect to be served pasta dishes remembering that a small hotel can not possibly serve a vast selection of food. The food that was served was really enjoyable and unless you’re a fussy eater there should be no problem.

Cattolica itself is a lovely seaside resort; we only went on one trip with the tour operator Thomas Cooks and that was to Florence which was a very, very long day. Once we get the hang of the buses its great, you can buy your tickets in advance and all you have to do is validate it on the day of travel we visited Gradaira, Riccion, Rimini and Pesaro via bus and the little noddy train to Gabicce Mont and walked down to Gabicce Mare all down hill which is just as well as the temperature was in the 90’s, we booked a trip to the Grote Di Frasassi caves which was fantastic, anyone wanting to go do not book with this via the rep, book at the small shop near the hotel coming out of the hotel turn left then take the first turning on your right the shop is about the second one on the left hand side his prices are amazing about half the price of the rep’s. To finish our holiday off we took the plunge and travelled to bologna by train if you like designer shops this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2009

As the holiday was such a great deal I had booked it as an extra present for my husband's 40th, I too was a little worried having seen the previous reviews but needn't have been. The hotel was in the perfect location, ok a little noisy due to it being on a main road but nothing excessive, the staff were fabulous nothing was too much trouble and Maura (who never seemed to leave the hotel!) is the best hostess I have ever met!! She was always at hand with advice, tips etc. and was never to busy or tired to talk to her quests. The hotel was spotless, clean towels and sheets practically every day, the food was great and for those who wanted a "typically english breakfast" could order one if they wanted to pay the extra.

We met some lovely people at the hotel and can honestly say we both shed a tear when we had to leave! Well done Maura and the team you truly gave us a holiday to remember and we will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leekfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Myself and my boyfriend booked this holiday last year having wanted to go to Italy and we got a really good price on this so we gave it a whirl. I really didnt know what to expect but I needn't have worried, it was brilliant! The Hotel Senior is a family hotel run by the lovely Maura, she is so helpful and will tell you anything you need to know about Cattolica and the surrounding area, how to get out and about on the cheap public transport etc she is a mine of information. Our room although small was spotlessly clean (the cleaners came every day)and yes the balcony was small but who spends that much time on it anyway? especially when the pool and lobby area was so nice, plenty of sun loungers, pool clean and lots of tables and chairs to enjoy a drink from the bar. The hotel is on a busy road but we didnt have any trouble sleeping, our ceiling fan made more noise than the traffic at night! We were on Half Board for meals, breakfast was simple and continental with cereals etc but it set you up for the day. The evening meals were always lovely- homemade pasta and lasagne, fresh vegetables, meat and fish dishes and gorgeous cake and ice cream for dessert (my mouth is watering just thinking about it!). The restaurant staff were very friendly and a credit to the hotel. All in all hotel was a great base from which to explore.

Cattolica itself is a pretty seaside town, one side is quite touristy with bucket and spade shops etc although (in my opinion) never tacky like what you come across in other places. The other side of Cattolica past the pretty fountains is the working side of the town, with markets and designer shops aplenty. The Italians themselves holiday here so it is very much pavement cafes in the sun with designer sunglasses, small dogs and cappucinos in keeping with Italian culture (fabulous).When we went in May it was fairly quiet and some shops were still closed but you could tell everywhere was gearing up for the summer season. There are also plenty of ice cream parlours with the wonderfully cheap local ice cream and restaurants selling home made Italian specialitites (including massive pizzas which can be picked up for about 5 euros). The beaches in Cattolica and all along the coast are privately owned and as a result are spotless with amazing facilities on them (showers, changing rooms, gyms, cafes,play areas, lido pools etc). With a free pass from our hotel we could have used the facilities and a sun lounger and parasol all day for about 8 euros.

With Thomas Cook we did the reps trip to Venice and it is an absolute must. 2 hours on a coach and an hour and half on a boat takes you right into Venice approached from the lagoon. Venice is very beautiful and we did the gondola ride (you just have to!) which went down all the small alleys and backstreet canals. All in all we had about 3 hours to ourselves but it was a lovely introduction to the city. Beware of the extra expense though, we werent told this when we booked the trip but the Gondola ride or water taxi (you have to choose one) cost an extra 18 euros and there was an evening meal for 14 euros each as well and as we only found out on the coach, decided not to have the meal and had to sit for an hour while everyone else had theirs! From our hotel you could do other trips to Florence, San Marino, Rimini, Gradara but as we were only there a week just did Venice as it was a long tiring day and some of them were quite expensive with the rep (Maura can tell you how to get to places like San Marino and Gradara on the bus for only a few euros). We did venture on the bus at Maura's advice to the nearby town of Riccione to a big Friday market which was good.

All in all, we had a brilliant holiday. The hotel is lovely and for the deal we got this holiday was an absolute bargain. I wasnt sure what the weather would be like at the time of year we went but it was really warm, had an hour of rain on the friday and then it was boiling the rest of the week. Even the evenings were balmy which was strange to us as we are used to hot days and freezing nights in places like Greece! For a two and half hour flight this is a great resore for families, nice and quiet and not rowdy. Although we are fairly young, we go on holiday to relax, sightsee and experience new places and Cattolica was perfect. We will definately be returning to Italy and big thanks to Maura, the staff and all the other people we met also staying at the hotel, we had an absolute ball sat in that bar most nights!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2009

we were worried due to previous comments on this page but all were unfounded! we all had agreat time the staff helpfull. If you want to know anything just ask Maura.The food was basic but fine and plenty toeat cleanliness of rooms and value for money could not be improved .We all look forward to going back thankyou Christine and Joan and gang

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Booked this hotel as a week half board package with thomas cook for a very good price, hence we weren't really expecting a lot!!
We were very pleasantly surprised!

Location-
The hotel is in the north of cattolica, about a 10 minute walk to the main area, but close to plenty of restaurants, icecream bars and shops. There is also a bus stop 2 minutes walk from the hotel with buses to Riccione, Rimini and the station.

Hotel & facilities-
Hotel is a small family run 3 star hotel, rooms are an adequate size with a shower room and power shower. We also had a flat screen tv but didn;t use it so not sure what channels were available. Unfortunately no fridge or tea and coffee making facilities. The balcony is small, but fits two people (just!!). Air conditioning is available for 7 euros, so we stayed hot at night!! The noise from the road and train didn't bother us too much (and I'm a light sleeper!) The pool and outside area is a good size and in a sunny position with plenty of loungers. While we were staying our room was cleaned immaculately every day and towels changed etc, the pool was always clean, but a bit cold!! The bar has a good selection of dinks for an average hotel price (tip: buy soft drinks in litre bottles for better value!).
Hotel beach is about 5 euros per day, never used it, just looked like a typical european beach.

Food-
Breakfast is a continental buffet - crusty rolls, meats, cheese, croissants, cake, cereals, etc. Dinner was soup, 2 pasta dishes, one meat/fish and one vegetarian, a fish dish, meat dish, vegetables and potatoes. With a salad buffet everyday. Also a dessert and selection of icecreams. All buffet style.
The food we ate was excellent, always being filled fresh and always something to suit us as non meat eaters. The restaurant staff were fab, really friendly. We did have to wait a while for drinks a couple of times but you can always buy your drink at the bar before you head up to dinner.

Trips-
We did 2 trips with Thomas Cook, San Marino and Venice.
San Marino was an afternoon trip which cost 18 euros each, although you can get there quite cheaply on the bus yourself we chose to do the trip as we like to have information from a guide. San Marino is beautiful, if you like castles and sight seeing its well worth a trip. You can have your passport stamped in tourist info for 5 euros.
Venice was a must for us, again you could get there cheaper by train (the trip cost 67 euros each), however when you go with the trip you get the benefit of reduced price gondole rides (18 euros each). It's a long day, leaving at 6.15am and not returning until after 10pm, with 2 1/2 hours coach and an hour and half boat ride, but well worth it. The only downside is the meal thats offered as an option in the evening for 14 euros each is dreadful, however if you don't the have meal you have to sit in a bar for an hour while others do! To be honest for the free wine etc you might as well have the meal!!!
Maura on reception is fab and will help you with info if you want to go anywhere independantly. We visited Rimini on the bus and walked up to Gabicce Mont (hell of a walk but nice views from the top!).

All in all if you prefer 5 star hotels, then go somewhere else (and pay more!) however if you're open minded and want to see Italy and not pay the earth then this hotel is a great find. I dont think we've had such friendly staff outside of jamaica!!
One last thing to consider is if you like to sit in bars all day you will spend a lot as beer is around 5 euros a pint and wine 4 euros a glass. However we bought wine from the supermarket for anything as low as 2 euros a bottle.
Also check out the hotel leaflets - they're hilarious!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cattolica hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#74 of 182 in Cattolica
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Cattolica
Park Hotel Cattolica
#23 of 182 in Cattolica
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Enea
Hotel Villa Enea
#16 of 182 in Cattolica
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pinocchio
Hotel Pinocchio
#169 of 182 in Cattolica
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cormoran Hotel
Cormoran Hotel
#84 of 182 in Cattolica
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#11 of 182 in Cattolica
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senior Hotel

Property: Senior Hotel
Address: Via Delprete 33 | 126 Cattolica (RN), 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senior Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entertainment and fun: here is what the Hotel Senior 3 star hotel of Cattolica with swimming pool, and jacuzzi proposes you, for your holiday in the sun. A few minutes away from our sea side resort of Viale Dante, 200m from the largest Aquarium of the Adriatic Riviera, near the beach. The Senior Hotel we are just waiting for you, so that we can give you a “memorable” vacation.The Hotel environments are colorful, warm and welcoming, , just like - Maura the owner and all the staff always ready to help and satisfy every need. At the hotel Senior you can experience a fresh Mediterranean atmosphere and at the same time an international one, thanks to all the foreigners customers that each year come back to visit us.At lunch time you can choose from a tasty menu, and a dinner you can taste the best of the Italian cuisine, based on the real traditional Italian food from our area, all buffet service With the motto “what ever you like, as many times you like”. Outside you can choose weather you would like to swim in the big swimming pool 22 m long, where you can swim in the hot summer Days, as well as the jacuzzi, which seats six people.The Hotel Senior in Cattolica is very easy to reach, it has a private parking place for our customers.Every day there are organised trips in the most beautiful art cities of Italy, and for nearby excursions of our near country side such as Gradara, San Marino and Urbino, Perl of the Italian Renaissance.The Hotel Senior in Cattolica is perfect even for those who needs to reach due to work commitment the fair in Pesaro, or for those who travels with children, especially because it is very near to the gorgeous scenarios of the Aquarium of Cattolica and to Ply Planet, the world of games, rides, slides ropes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Senior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senior Hotel Cattolica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing