We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place I've Stayed In”
Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Madison
Ranked #70 of 182 Hotels in Cattolica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in the apartment part of the Madison which was great value for money - very good facilities and the studios were spacious. The pool area was great with a slide for the kids and a jacuzzi for the adults, also very easy access and a lifeguard is on duty. Snack bar beside the pool serves very good food at lunch however the breakfast cost €9 each person and was of quite poor quality. This is the only downside though as you can't fault the location or cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCraig46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Me and my partner have been to the Madison twice now once in 2008 and 2009 and we have booked to go back again on the 28th Aug for 10 Days.

Initially we stayed there because we wanted to watch Moto GP. But now it has become our main holiday and I would go more than once a year if I could.

I am not the kind of person who likes to go to the same place every year but when we left the Madison from the first visit I didn’t want to come home. We got on really well with the staff, so good in fact that we keep in touch with one of them and have been to visit him in his home town on Pesaro on numerous occasions. The family are lovely and we have never had any issues with them.

The food is amazing and that is why the hotel is 4 star. The choice of food is different everyday and I always come home half a stone heavier (despite bike riding to the MOTO GP track which is 20 mins away).

We book with Ryan air who fly from Liverpool and pay next to nothing for the flights. The Madison will pay your taxi transfer fees to and from Rimini airport which is another bonus.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to a holiday resort where it is not full of ‘Brits abroad’ and wants a bit of Italian culture.

We love it and will continue to go even when Valentino Rossi retires.

PS I strongly recommend Staccioles- a bar at the top of the road straight up from the Madison. When you go about 5pm for an apretivo and order a bottle of vino you get plates full of food and it just keeps coming.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Di_G11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel is in a very good location. Just down a flight of stone steps and you are on the sea front with the sandy beaches and the hotels own beach just to your left, and the very pleasant marina with lots of restaurants to your right. A night time stroll to your left will take you to the town square where each night there was entertainment on, due to it being the main Italian holiday season I believe. The Italian people were very friendly. It is a traditional, large but not over commercialised Italian holiday resort. The only thing to be aware of are the mosquitos as they took lots of bites out of my husband and I and other holiday makers too no doubt! There is a block of appartments also within the hotel which appeared to be very spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardandruth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This hotel is run by a family who seems to be friendly during the reservation and upon arrival. We booked early to make sure that we would get seaview and an appartment away from the noisy road on the backside of the hotel. For this we payed extra. We got an appartment on the first floor facing the street. While contacting the reseption they just ignored us, and suddenly they couldn`t speak english... We had to wait for the "manager" who would contact us. The day passed by, and in the evening we went back to the reseption, and the manager had left without leaving us a message. Now they suddenly could speak english, and they said that we hadn`t booked seaview. We showed them our documents, which comfirmed that we did have payed for seiview on high floor. They were overbooked,and could not make any compensation!! Our impression was that the hotel was not full...

We had to ask for cleaning and change for towels and bed linen several times during our two weeks stay. The staff were rude to the children and us. There were no smiles to be seen during our stay.

The sofabed was horrible to sleep on. Hardly any furnitures on the terrace, and the kitchen-equpment was poor. The coffepot was moulded.

Conclusion: Overrated hotel run by ignorant family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravellersEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Madison, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear TravellersEuropa, we are very sorry about the problems that you have listed, a few considerations must be kept in mind though. July is a very busy month for us and unfortunately we were not able to satisfy your request, as our staff had already informed you in July, that we were full during that period at the Hotel and the Residence.

Regarding the cleaning of the room and the change of the linens, in the residence this takes place twice a week with the change of bed and bath linens. This is listed in the services page of the Residence. We hope that we will find you among our guests again in the future.
We send you our best regards, The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hotel is classed as 4 star hotel, but the room was actually suprisingly small. We where on our trip in Italy in 3 different 4 star hotels and the room was clearly smallest, dirtiest and dullest. We actually asked the hotel to clean the floor and under the bed as under the bed there was really much dirt. This bed is not going all the way down to floor so you can actually see the dirt and our little child could not be kept on floor at all. But unfortunately even after asking they didint clean the floor or under the bed even once in our 4 days stay in the hotel. Well atleast no need to leave tip for the cleaners :).
Also we used car parking facilities and there was a pipe leaking over the car so we had a wet car as well.... thank god it was a rented car and we only had the car there for 4 days.
One of the annoying things was that they had a show one night that took until midnight and we where sleeping with our 8 months old girl in first floor so it was impossible to sleep. Its completely unaccectable to have major noise and prevent guests for sleeping at midnight especially in a family friendly 4 star hotel. Then i asked from the reception if they have own beach zone and he said no... later on i noted that the hotel had one. I also asked directions to San Marino and they just told go to turist information (This is major destination in Rimini region) which i also did find quite poor service. They should know in reception these things. I dont think i received even one friendly smile from the staff in the 4 days stay att the hotel...
The elevator didnt work well and when we where leaving the elevator door did not work. That was annoying. Also there was simply nothing of 4 star value... why to pay over 100 euro per night for such an avrage hotel?

Also the location compared to central cattolica was suprisingly poor even tho it wasent that far away.. it was close to beach, but almost every 4-5 star hotel in cattolica is close to beach...

Good things are in short supply but the prices in the hotel where ok and the pool was ok and the breakfest was ok.. None of these where of really good standard.

I will only give this 1 star as this was so big disapointment compared to money spent and the official 4 star rating. If i would rate this without these in mind i would give this hotel 2,5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HansThim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

brilliant selection of food for lunch/evening meals - 4 course.- why go eleswhere even though there were some good restaurants nearby.
b'fast ok - sees you through for a while.
rooms which were allocated- 2nd time, were clean and of reasonable size for double bed and bunkbeds Those seeking deserted sandy beaches - Forget it - hope you enjoy the company of many around your sun bed!! beaches clean and safe for kids.
Pool good size and clean great if you swap betrween pool and beach its so close!!
But its the putting out of towells on the sun beds when going for breakfast that annoys me - should be banned.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zasiura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

If you want a 4* hotel then don't go to this hotel as it does not reach this standard.
The rooms are basic and clean. Food is excellent although variety was poor. (scrambled egg and bacon or continental breakfast everyday) The evening meal started off as excellent then declined throughout he week.
The staff are unfriendly, unless you can speak italian then they can't do enough for you.
The beach isn't far and its clean and has plenty of facilities, there is a fee of 6 euros for a umbrella and sun bed, if you book for the week it works out cheaper. Do not go to beach 42 as recommended as its one of the furtherst away and no cheaper, although you are told at the welcome meeting you get a discount. You don't the rep is getting a backhander.
Do go on the walkabout with the rep as you get to see the highlights of the town.
Do go on the Italian night at Gradara (eat and drink as much as you like)

What your not told is for 35 euros you can keep your room until 6pm and you also get your evening meal. You can also swap your evening meal for lunch if you wish to eat out in the evenings.
What i would say is the four courses you get will leave you stuffed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cattolica hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luxor Beach
Hotel Luxor Beach
#8 of 182 in Cattolica
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#21 of 182 in Cattolica
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Cattolica
Park Hotel Cattolica
#24 of 182 in Cattolica
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cormoran Hotel
Cormoran Hotel
#112 of 182 in Cattolica
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murex Hotel
Murex Hotel
#55 of 182 in Cattolica
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid Mare
Hotel Splendid Mare
#106 of 182 in Cattolica
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Address: Via Don Giovanni Minzoni 80, 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cattolica
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range: £79 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madison 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Cattolica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing